We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Smoking in the pool! Partying at the pool all night without restrictions! People running up and down
The hall ! None of the staff could control the situation. Pot smoking all over area
The most, the next day would talk to the people. We left and will never return"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Su-z B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed. You are correct, we should have done a better job with this group. It was a tough situation and we will not have them back. I do hope you will give us another try!

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We took a last minute trip to Palm Springs with my cousin and she chose this resort. She traveled with her girlfriend and my husband, 5 year old daughter and I traveled and stayed together.

THE GOOD: Check-in was quick. The room was clean. The wading pool for kids was nice. There was ample deck chairs. The lobby was pretty. There is a shuttle to downtown Palm Springs. The bathroom was spacious. I liked that the pool area definitely had a Palm Springs/yesteryear but modern vibe to it.

THE BAD: Although we arrived at 4 p.m., we had to wait 1.5 hours to get into our hotel. My daughter and I changed in the bathroom and went to the pool while my husband waited for the room to be ready. Internet is not included and is expensive! The channels available on the tv were dismal at best. The room was a bit small. The pool was warm and not refreshing and there were A TON of people. I had read this hotel had one of the largest pools in Palm Springs but honestly I think the pool is small with regards to how many rooms they have.

THE UGLY - Nothing Ugly. Just wouldn't go back there again. I wouldn't have selected this hotel if I had been choosing something for a family. There were some other families there but the definite vibe at this hotel is for singles and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback. Obviously, your experience is not what we normally deliver-please forgive us. I share all feedback with our team with continuous improvement as our goal.

Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel itself is nice. The water in the faucets come out white as snow, but it's from oxygen so let it air out. The pool is small, but cabana area is big. And I absolutely hated the parking. I paid a mandatory $12 self park fee, to have to park in the dirt! All the lots were full. I feel like I should have been refunded, because regardless of your car, no one wants to park in a janky, bumpy dirt lot off to the side. Other then that the staff is friendly and helpful. Beware of a room facing the street because during the summer the trees are full of catydids and they are loud at night!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dangerfield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I appreciate your review of the hotel. I am sorry the parking lots overflowed. If you would contact me personally at the hotel, I would be happy to refund your parking fee!


Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My job takes me to Palm Springs about every 6 weeks. I have to stay three days at a time and often cannot take my family. Since I first stayed at the Renaissance, it has become literally my home away from home. The staff is very friendly and remember you when you return. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The food at the restaurant and bar is also good. When I am able to bring my family, they love the hotel as much as I do. It is one of the few hotels in the area that has a dedicated kiddie pool and sandbox. There is so many good things about this hotel. It is within walking distance to downtown and has several shuttles. The staff is always helpful with recommendations and fulfilling requests. I get depressed if I have to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: It is a rather large hotel so since I travel alone, I always ask for a room close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoMSGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear that we are your home away from home. We strive to exceed all our guest expectations and happy to hear your wonderful comments. We look forward to your future visits with us!

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Large group of people allowed to stay at pool overnight and until 7 am. People actually slept on lounge chairs. Made noise all night despite numerous complaints from other guests. Staff did nothing. Worst experience we have had there. Wont return for awhile. Staff needs to gain control of their hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sdc522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mg87, General Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

That you so much for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I agree with you-this group was not an easy group to keep tabs on. They will not be returning to our hotel. I do sincerely hope you will.


Martin Greenwood
General Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is our second time at this property. The first time we had a bad experience with other hotel guests. It was not the resorts fault. But they sent us a free night. And this time it was exactly what I expected. Service was over the top. They really do take care of their guests. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you posting your review. We are glad to hear we met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your future visits with us.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times of the last ten years. It is a beautiful resort with breathtaking views. Unfortunately, it is slipping in my opinion. Room need updating, especially the baths. Also requires more attention to detail in housekeeping. Much hair in the shower and on the floors. Gross! Tub was also soo worn that it actually looked filthy. Perfectly located for access to everything PS has to offer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank iamswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron A, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Aaron Alexandar
Front Office Manager
Renaissance Palm Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Palm Springs
Courtyard Palm Springs
#28 of 73 in Palm Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel

Address: 888 E Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6708
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the Renaissance Palm Springs provides a sophisticated and stylish setting perfect for any visit to the area. Steps away from the Palm Springs Convention Center and the upscale shops of Canyon Drive, our hotel is perfect for both work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing