We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inclusive breakfast and happy hour.”
Review of The Westcott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westcott
Ranked #2 of 21 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Rooms are a little small, but the service was great. We had a wonderful time getting to know all of the fellow vacationers at the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSWeigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at The Westcott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you. I am pleased when someone takes the time to really give us a solid review. We appreciate any constructive critique and also the compliments! It is so nice when we find that a customer is such a great fit for our property and hope that you come back and enjoy your stay again in the near future.
Suzy and Jeff and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

this is a tough review for me to write since I am a bit conflicted. The owners were amazingly Accommodating and it truly has sooooo much potential! The issue is to be named "Posh" you really have a lot to live up to. Most of the plants are dying and there is a ton of clutter all of which could be cleaned up so quickly. Palm Springs has such a modern vibe, less is more. Given the price per night I was expecting it to be much more "Posh" than it was. Although there is so much potential here this place still needs a ton of work. The rooms are nice yet the bathrooms are old and somewhat rundown. We had issues with our shower and come to find out it was an ongoing problem that had not been resolved. The last negative I would add is that it is not that close to downtown. We were expecting walking distance but it is definitely a cab ride.

On a positive note the owners were very nice and the breakfast was great! When we take into account what we would have spent on breakfast daily as well as drinks by the pool (we were able to bring our own) it was worth it. At first glance we wondered why we didn't stay at the Viceroy but there were benefits just not worth $260 per night.

Overall I wish Posh luck

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at The Westcott, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

I am sorry that you didn't find POSH Palm Springs Inn to be what you anticpated. Sometimes we find that certain guests, for whatever reason, are just not a fit? I recall when you made your reservation that you mentioned that you normally stay in larger hotels. This could account for the fact that ours would not be as expected. We are a definite Bed and Breakfast environment and small and intimate. We are actually only 1/2 mile from our front door to the beginning of downtown and was taken back by the fact that you felt you needed to have a car because of the distance to the downtown area. I will take your critique into consideration and appreciate your feedback.
Sincerely,
Suzy Antal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our recent two night stay at POSH was everything we hoped for and so much more than we could have imagined. Rooms were delightful...both comfy and well decorated. One could never ask for a better pool, especially when it's located literally five steps from your room. But the thing that makes this place ideal is the charm and efficiency of owners Suzi and Mike. Suzi is a spectacular cook/chef, offering perfectly prepared daily breakfasts of the highest quality (the frittata was my favorite). They were also most generous with libations and snacks at the evening "happy hour" and provided knowledgable directions and recommendations when asked.

We will be returning in two months to experience their hospitality once again...and as often as possible after that.

Room Tip: Every room is adjacent to the pool, and two suites with kitchen facilities are present. We found ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyceee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a find… It’s cozy, small, quiet, close to downtown, and tranquil. The owners are a couple and their son who provide all the services that one would require for a small bed and breakfast. Accommodating service at every level – welcoming, nice but not aloof and glad to have us be their guests . No corporate suits here… how nice. We had several delightful breakfasts and an evening of wine, cocktails and appetizers that make for a soothing day (and night). The Posh is an old ‘motel’ from the 40’s, with an art deco feel. It’s the get-a-way for a pleasant week or weekend away from the big city with a 1950s heated swimming pool (they tell us it was the original). We couldn’t have been more surprised. The rooms were just the right size, and quaint. They provided all the amenities without the commercial ‘style’. And…no kids playing “Marco-Polo!!!” The staff knew the local restaurants that would offer the best menus, dining experiences and prices. The Posh was so subdued – and we could skinny dip as early as 10 PM. Can’t wait to go back… On our rating scale of “A” to “F” – the Posh gets an “A.”

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the POSH while in Palm Spring for a conference. It was a good experience overall, but the most important thing was the way we were treated by the owner. I had made a mistake on my reservation and needed to add a night before my reservation and cancel a night at the end. Even though they have a stated policy which indicates a fee for such a change, they took care of it for us without a problem. What a generous and kindly thing to do. I would have had a hard time explaining that extra charge to my boss!

The hotel is a lovely little boutique hotel with many nice features.

Pros:
- Quite location
- Attractive decor
- Generous amenities - free water and soda, snacks, breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese
- Comfortable bed
- Incredibly generous and friendly owners!

Cons:
- Small room - if you want a roomy, hotel-chain kind of room, this may not be for you. Our room was so small there was no bureau, so we had to live out of our suitcase for the few days we were there.
- Not as clean as I would have liked. The bathroom floor was dirty, especially behind the door, and it was not cleaned while we were there. There was a small stain on our of our sheets, and the sheets were not changed during our visit. I know many boutique hotels don't change sheets daily, so if you want clean sheets every night you may have to request them. I didn't want to make a fuss because they were so nice to us.
- WiFi was non-existent. We had problems with WiFi all over Palm Springs, so I'm not sure this is the hotel's fault. They provided WiFi, but we couldn't get on it.
- The breakfast is late. I always select a hotel that includes breakfast when traveling on business because I don't want the hassle of dealing with breakfast when I'm in a hurry. The breakfast here started at 9:00 am, which may be fine for vacationers, but not for business travel.

Overall, I would recommend the POSH with the above caveats. The owners couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating. The room was small, but lovely. The atmosphere was tranquil and a far more charming than a large chain hotel would have been.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruinalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were in Palm Springs nearly 3 weeks ago and stayed at Posh. It was perfect for us - lots of 50's charm and character, super comfortable bed, quiet room, delicious hot breakfast each day and fun cocktail hour each afternoon. We enjoyed the gracious and welcoming hosts and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at The Westcott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your lovely review.This is the bloodline to our business and we are really appreciate of you taking the time to review our prop[erty.
Sincerly,
Suzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Having stayed here last year and thought what a great place, chose posh again to bring my mum who is over from the UK. I could not believe how a place could deteriorate in 6 months!!
Our room was filthy! Dirty blinds, tables, mirrors and pictures, and fridge! Bedding all crimpled ad if slept in previously! Blood pn pillow shams! Yuck! The wondows were so dirty it looked like it was foggy outside! Shower broken, as was 6 months ago!
Firniture and kitchen shabby and needed renovation. We confronted susie who had the worst attitude and sermed very stressed, and lacked professionalism. We said we were not prepared to stay in the room to which she replied " well dont then" and didnt seem to care whether we stayed or not!
We chose to leave at that point! Never again! And will definitely not be recommending to others anymore!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ukgirl33052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanantal, Owner at The Westcott, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

I don't even know how to respond to this review other than to say this guest stayed with us about six months ago and was lovely. This time she brought her "MUM" from England who is the rudest person I have ever come across since opening this business. There was no pleasing her anyway or anyhow. She arrived angry and it went downhill from there. I am not going to address all these petty issues, but simply to say that our hotel is still as nice and wonderful as it was when she was here last.
As far as the windows being dirty on the outside she is absolutly correct. If anyone has been following the weather here in Palm Springs over the last 2 weeks we have had huge sandstorms that have been playing havoc on our windows and floors. Had she addressed this with me instead of being so beligerent I could have told her this. I would never tell a guest "Well then go! I did try and speak to her professionally but she would not let up. I had to ask her to leave.

Learned this a long time ago... Can't please them all no matter how hard you try.
Suzy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,958 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,608 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Andalusian Court
The Andalusian Court
#3 of 21 in Palm Springs
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westcott

Address: 530 E Mel Ave, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4831 (Formerly POSH Palm Springs Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £171 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westcott 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel which brings the perfect combination and style as the Art Deco 1930s hotel has fully renovated or refreshed rooms with a free breakfast and daily cocktail hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posh Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing