We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Avance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avance Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my BF stayed over the last weekend in May. The weather was about 100-103 each day. The pool was so wonderful to lay naked in all day. There were a few other guests that we chatted with and the owners were very friendly and did whatever to make us feel comfortable. They have a grill which we used multiple times to cook dinners/lunches. They have a wide selection of DVDs/Adult DVDs for use. Great recommendations on bars/activities in the area. Would definitely stay here again in the near future! Close to downtown/ other resorts/ grocery store. We reserved the JR suite, but got upgraded to the King suite because there was few guests. What a gem this place is!

Room Tip: Room 1 is awesome! Close to pool and office. Wasn't loud at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our first trip to Palm Springs and our first trip to Desert Eclipse. We already can't wait to go back.

Location: Desert Eclipse is perfectly situated just blocks from downtown and the grocery store. So if you want to be able to walk places, as we did, this place fits the bill.

Grounds: The grounds are beautiful and so well kept.There's a mix of trees and greenery on the grounds that really add some beauty to the pool area. The rooms create a u-shape around the pool and hot tub, which are both kept in pristine condition, and the sitting area out front of each room is really nice for just hanging outdoors.

The Room: We loved our room. The furnishing are modern and, as with everything, clean and top notch. The furniture is a dark wood, there are granite counter tops in the bathroom and the kitchen, and the beds are insanely comfortable. The rooms are stocked with basics in terms of dishes, pans, etc. Plus, there are Keurig coffee makers available in the common area by the pool that have about every flavor of coffee and tea you can imagine. In addition, they do a really nice continental breakfast in the morning.

The Owners/Staff/People: The owners and staff are friendly, helpful, and really make themselves available to you for anything you might need.

Other things to know: The resort is clothing optional. Different people obviously take this to different degrees, but I wouldn't consider this place cruising grounds. It's a really relaxing atmosphere where we really felt comfortable laying out/swimming in our trunks or nude, which we thought was great.

Overall, we really can't speak highly enough about this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a month and could have or should have stayed longer, it was just that perfect.

Formerly known as The Columns, Michael and Scott have turned this establishment into a cozy luxury paradise. With its original seven units and two new units added recently, the resort is the perfect size to meet interesting people.

For long term stays, the kitchenette comes complete with gas stove, refrigerator and microwave. My unit had a small half size refrigerator with no freezer and when I mentioned to Michael the fact that I had contemplated buying frozen food but had to refrain from doing so, he went out and bought another small refrigerator with a freezer and installed in my room (Room One). I was so impressed.

There was enough kitchenware to meet all my needs (china, stemware, cutlery, can and bottle openers, bowls, pats and pans).

The bed was one the most comfortable I've had in any hotel or cruise ship. The linens were bar none the best I've ever seen.

Over the bed is a huge ceiling fan with built-in light.

Their in an a/c - heating unit which worked flawlessly.

The room had a large flat screen t.v. with built-in DVD (a good selection of DVDs and books available at the front desk).

The court yard is very clean, well laid out with plenty of lounge chairs, flotation toys for the pool, parasols, water fountains, hummingbird feeders, small reptile sculptures, a salt water pool, a jacuzzi, extra pillows, a BBQ, a freezer filled with bags of ice, tables and chairs and towels galore. The design and array of vegetation are stunning with night lights shinning up into the palm trees and into the garden areas.

The view of the Santa Rosa mountains are almost surreal particularly just before the sun sets.

Continental breakfast (8 to 11 am) offers Kurig beverages (coffees, teas and hot chocolate) which are available 24 hours a day. A small fridge contains milk and creme for the coffee. Also in that fridge were juices (tomato, orange), boiled eggs, butter, Philadelphia cream cheese (in small individual portion tubes), yogurt.

On the breakfast table, there is, on rotation, a variety of bagels, English muffins, croissants, sweet muffins and breakfast cakes. There is always a bowl of fresh fruit (oranges, apples and bananas). There are four varieties of cereals as well as packets of jams, peanut butter and honey.

A separate cooler is used for soft drinks which costs 50 cents each (on the honor system) with a small metal box to deposit the coins. The variety of soft drinks was impressible and included diet drinks.

There are 7-8 parking spots which is more than ample and some people do not have cars and rely on public transit which is what I did for the full month. If you're over 60, the cost of a ride is 50 cents (75 cents if you take a transfer card good for a two hour period). For 75 cents, I took the 111 to Cathedral City, went shopping at Targets and came back using the transfer ticket. During week days, buses run every 20 minutes and during weekends, 30 minutes.

From the Desert Eclipse, I walked to a number of good bars/restaurants (Yangs, StreetBar, Hunters, Spurline, Oscars, Tool Shed) within 12-15 minutes. For places like the Barrack and Studio One 11, take Bus route 111 from Palm, Canyon (it's about 15-20 bus ride).

There is a good Antiques Mall on Sunny Dunes (not far from the Tool Shed).

There are so many second hand and consignment shops, it's incredible.

I could go on but I think you'll get a idea of how great Desert Eclipse and Palm Springs are. It was my first visit and it won't be my last!

Michael and Scott are wonderful hosts and I must say there are easy of the eyes. The make a wonderful couple.

Room Tip: Not a bad room to be had. If you care to have a private outdoor area, ask for rooms 4, 5, 6 or 7 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesSeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were so impressed by every aspect of our visit last week to the Desert Eclipse Resort. From the minute we arrived, Michael & Scott made us feel welcome. The room & kitchen was well appointed and tastefully decorated-- Jeff Lewis would be proud and based on how clean the room was, you'd assume that Zoila was working her magic, instead it was the ever-so-sweet Leonard!

The continental breakfast perfectly hit the spot each morning. The pool was a perfect temp and the hot tub hit the spot after a long day of exploring the city, Joshua Tree and Mt. San Jacinto.

It really has a boutique resort feel with a small number of rooms (<10) and strong attention to detail as well as personal service.

We didn't want to leave and even momentarily considered extending our stay by a night as our room was going to be available, but resisted temptation.

We hesitated giving such a glowing review as we would *hate* to find this place booked up for our next vacation (wouldn't consider another place in P.S.), but we also want to make sure this place stays around for a good, long time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our fifth visit to the Desert Eclipse after trying out several properties in Palm Springs. The rooms are spotless, the pool is saltwater, and the size of the resort is perfect. We always meet friendly people - but the hosts, Michael and Scott, are the reason we keep returning to Palm Springs. They are so warm and welcoming, ready to answer any questions or just sit and visit for a bit while you eat breakfast. The value here is incredible - we have paid over double the price for resorts here in Palm Springs, and we have gone away disappointed. We plan to return soon - it is always difficult to say goodbye to what has become like a second home in the desert for us!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, even the smaller Junior Suite - every room we have stayed in has incredibly com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markovermeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I just returned from our second visit to Desert Eclipse and found it to be just as nice as it was the first time. The guest rooms are luxuriously appointed, modern and very comfortable. The entire property is impeccably well maintained. The owners, Scott and Michael, are most hospitable. I would not hesitate to recommend Desert Eclipse to anyone looking for a classy, comfortable gay retreat in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoenix_fqtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My Partner and I stayed at Desert Eclipse in October 2013. What a wonderful little Gem in the desert. We were picked up by Michael, one of the owners, from the Airport and brought a short drive to their little oasis. The resort although small, has a wonderfully warm feel to it. Everything was immaculate. Our room, number 6, had a large king bed with beautiful linens and the most lovely pillows. We also had a full kitchen and a private patio area to the back of the suite. Free Wi-Fi too. Leonard, another little Gem in the desert, who looks after all of the guest rooms, was just fabulous. He could not have been more helpful, always at hand to help with, extra towels, toiletries nothing was a problem. Michael and Scott are lucky to have him. Michael was always up at the crack of dawn to organise the breakfast area. There was a great range of continental foods on offer, fresh bagels, delicious muffins, cereal, and fruit, plenty to get you started for your day ahead. They have two Keurig Coffee machines, with a cupboard full of different types of coffee and tea, available 24hrs. There is also a fridge filled with sodas, run on an honors system, 50cent a pop. The courtyard style of the property with comfortable loungers and parasols dotted around the pool was perfect. There was no part of the day where you didn't get Sun. The gardens are very lush and beautifully manicured. The pool is delightful, it is salt water, no chlorine and large enough for the size of the property. All manner of relaxing flotation devices are available to use, to float your cares away in the pool. There is also a full size barbecue for use by guests. As I had let Michael & Scott know that it was my partner’s birthday when we were there, they very thoughtfully left the most delicious birthday cake in our room upon our arrival. Such a sweet and lovely personal touch. Desert Eclipse is a short walk to the centre of town, and within walking distance from the nearest drug stores and supermarkets.Ralphs is 5 minutes walk. One thing that newcomers to Palm Springs should know is that everything is close by. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay, to get away from the world, you can't go wrong with Desert Eclipse. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and made some friends along the way too. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.
Until next time Palm Springs......

Room Tip: We would recommend room 6, it has two large palms outside which are protected from the sun by white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#19 of 74 in Palm Springs
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#11 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.5 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avance Hotel

Address: 537 S Grenfall Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7618 (Formerly Desert Eclipse Resort)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: £127 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avance Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Avance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Eclipse Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing