We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something was off”
Review of The Coyote Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coyote Inn
Ranked #10 of 21 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We’ve stayed here many times in the past eight years and always loved it. The new and old owners have always treated us very well. But something was different this week. The owners were distant and businesslike. They snipped at my wife when she left our door open for a minute to get a towel we left outside by the pool (the rule is, never leave your door open I guess). All in all, we just didn’t have the same warm feeling like we have in past years. That friendliness we were used to was missing. We talked to others staying there and they were getting the same vibe. Some of them were first timers that had read the good reviews. They asked us if these were brand new owners, but no, they aren’t. One family said they had been coming for 10 years and also noticed a big difference. Maybe they weren’t happy with us because we were checking out Saturday morning. Whatever it was, it was different this time than in the past. We’ve decided to stay elsewhere next year. A real shame because we always loved our stays here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

My sisters and I stayed here the second week of August, and loved this small boutique hotel. The owners are amazing, so helpful and welcoming! The rooms are comfortable and clean, nicely decorated, and all rooms have kitchens. The pool was a great temperature and very clean each and every day. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgebackowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here in 2010 after reading so many great reviews online. I love this place! The owners were friendly and accommodating. Property was clean and CUTE. It is not too far from downtown. Sure it's not exactly right in the middle of town, but that's what legs are for- the walk isn't bad. The area where this property is located is in a mix of really nice older homes and cute little inns. The pool was also nice and quiet. The guests were friendly-- we are going back this weekend and I have no doubt I will enjoy it just as much. Some people will find something to complain about even in a 5-star resort. If you have a good attitude you will love this place. It's not the Ritz, but it's cute and quaint and wonderful in its own way, so disregard any negative reviews. This is a great place to relax and have some fun!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s0calwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A great little inn that is decorated like a villa. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and full of features (kitchenette, fire place - eventhough you will NEVER need it, and good air conditioning - essential). The pool and hot tub are nice sized and great for a midnight dip! Literally every DVD ever made is available from the lobby free of charge as are various factor sunblocks (essential!). The owners are very welcoming and are great at recommending restaurants. Palm springs is a great little place but is hotter than hell!! :D

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattov9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Accomodations were excellent. Chris & Barb are excellent hosts for the weary traveler. Rooms were clean and well appointed. It was like staying at home away from home. Persoanl touches were everywhere. Although a continental breakfast is not offered, each room has its own kitchen, so that a quick stop at the grocery, one could stock the fridge with whatever is needed. The pool was warm and clean and quite inviting. It was secluded yet open with a view of the nearby mountain. Close to downtown, shops and restaurants. The owners were friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

That reason would be Chris and Barb!! This past weeked (6/12/11) we visited for our fourth time. From our first stay three years ago they have treated us like royalty. Their attention to small detail is what sets the Coyote Inn apart. From the spotless room 4 which we always request, to how Barb remembers to tease us about how we take a cup of "Ice cold refreshment" when we go for our walks. They have referred us to some great restaurants and suggested some great movies from their personal selection......unfortunately, we spend too much time enjoying the restaurants and wonderful pool and spa to have ever taken them up on watching anything.
The fact that there are no children appeals to us. The quiet and soothing atmosphere is exactly what we need to de-stress and relax. Whether floating on one of the nice pool mats, or kicking back under the Palapa reading a book, we always return home refreshed and recharged.
Our room feels more like a home than a hotel room. With the cool retro kitchen, fireplace, built in bookshelves that are packed to the brim with cool titles, we find we have never once turned on the TV. And honestly, it's one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed.
We tried other places in Palm Springs, The Reinassance, The Marriott Courtyard, even the Travel Lodge once when we couldn't get in anywhere else. The big chains are fine but you don't get anywhere near the personalized and frendly service as in this botique hotel. We really like the fact that we can park the car and never use it for the rest of the weekend. Your within walking distance to everything.
While singing them praises there is one negative you should be aware of. Barb typically serves treats every day....... and no matter how much will power we always sneak way too many and go home with a few calories more.
In closing, We highly recomend the Coyote Inn and find the owers have exhibited the highest degree of service and integrity in all our dealings. Try it and you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalSunChasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Once again we had a fantastic stay at the Coyote Inn. The location of the Inn right next to the mountains cannot be beaten - you can walk to the shops and restaurants and it is a very short drive to the tramway and canyon walks. Sometimes an inn just reflects the location and Coyote does just this - fantastic rooms around a lovely pool and hot tub. Imagine sitting by the pool a few feet from your room staring up to the mountains beyond. The rooms are lovely and the owners are a credit to both their town and their business. Coming all the way from the UK we like to ensure we get our hotels right and with Coyote we never need to worry.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
0 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#35 of 75 in Palm Springs
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#19 of 75 in Palm Springs
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Andalusian Court
The Andalusian Court
#2 of 21 in Palm Springs
226 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coyote Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coyote Inn

Address: 234 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £149 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coyote Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coyote Inn is an exclusive Spanish mission style resort fully gated offering the utmost in privacy. A total of seven different sized suites, from a poolside studio to the grand suite. Each suite offers either a kitchenette or fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, mini library, queen or king size bed with a raised bedside fireplace. The courtyard contains the salt water pool, spa, grill, and poolside fire pit. Located in the Historic Tennis Club, just a stroll to heart of the Palm Springs village. Our relaxed atmosphere will certainly help you to forget your cares and enjoy every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Coyote Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coyote Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing