We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“POSH Was A Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
POSH Palm Springs Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
430 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“POSH Was A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The web site and the brochures paint POSH Palm Springs as a luxurious haven with impeccable service, accommodations, and food. Despite the glowing assessments of my fellow TripAdvosors, I didn't find any of it.

Arriving after 5pm, I found the place locked up with an envelope taped to the front door giving me instructions. It was dark, and there is no light at the front door to see how to get in. The facility itself is painted gleaming white and nicely arranged. It is an aged motel that has been restored. The room I stayed in was small. The place was furnished with an eclectic collection of stuff that was obviously picked up from many sources. The room was dirty. There was a dirty clock radio on the night stand, however, there was only one electrical outlet, so I had the choice of the clock radio or the light on the night stand, not both. The mattress was an inexpensive uncomfortable item that just didn't fit the POSH image.

The bathroom was inadequate. The sink stand was too small to lay out any utensils. The soap, so small that it was a joke. Heating and AC are provided by a window style unit.

Breakfast was good, but not exceptional. There were beach chairs to eat at, but it was clumsy and very uncomfortable. The "spa" consists of the pool, and a hot tub. Rooms in the rear were near the pool machinery which was noisy.

The staff spent the absolute minimal time in the facility. At 5pm, they were gone.

This was prime season. Occupancy was low, and I can understand why. This is not a repeater.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the rear, as they can be noisy due to pool machinery, or late night hot tubbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
I am very sorry that you were so dissapointed in your stay at POSH. As I am sure you realize, we cannot please everyone dispite the fact that we try very hard to create a wondereful experience for all of our guests.
We have never had a guest complain of our facility being dirty. This is more disturbing than anything else you mentioned. We clean each and every room top to bottom daily and did not realize we had missed dusting the clock.
As far as our facility being an older building, Yes! We cherish our vintage buildings here in Palm Springs and relish in the fact that we don't simply tear them down for new square boxes. It is a unique experience to stay in a vinatge boutique hotel and an acquired desire. Our hotel was completely refurbished top to bottom in 2009. We receive accolades daily for our design and decorating.
I Cannot help it if the food was dissapointing. Again, we can't please all.
Regarding your comment about us leaving early daily. There is no place to live on property and we provide check-in times for our guests so we can be here to acclimate them to POSH. If you arrive later in the evening we try to reach you via phone but sometimes are unable to do so. We have found that this is the easiest way to receive our late arrivals.

Thank you for your comments, we will take all into consideration and try to provide the best service and experience we can for all future guests.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    44
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
281
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I were looking to get away for a "baby moon" a few months before life changes as we know it. :) Not only was the hotel immaculate, owner Suzy along with her son Jeff went great lengths to make sure our stay was incredible. They serve breakfast in the morning that is delicious, and cocktails around a firepit for happy hour. Great conversation with everyone there, and already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsellers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayleigh essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

WIll keep this review short....
Simply stunning boutique hotel, everything is great, thepeople the hotel, the rooms what more could one ask for.

Cannot wait to go back another time for a few more days...... love it.

Mark

Room Tip: all rooms are great and infividual.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Beautifully appointed room, comfy king-size bed and lovely pool. Wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The best part is the five-star full breakfast each morning. Happy hour with wine and cheese is an added bonus. Close to the trendy artsy downtown with excellent restaurants, I would highly recommend this charming accommodation and we definitely would love to go there again.

Room Tip: Couples can have a king room or, if you're travelling for a girls weekend for example, you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at POSH Palm Springs Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Really lovely place run by charming and friendly people. Happy Hour drinks and delicious goodies included, as well as a great breakfast – just be there on time so it doesn't run out.
Very few rooms so it was a really private but still friendly atmosphere.
Rooms and especially the bathrooms are a tad small but doesn't matter because everything else is so nice. Great place to just chill...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalalandonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great-looking motel which has been lovingly restored. Very much at the uptown end of Palm Springs and a bit of a walk to downtown. Great pool and hot-tub. Plus lovely breakfasts then cocktails and hors d’oeuvre in the evening. Free water and sodas very welcome in the 106 degree heat.

Downsides? Not the cleanest motel I’ve ever stayed in. There are no phones in the rooms which isn’t a problem if you have a US cell phone but if you are from overseas you are reliant on the phone kept in the bar from which you can make local calls. Great in principle but the 2nd night we were there the phone was locked away so we couldn’t order take-out. The main issue is noise, we stayed in one of the end rooms next to the hot tub. The pool equipment was really noisy all night, and matters weren’t helped by a group of girls who after a long night out decided to use the hot tub at 3am. Whilst this isn’t the owner’s fault, there is nothing to stop anyone using the hot tub at any time and so I imagine its a pretty regular occurrence. So a place for party animals and night owls rather than early birds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Posh Palm Springs - wow, what a fabulous boutique hotel, step through the doorway to find 11 rooms leading off cool shaded corridors all surrounding a wonderful swimming pool, with sun loungers and a relaxing seating area at one end where breakfast and cocktail hour are served. Food all home cooked by Suzy and absolutely delicious - cocktails, wine and beer in the afternoon with lots of different cheeses and crackers and when we didn't get back for cocktail hour as my husband was playing golf, they had made cocktails for us and left it in the cooler - so kind of them. The rooms were cool, beautifully decorated and ours had a table/chairs and a wet bar, coffee maker, complimentary jelly beans and nuts which were replenished daily and complimentary mineral water. A real oasis of calm and beauty in Palm Springs, and I have been telling all my friends about it. Thank you Suzy, Jeff and all the family. Linda & Graham

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparlingwand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POSH Palm Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POSH Palm Springs Inn

Property: POSH Palm Springs Inn
Address: 530 E Mel Ave, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — POSH Palm Springs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
POSH Palm Springs Inn, the deserts friendliest boutique inn where POSH is being redefined as PersOnable Service & Hospitality. Located near the Uptown area, we are close to vibrant downtown Palm Springs with its sumptious dining, shopping and cultural activities. POSH boasts 9 rooms, including 6 Deluxe rooms, 1 mini POSH suite and 2 POSH Suites. All are luxuriously appointed and beautifully decorated. Huge pool and new saltwater spa complete this POSH experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your POSH Palm Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posh Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing