We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This place is delight. We stayed in a king studio suite, which is tastefully decorated and has everything you need. The pool area is lovely and a great hot tub. Walking distance to Palm Canyon and nice restaurants. Will definitely stay here again if we visit Palm Springs again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great central location just a short walk to shops and restaurants in downtown Palm Springs. Spacious suite, stylish and with some great orginal mid-century touches. Great pool and hot tub - wiith amazing views of the mountains. Bikes were offered for use too. We'd go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location and very quiet. Beautiful views of mountains from the grounds and rooms.
Room are modern and restored mid century modern.
Great pool and hot tub.
Excellent parkling.
Easy walk to Palm Canyon drives and many shops and restaurants.
Great staff.
Have stayed there many times and always good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnbikerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a very clean well kept quiet property. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The towels are thick and dreamy! The small kitchen had everything we needed to cook a couple of wonderful dinners. (BBQ) We were well taken care of at this property. The pool is sparkley clean. Lots of places to go for dinner within walking distance. Thank you to Jim and staff for a wonderful holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our stay was from Christmas Eve for 3 nights. Palm Springs is bustling at that time of year but this place retained an air of desert calm. From the impeccably kept patios and pool area to the soothing, very spacious interiors, the overall effect was completely relaxing. The managers are so nice and helpful, the rates are very reasonable. I love the '50s Palm Springs architecture. There were bikes available to use with no charge. The pool is sparkling and clean. It's just perfect for a peaceful, grown ups getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

What a discovery this was! Small hotel with 50's charm with units around the courtyard and pool, and tucked in against the mountain. It is only two blocks away from Palm Springs downtown and in the midst of mid-century residential architecture. We had easy access to restaurants, museums, entertainment, and walks. Our room was spotlessly clean and the property well maintained. We could eat breakfast outside under the umbrella by the pool while reading the local newspaper. Coffee was ready for us in the small kitchen. The place was quiet - no parties. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Desert Hills is an excellent small hotel. It has a great setting tucked up against the mountain in "Old Palm Springs." It is small, quiet, and within easy walking distance to the downtown core. Arranged around a pool and hot tub area, the rooms are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly without being intrusive and they are on task.

We have stayed at a number of small hotels in "Old Palm Springs" over the past fifteen years. Our stay at the Desert Hills was the best of them all. We will be back when next we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had Room # 27 and it was great. But, the place is small - you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#22 of 74 in Palm Springs
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#16 of 74 in Palm Springs
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#12 of 74 in Palm Springs
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#21 of 74 in Palm Springs
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 74 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: £91 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing