We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Average Convention Type Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Average Convention Type Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Convenient if you're attending a convention being held there. Not worth it if you want a place to stay for the weekend or vacation. My room was at 84 degrees when we first opened the door. The service was marginal, they were under staffed, and the staff that was working didn't smile.

To your room rate add: Parking Fee, Utility Fee, Tour Fee, Room Tax and County Tax.

Room Tip: No comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brproactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not see the value in our hotel, please forgive us. We use our guest comments as a tool to improve our service and operations and we thank you for sharing.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    556
    259
    105
    82
See reviews for
360
522
67
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Marriott Renaissance. We used the hotel's shuttle service to and from the airport - the driver was quick and courteous. The staff was very accommodating, allowing us a late check-out and holding our bags for part of the day. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you for posting your positive review! We are delighted to hear you had a positive experience that out hotel is known for and the staff's service went above and beyond.
We look forward to your next visit with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was made out to look like I was leaving a bad tip by this guy. First he rushed us to our room 2270, obviously in a hurry to do something . Didn't ask us if we needed anything, or what we were in town for, or anything . Didn't set our luggage on a luggage rack either or ask if we needed ice . Then we I tipped him accordingly, he held his few dollar tip in his hand and gave us rude looks and no thank you or anything, just walked out. Does he speak English ? Room was nice and well kept, but that was it . He really set the standard of our stay here. Writing a nice letter to your Corporate Office. To busy at front desk to complain and let him ruin anymore of our time there.

Room Tip: Don't ask or use Guma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Mario,

I am sorry to hear about your negative interaction with our staff. This is not the norm or the standards for our hotel, please forgive us. I assure you this concern will be addressed right away so our future guests do not experience the same. Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

So we travel to Palm Springs every year, usually for cheer. We alternate our hotel stay between the Renaissance Mariott in Palm Springs and our time share. This past February we stayed at the Court Yard Mariott adjacent to the convention center. That was nice.

Returning for a dance competition in July, we opted to stay here. It's extremely convient to be able to walk from our room to the Convention Center and avoid the heat. Well to our surprise the Renaissance has lost its high level of cleanliness and esteem.

Our wall has a whole in it from the front door being opened to hard. I look down and there is a door stop but the wall unfixed. Our shower curtain has two black spots/stains on the end and center, the grout between the tiles has mildew, the rim of the emergency sprinklers has dust, the vent in the shower has dust on each blade, the vent grid in the hallway is caked with dust, the tub has been glazed yet the ring around the tub is visible, the balcony furniture has a whole in it and is dirty, the once beautiful pool furniture is stained and torn. The lovely bed like chairs with a canopy seen in the pictures are stained have dirty pillows and no canopy. Cushions are torn and umbrellas are broken. The staff that once washed down the pool area upon closer, merely picks up towels. There are a lot of spot painting jobs that need to be attended to and appear to have been neglected.

Last bit of complaint is the extremely rude security that approached our group about having pizza from an outside vendor. Granted we were violating the rules without knowing, but his approach to is was hostile, rude, and highly aggressive. Thank God our group was calm and had not been drinking as he could have caused major problems. To yell at us and be rude is unprofessional and uncalled for. The when I tried to retrieve his name I was first informed it was Joe the provided a second name of which the front desk manager, William, stated he did not now him, to which the security currently on duty, Sauel, gives a code to info him it's a fake name. They both laugh and think I will let it go.

For the unkept property and disrespectful staff, this resort priced Motel is over priced. The only benefit is the connection to the Conventin Center, other wise it's the worst marriott property in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21chill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and the positive experience that most of our guests experience while staying with us. I will be sure to share your concerns regarding the maintenance of the building to the appropriate department.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Renaissance is the place to stay if you are attending events at the convention center. During the desert hot summer months, it is not worth it to drive any distance to another property. Having said that, the hotel is fairly nice. I stayed here 2 years ago and can see the carpets have been replaced but the hallways and doors have scuff marks so the overall impression is heavy traffic and a bit worn. If not here in the summer the pool would be very nice. Lobby is nice, room is clean. If you aren't using the convention center, there are many other beautiful properties in the area you'd probably want to consider. .

Room Tip: This is my second visit and the front desk will not give you a pool view room without an upcharge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler222Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your stay went well overall. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I have returned to this property for the last several years to celebrate our anniversary and also experience the fantastically spectacular fireworks at the baseball field for the 4th...

The staff here tries very, very hard to accommodate the needs of what appears to be a fairly high maintenance crowd.

We arrived on a Wednesday and the place was practically empty...our best day there. Despite temps above 100, there was space at the pool for us to use an umbrella and the pool was crystal clear. We did notice many broken umbrellas which is unfortunate as they are already in short supply. Similarly, there were a few broken lounge chairs. The cushions on many if not most of the furniture is soiled and is in need of cleaning or replacing. Even the grout around the pool area is full of debris and feathers. I'm sure the staff does all they can do to keep up with the rush of people who come in for the holiday, but perhaps on slow days, a deep clean of the pool area would help keep up appearances.

The waitstaff at breakfast is very accommodating and even at dinner, they are very attentive. There are NO complaints with the food; we enjoyed the crab cakes and the fennel salad; both were tasty and well prepared and presented.

The rooms are comfortable, although the cleaning staff did not attend to our room until very late in the day; the grout in the shower needed attention, at least in our room, and again maybe because of the holiday, there were no washcloths and only two large towels....which was fine but we started off with four. This hotel might want to consider allowing Gold and Elite status members the option of earning points by foregoing the cleaning service each day. Then the delay in service wouldn't be so noticeable and we have no problem making our own bed.

On July 4th, the staff needed to clear the pool or adhere more closely to posted health regulations. Many patrons had drinks in the pool, no doubt spills occurred throughout the day. By noon the water was murky and it was so warm and without a huge influx of chemicals there were many microbes multiplying in the hot sun.

This property has a kiddie pool that is virtually unused. I am not sure it is because of its location or depth or cleanliness, but the large pool had SO MANY babies in it (some in swim diapers, some not) that without a dose of chlorine every so often (or time to allow the chemicals to work), we were all exposed to unsafe levels of bacteria.

Bottom line, people are rude and high maintenance. They expect 5 star service regardless of the rate they paid to stay overnight and no amount of effort on the part of the management or staff will please them. There are some that complain about everything and those people will never be happy regardless of where they stay. For the rest of us who deal with the above issues, we do our best to enjoy the short vacation from daily life. People who insist on carrying on a conversation as if they were in their own living room while the people lying on the lounge near them are trying to read or sleep or relax should not reflect on a hotel's inability to satisfy them....it's just the way it is. But I did see a manager go over to a woman who complained about an obviously overworked employee who didn't 'notice' her standing there to order a drink and she was ultimately comped two drinks. Give me a break - I'm sure she was noticed, but just not in the five seconds of standing at the counter to be served.

Aside from the above rant, this hotel needs a deep cleaning and repair work to warrant a return visit. The staff has done a fine job of overcompensating for the decline in the surroundings...we totally appreciated the popsicles on the 4th!! (we didn't appreciate the little kids who left their wrappers and sticks every where!)

Minor point: we did ask the front desk for a small tool to repair my husband's glasses; when we asked them they said they called our room repeatedly to tell us they did not have anything. No recommendation of where to go, etc. Interestingly enough, the next day in their small on site store, we noticed the tool among the needles and thread and dental floss. Oh well.

The chef who made our omelets on the 5th of July was seriously awesome, as was our waitstaff the entire time. The food quality and preparation at this location is deserving of 4 or 5 stars.

I don't think we'll return to this property based on this last experience.

Overall: average at best.....the employees are awesome though!

PS. When we checked out on the 5th, every single parking space had been taken and cars were parked on both sides of the fire lanes. Super dangerous and totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have really nice views of the mountains and large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear J.M. - Thank you for taking the time to submit your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear the positive comments about our staff. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed from Friday to Sunday and had a great relaxing time! Hotel was very clean and the staff both inside and outside were very accommodating from the time we drove up. Great for kids too, we brought ours. One server who really stuck out and you need to ask is "Fenito". I can't remember her last name, but she went over and beyond to help my wife, kids and I. We would come back to this hotel just based on our experience with her at the pool!

5 minute walk to the casino too if you have a baby sitter.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jaafri,

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the 4th of July. We will be sure to commend "Fenita" on going the extra mile for our guests to feel welcome.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Property: Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing