We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Renovated and Ready”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Renovated and Ready”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A last minute decision to head to Palm Springs was a fun experience and made even better with our stay at the Renaissance, Palm Springs. I stayed here a few years ago when it was the Wyndham, but Marriott has done an excellent job with their renovations of this resort.

The check in staff was great (Rene). He was very friendly, informative and extremely courteous. Our room was very spacious even with our two kids. My only two (small) complaints about the room was that the cleaning staff never left enough towels and/or shampoo (although the front desk staff took care of this for us immediately) and the AC was a little noisy.

Since it was Memorial Weekend, we decided to rent a cabana, as we knew the pool area was going to be very crowded (which it was). Not only was the pool area very nice, the food and beverage staff was very attentive, even with the large crowds. The person who helped out the most was Jose. Great guy and anticipated our needs the whole day The other thing I was impressed with is that the staff seemed to actually enforce a rule that so many hotels don't, and actually pick up towels from people who "reserve" pool chairs at 6:30 in the morning. First I think these types of people are incredibly RUDE, but I also think it is just as disappointing for a hotel to look the other way when their guests do this stupid act. Kudos to the Renaissance for not allowing this type of immature behavior!

Lastly, our family ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings. The buffet was good, not extravagant, but it had everything we needed. The omlettes was very food and both seating areas (inside and outside) were very nice.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBLanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate the Memorial Day weekend; it was a busy and great few days. We are delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay and our services; it is very rewarding for us to read such reviews after a weekend of hard work.

Look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    542
    249
    103
    76
See reviews for
343
511
65
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Came to the hotel for a meeting, stayed an extra day to sit out by the pool. Hotel was full and chaotic when I checked in,but the staff was handling it gracefully and even managed to get me an early check in to a pool view room with a balcony. My friends room did not have the balcony and I think mine was a lot nicer with it! Bed was super comfy, pool was nice with good service although the poolside cocktails were very, very weak. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and casino. $10 parking fee, but you can easily park in the very large and free lot that belongs to the casino right next door. Very eclectic music selection by the pool and in the outside bar area. Separate kiddie pool too. I would gladly stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank westlakevillagemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
We are delighted that your organization chose our hotel for its' conference and that you decided to stay an extra day to enjoy our services. Thank you for doing so and for sharing your review of our hotel.

Should your travels bring you back to Palm Springs, we would very much like to be of service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I highly recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. It was very nice, modern and the staff were increadible. The pool is huge which was an extra bonus!! If i ever decide to go back to palm springs I will stay at the renaissance again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We are so happy to read how you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel! We are also delighted that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Palm Springs.

Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your review and we look forward to being of service again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and loved it. The waether was hot so we stayed by the pool quite a bit. The pool area was very nice everything was lime green and very bright and colourful. The hotel was less than 10 mins walk to the main strip which is full of bars and restaurants. We had a lovely Italian at Sammy G's and even got a complimentary liquor from Sammy who happened to be there. Our stay was Mothers day weekend which was extremely busy and although we couldn't get a room with a pool view it was still a lovely room. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Mother's Day weekend and for sharing your review. We are delighted that our hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed some of the Palm Springs hospitality.

We look forward to your return next Mother's Day if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

After a busy few days in LA, we decided to chill in Palm Springs (unlikely with temperatures of over 100 degrees)! Our room was very pleasant with balcony overlooking the large pool, it was late so we had room service - again fine. However, later that night the air con decided to boom and shake into life - horrendous I had 3 hours sleep. The next morning we went to complain, the receptionist tried to make out it was normal, and that being British we weren't used to a.c., honestly how patronising! However, I insisted we move and soon a gentleman escorted me to another room to have a listen to the unit, even he admitted that ours was very noisy and we later found out that this indeed is a problem and many people complain. Allegedly, while the hotel has been revamped over the years, the a.c. has not - oh dear! Small niggles - I asked for capuccino with breakfast, was told this was extra as had to be purchased from Starbucks concession - it arrived 5 minutes later in cardboard cup! The rooms have no complimentary water, only a small bottle with a price tag of $5 - take your car do a U in front of hotel drive to top of East Tahquitz Way and visit Fresh n Easy - 4 bottles of Evian cost less than that.
With so many good and diverse restaurants in Palm Springs - I would recommend eating out. A quick walk brings you into the main street and the choice is great.
The Renaissance markets itself as an unforgettable luxury retreat in the heart of the California desert, ...well it's certainly in the desert!

Room Tip: Listen to the a.c. before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel; we are very upset with ourselves that we did not deliver the experience you were looking for. Please accept our most sincere apologies. I will share your concerns with the appropriate staff so that we can take corrective actions.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and it is our hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from choosing our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara/Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Beautiful, modern and well maintained property. We've stayed in about 50 different Marriott hotels worldwide and this is one of the nicest ones in this price range. Great entrance and lobby area. We didn't use the pool but it also seemed to be very nice. We are actually Platinum Marriott Members and they gave us the funniest room upgrade: it had a conference table and chairs for 20 people :-))) Overall thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexAndKasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricHill, Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Happy Belated Mother's Day! We are delighted that you again chose our hotel for your celbration and very happy to see how you enjoyed your experience with us. We will absolutely look into the few corrective items you brought up.

We look forward to your return next Mother's Day if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This was the 3rd year we traveled to Palm Springs for Mothers' Day weekend. This was by far the best place to stay so far. We were originally put in a room overlooking the front parking lot, but I asked for a pool view room and they happily accomodated us. Yeah! The facilities were beautiful, the pool was gorgeous, the gym well-equipped, the location was good and the beds were SO comfortable.

The only complaints I had were:
The sliding patio door to the balcony was almost impossible to open/close.
The shuttle system didn't seem very well coordinated.
1 of the 2 poolside restrooms was out of commission the entire weekend.

All-in-all I'd definitely stay here again. Probably next year for Mothers' Day weekend :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHeart2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing