We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential but needs lots of work ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marquis Villas Resort
Ranked #57 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Has potential but needs lots of work ”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is the only hotel I could find on Coachella Music Festival weekend since everything else was booked or was way out of my price range.

I paid $353 per night (admittedly on a busy weekend where all the hotels are booked) I don't know what the normal price is but it certainly does not look like they should be charging anything over $200.00.

The carpet is stained, the elevators don't work. The room looks like a throw back to 1985, Mimi bar and all.

The location is great though, and the rooms are suites with 2 1/2 bathrooms, walk in closet and a full kitchen.

So it's got potential, hopefully someone will invest some money and bring it into the 21st century.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MarjML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
At Marquis Villas Resort, we value our guests’ feedback and appreciate when they take the time to share their experiences with us. It would seem that while you had some constructive comments, your overall impressions proved mostly positive. We are glad you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and well-appointed accommodations. We further appreciate your remarks regarding our prime location. We believe in providing our guests with unbeatable amenities and excellent customer service. Thank you for visiting. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    88
    70
    52
    39
See reviews for
88
103
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I am a Diamond Resort owner at their Maui location and a member of Club. Needless to say we have been happy with the ownership experience and this in no way is a slam on Diamond, just an opinion of a owner of one of your properties and a member of club.
The positives of the resort are many, you have arguably the largest rooms of any resort in the area, you are within walking distance of everything, the location is easy to find, the staff seemed friendly, and the resort is overall nice.
The bad, UPDATE ,UPDATE, UPDATE..the resort is like walking into a older holiday inn from 1985, no flux capacitor needed..carpet is matted and old in the hallways, the rooms are huge and boast kitchens and all of what you'd expect in a time share but again, all from the late 70's early 80's era. Room bathroom lighting is terrible in the guest suite(if you get the 2 bedroom unit) the workout room is consists of 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, 1 multifunction weight machine, and 2 sets of dumbbells with a bench, not up to par at all IMO, the pool area is nice as long as you like elevator music pumped in , the good news is Hard Rocks pool is directly across the street and you can listen to their music vs the elevator music, the outside furniture is old and weathered, there is no bar service by the pool (you would think that would be a huge money maker for them) , no free wifi, tube TVs , no HD programming, I could go on a little more about the resort, but you all should get it...it needs to be gutted and redone to justify the points used to stay there...if you have points and need the sun and fun in new modern facilities, I would check out the Sedona location they have...that was perfect.
This is a very nice resort, would be great for a family with kids, or a little r&r , but hardly a resort that you would expect from Diamond and the uber cool Undercover Boss Man. We will revisit again next year for Coachella, so hopefully they can get some remodeling done by then or reduce the points needed to stay. Again this is a nice resort, just old.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank carguy60490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are happy to hear you appreciated our team members’ helpful and friendly attitudes. They take pride in providing great customer service and will be thrilled to hear of your kind acknowledgment of their efforts.
This being said, we regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your room, and we will bring this tour maintenance manager’s attention.
The resort fee entitles you to services such as; complimentary Wi-fi, access to our secure underground parking, and also access to the pool area. We will report the Wi-fi concerns you expressed to our third-party internet provider. We hope that you will choose to visit us again, and we wish you all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I did not expect this hotel to be this good, the room we have is excellent, it's massive and nicely furnished, the staff at front desk are very helpful. Location is perfect, wish I was here for a week.

Room Tip: Didn't use room service or restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here at Marquis Villas Resort. We were extremely pleased to see how well our team members treated you, and also that our accommodations exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed in this property. The first room we were offered was very tired and very dirty. The second was only slightly better. Clearly, vacuuming is optional here, stains in the furniture are ignored, and periodic updates are rare. The staff was friendly and the rooms huge but that didn't make up for the lousy atmosphere. When they asked if we wanted to hear a timeshare presentation, we just laughed. Diamond Resorts should be ashamed of this property.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We truly regret to read of your dissatisfaction with your recent experience at our resort. Our resort strives to provide a highly enjoyable getaway and it is always upsetting to know when we did not achieve our goal. Our management consistently evaluates guest feedback to ensure we are providing the best possible stays, and we appreciate your honest comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future, for a much more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Pros: Location location location. This is only two blocks from the main Palm Springs drag, so a perfect place to park the car and not have to drive again unless you wanted to get in the car. Price was amenable compared to other options in the area, but given the cons I paid too much. The staff was top notch! Helpful, friendly and ready to be of assistance at any time. I can't say enough positive stuff about the people! The room is more like a condo or apartment - plenty of room to spread out.

Cons: Pool water was dirty - needed skimming and maintenance. Rooms are very outdated, with small CRT TV's - bring your own DVD player for anything meaningful to watch. Decor is 1970's, including appliances. NOTE: No glass is allowed at the pool, but no plastic cups are in the suites, so bring your own. Carpet, bedding is old, stained and worn. Clean though, so if you aren't looking for 5-star this is an option.

However, the bed was horrible, both my partner, my daughter as well as myself stayed here only two nights and my back is killing me from the bed. No support, old and tired. Chiropractor, here I come!

All in all, it was less than I expected of the facility for the price, but the location was amazing....so would I stay here again? A big maybe....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suek357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are thrilled to read you were pleased with our prime location in the heart of Palm Springs, unsurpassable service, and the comparably low rates of our mountain setting resort. We do, however; apologize for any shortfalls experienced in your assigned accommodations and will use your feedback to improve upon all facets of the overall guest experience here. We hope for the chance to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Upon arrival the staff was friendly. The hotel has 3 floors. The rooms are a little dated and I suggest they remove all the old stained carpets. Just that would make a good improvement. Rooms are big with a large bathroom with tub and another bathroom with shower. Having a kitchen was great. It's the only hotel we saw with full kitchen. Fire place in living room. Huge patio. I got the room with two double beds. The location is great near the main strip and a grocery store about a 20 minute walk away or 4 minutes by taxi. Overall pretty good for the rate. Just needs some updating.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginas_point_of_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The review "YUK" was posted in Oct2013 and nothing has change.

I am currently in a room that yours review describes. I am a Diamond GOLD member I get these amenities... a 1980's kitchen appliances, (MFG label confirms microwave year 1984), a 2004 19" crt TV with no HD reception. But we did get free WIFI to watch NETFLIX on the laptop. I was told the property is in ESCROW. But 8 years ago it looked the same. I thought by now it would have been remodeled. Stayed here only because of Convention center location. Next time I will stay somewhere else (MARRIOTT Desert Villas II ) further away.

Timeshare owner of 25 years.

Room Tip: No good rooms available if I have an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Marquis Villas Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We regret that we didn’t meet your expectations because we strive to provide great vacation experiences for every guest. We’re successful most of the time because of our unsurpassable customer service and great location; however it seems in the case of your visit we fell short of that goal. Thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor and we hope that you consider returning so that we may have an opportunity to prove that Marquis Villas Resort is a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#36 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Villas Resort

Property: Marquis Villas Resort
Address: 140 S Calle Encilia, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6612
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis Villas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marquis Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Villas Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Hotel Palm Springs
Marquis Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing