We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth your time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Donnell House Historic Tour

O'Donnell House Historic Tour
Ranked #16 of 23 Tours in Palm Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a by-appointment-only 90 minute Historical Tour featuring the history of Palm Springs and this iconic home. Situated high on the hillside above the Palm Springs Art Museum, the house built in 1925, meticulously restored, features the finest collection of mission style furnishings, including rare tiles, pottery and Early California Furniture. This property adjoins and is now a part of The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn, a private luxury boutique hotel. All tours are conducted by a docent and require advance reservation. Tour sizes are limited for an optimal experience and fill quickly, so please call in advance to ensure availability.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth your time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We took the tour on the last day of a recent trip to Palm Springs. Gary, our guide, was both knowledgeable and gracious. The 180 degree view from the house was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed walking the grounds and learning more about the early history of Palm Springs. The tour is well worth your time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Hibiscus_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brea CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Palm Springs Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I agree with everything said from all the other reviewers. Our guide was Gary and he was fantastic! He was so knowledgeable and we learned so much from him about the history, people, and architecture. And the views were spectacular! I can't recommend this highly enough. It's a must-see!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank MoonDancer-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Palm Springs. It was our first trip there and Laura made the experience that much more exciting by giving us so much information about the history of the area, as well as the Willows and O'Donnell House. I would recommend it to anyone interested in history or architecture and will go again.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank MGmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historic Tour Breathless views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

I've taken this tour twice and each time was a treat. Laura, the docent, is extremely knowledgeable and her passion for the history of Palm Springs is infectious. I have traveled internationaly and taken several historic home tours, this ranks as one of the best ever! The view is like no other in Palm Springs and looking out over the valley leaves you breathless. I love Palm Springs and visit often, I will be back taking the tour again next year!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
11 Thank PSil0vey0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Historic Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Laura gave us a tour packed with information about the Coachella Valley and Palm Springs characters and places. Incredibly well-restored O'Donnell house and the adjacent Willows Hotel>

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank mimiflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Donnell House Historic Tour also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to O'Donnell House Historic Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing