We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a Princess!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fit for a Princess!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

I woke up last Friday and spoke to a few friends about a quick getaway fro LA.. We decided to get in the car and go East, that is East of LA.. Palm Springs, the old playground of the real Movie Stars! You Know Frank, Dean, Lucy and Ricky! So we googled, retro cool hotel, and found Del Marcos Hotel! A cool little 17 room Boutique Hotel.. We called and by luck they had just a few rooms left. So we booked them! As we walk up , we knew ... How cool is this place! The management was fantastic! The rooms are a throw back and we loved them , Diana the manager had mentioned that they just got new down pillows, nice thread count sheets, towels etc! I love the dispenser in the shower, with a wonderful sent of lemon grass, or something like that. We loved the location, once you get there, you can walk everywhere. They also have bikes you can borrow and tool around the little cool city of Palm Springs. Out door fire pit with a flat screen, perfect for the sports world! Our room was cool, we had a larger room with a kitchen in it, loved that, we went to Trader Joes and made a little dinner and ate outside.
Looking forward to coming back!! Also if you want you can get a massage by the pool, or in your room.. Just call Diana and have her make the arrangements for you....Lets not forget coffee and pastries in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    127
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
497
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We always stay at the Del Marcos Hotel. Not only is it everything I expect from Palm Springs but I also feel like it's my second home. The people are so wonderful. The location is perfect, we ride bikes all around town which the hotel provides for free. Breakfast around the pool is always a nice time to meet new people. It's the perfect combination of private and social. We love this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Staying at the Del Marcos did conjure up mixed feelings. Although there customer service was beyond excellent (special thanks to Diana), the stay unfortunately did not match up. If you are a light sleeper, the noise will become problamatic, as the walls are thin. Also signs of wear and tear are quite visible throughout. On a positive note, hotel is within walking distance from downtown Palm Springs, and views of the mountains are quite breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerLatte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We have stayed at the Del Marcos before and enjoyed our stay. This time our rooms were not quite as described...we needed two rooms to accommodate my husband and I, and our two teenage daughters. Last time the rooms were adjoining; this time we were told the rooms were not adjoining but on the same level. Technically that was correct, but for us to access our daughters room we had to walk down one flight of stairs, enter a code on the main door, and walk up another flight of stairs. This would not have been a problem if there had been a phone connection between the rooms...but alas the phones in the rooms are merely decorative, and since we did not have consistent cell phone service throughout our stay, it meant alot of running up and down. And the weather one night was scary (high winds, rain, etc.) which meant our daughters were frightened without being able to contact us. Not good. And easily avoidable if we had simply been told the whole truth about the access and communication between rooms. A more minor point...the breakfast offerings were pretty bad...REALLY stale pastries. And we had to ask for pool towels every time we used the pool (which is a pretty great pool, I must admit).

We were hoping this would be our family destination for a couple years, but alas we will probably look elsewhere for the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cre8tivMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We will be back. We stayed over the Christmas Holiday. Me, wife and 13 year old son. If you love midcentury modern you will love this hotel. If you like fancy, fake Tuscan crap, not the hotel for you.Comfortable. Very Friendly front desk (thank you). The pool was warm and nice. Wish there was a Jacuzzi. The location was awesome. We walked to eat every meal. Hiking right down the street that gave us a view of the entire valley all the way to the Salton Sea. Museum is a close by and I highly recommend the visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Not only does the Del Marcos have a distinct mid-century modern vibe, it is also within walking distance to the main street downtown. But what sets this hotel apart from the rest, is the service. Being a Palm Springs native, Victor at the front desk gave us some fascinating information about the history of the area, and we learned more about Palm Springs from him than many of the publications we've read. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable (it was raining quite heavily when we were there) and was courteous and helpful with dinner plans and anything else we requested. Rico remembered we were there for a birthday celebration and really took care of us, and Diana and Beatrice were very friendly as well.

The hotel lobby is warm and inviting, and the hotel itself is a perfect size with 17 rooms, which surround a lovely courtyard, pool, and fire pit. We stayed in 2 separate rooms,the Chi Chi Room and the Palm Springs Weekend Deluxe. The Chi Chi Room is a bit more "retro" than some of the other rooms, but it is spacious with a huge private patio. The PS Weekend Deluxe has a more modern feel, and also has a nicely-sized private patio. Luckily the rooms we stayed in had hardwood floors, however, some of the rooms had concrete floors. I imagine this would be nice in the hot PS summers, but in the winter, the concrete floors would not feel cozy to me. Also, since the hotel was built around the mid-century, noise does travel in between the bottom and top floor rooms. If you are a sensitive sleeper, make sure to get a 2nd floor room so that footsteps and noise from the above rooms do not disturb you.

All in all, this is a great little find. If you like smaller hotels with individual style and within walking distance to everything, and appreciated impeccable, friendly service, this is the place for you. Oh, and did I mention they accept pets? Our dog had a lovely time too - thanks Del Marcos!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

At the foot of the towering, purple Jacinto mountain, this little place is a hidden gem. Well-kept, clean and quiet thanks to the perfectionist and charismatic manager, the Del Marco Inn is the place to think, read, write, redraw one's life plans, and revel in retro-architecture and timeless natural splendor. The big-hearted but also refreshingly assertive manager, Diana, makes sure your neighbors aren't acting like wild animals on break from the municipal zoo (something vitally important in Downtown Palm Springs!) We hope to come back forever!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaNehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Property: Del Marcos Hotel
Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing