We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location, friendly staff, well appointed rooms, nicely manicured property.

It is by far the nicest of the larger resorts in Palm Springs. Of course you can drive further to Rancho Mirage or Palm Dessert, but for this town, it's very nice.

The hotel is nice and trendy upon arrival with a large, open air lobby. Upbeat music playing in the background and color changing floor panels leading you towards the lobby bar. Front desk staff was engaging and efficient upon arrival.

As a Platinum Member of Marriot Rewards, we were offered an upgraded suite with a nice view of the surrounding mountains, overlooking the pool area. Rooms are spacious, have two flat screen televisions, incredibly comfortable beds and a nice balcony to relax on.

Breakfast restaurant staff was awesome all 3 morning and remembered our beverage orders each day. Beverages were always full, food was fresh and prices were very reasonable (considering it's a resort). The only noticeable thing was that tables sat dirty for extended periods of time. At one point I looked around to see 16 dirty tables within my view.

The lobby bar had a few California made craft brews on tap which made me very happy. It's nice to see more choices besides Bud Light and Heineken. Again, prices were reasonable for both drinks and food. Management take note: If you want your guests to drink and eat at your property, keep your prices reasonable. If you over charge, we will always walk out the front door to local restaurants instead of spending our money at the property. I applaud this Renaissance for not overcharging. Service at this bar is hit or miss unfortunately. The bartenders don't seem to have the ability to multitask and don't look up often to serve guests. I waited for a few minutes one evening and a guest seated at the bar said "wave your hands around like a crazy person, otherwise they won't see you."

Overall, a nice stay. Recommended for your next stay in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always make it a point to listen to our guest comments and greatly appreciate the feedback.
We look forward to your stay with us when you return to the Palm Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    538
    249
    103
    76
See reviews for
341
508
65
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
461 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location - a large property, typical of some Palm Springs hotels. You can get a good walk out to your room so ask for a room close to the elevator if this is a problem. The pool area was quite large and looked lovely, but frankly it was just too hot to go outside. The rooms were comfortable and very nicely sized. They are effectively designed with plugs and desk areas. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The floors are huge so consider distance from elevator if walking is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We thank you for staying with us and delighted to hear you would stay with us again. We look forward to your stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We needed to catch an early flight so decided to stay at the Renaissance. Every one from the valet to the front desk to the bell persons were helpful and delightful. The hotel itself is a great rehab of an older hotel and everything was done right. The location is only a 20 minute walk from the center of town, but you don't want to leave the property you have everything you could ever want right there! The pool area is big, well appointed, and welcoming. We will return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and get the bonus of the southern mountain range - odd numbered rooms on a hgh f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to your next stay with us and hopefully it will be a longer trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has a TERRIFIC staff - their customer service is excellent and the smiles on the faces of their employees in contagious. They go above and beyond when given requests. Only negative was that the ATM was not working so we had to walk to the ATM.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear your comments and will be glad to share it with our staff.

We look forward to your next visit to Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Sorry to say this hotel needs a facelift, from room layout (Dark suite sitting room) to the paint and carpet colors. Old. Tired. Disappointing. Our suite view was of an orange roof. Marriott needs to upgrade this property or just settle for it being a convention type place to stay, certainly not a first class resort like it's sister hotel (Esmeralda).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel decor. Although the property was fully renovated in 2009, we are constantly updating many areas to stay fresh and relevant. This year alone we have made significant investments in high speed internet, transportation, AC, major systems, televisions and much more. We have a pool bar in the works among other things. I will definitely pass your comments along to our owners.

I truly appreciate your feedback.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
martingreenwood@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in June while driving from San Diego to Las Vegas. The hotel lobby is stunning on entry and the check-in friendly and professional. We had a beautiful room with a tiny balcony onto the furnace outside,but the aircon unit just wouldn't cool the room at all and things were not perfectly comfortable. Our son had a room on the same corridor that was beautifully ice cold. We were comped free wifi for one night (without asking for it) - very welcome. In a town not exactly stuck for ground space, the parking charge is uncomfortable - there are few other ways of reaching this hotel. Tip: there's a giant public car park beside the hotel - use that instead, all the workers and locals do.
Overall, we loved the place and felt pampered.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pentetetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. If you would like to contact me directly, I would love to learn more about the AC issue and which room you were in so we can solve it. The other hotels in our area charge for parking as well, their charge is bundled into a resort fee ($20-$30/night) whether you use those amenities or not. We prefer to let our guests choose.

Thanks again and please come back soon!

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
martingreenwood@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay here and we were once again pleased with our overall experience. Beginning with Amber at the front desk, all the staff was courteous and friendly. We asked for a possible room upgrade and it was given with a smile. The room was clean, cool, and comfortable. The pool was clean and well maintained. We were slightly disappointed with breakfast buffet. The food was bland and uninteresting. We were able to walk to the downtown shops and restaurants. Overall, we loved our quick overnight stay and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keli714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff, especially Amber, went the extra mile.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return to the Palm Springs area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing