We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet spot with perfect decor.”
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet spot with perfect decor.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I met my family here. It was their pick, so I wasn't sure what we were in store for, but we loved it. The staff is amazing, the decor is perfect (very mid-century, but tasteful), the pool is wonderful and the whole place is at the foot of the Santa Rosa Mnts. It's within walking distance of both hiking and the commercial strip. Not sure I'm a fan of Palm Springs, but I'm certainly a fan of Desert Hills.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xa_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    16
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane WA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This place was great! We arrived after the manager was off-duty. All we had to do was pick up a packet with our names on it and get into our room. All the rooms had doors directly onto the pool area which had a pool, hot tub, barbecue, palms for shade, and a pergola for some more shade. They had complimentary bikes to borrow, which was a very easy way to get around town. Although, it's only 2 blocks from the main strip, it felt very secluded and private. The room included a full kitchen, which made it very easy to make lunch and dinner and hang by the pool all day.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen and living area. All the amenities will make it easy to spend the whole d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Desert Hills is a great boutique hotel, spacious comfortable rooms, with everything you could possibly need, more like mini apartments, with kitchen, lounge, dressing room, bathroom and large bedroom. More wardrobe space than I have at home! We also had our own private patio in addition to lovely poolside area. Very pretty grounds and fab view of the mountains and palms. It has a great, warm, larger than average pool and nice jacuzzi. It's set in quiet road just off the main strip, so very convenient for night life and lots of restaurants all within walking distance. Barbara, the manager is very friendly and very helpful. A couple of points to note: breakfast is just a basic shop bought pastry and watery coffee. Plus Barbara leaves at 5pm so if you need anything after this time, you're out of luck. Gardener also arrives really early in the morning. Overall, really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortlineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Words cannot express how much my husband and I love this place. We never thought we would find a place that's so comfortable that we would book our return as we were checking out. We've done this the last two times. Just can't get enough. The rooms are cozy and the staff is amazing. It's truly a place designed to make you relax and unwind. Be advised that it's an older crowd, so if you're look for a raucous pool party, this isn't the place for you. But if you want to experience a true 'holiday' then book your room now.

Room Tip: The rooms by the fountain are nice because they're a little more removed from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. Barbara was great - very friendly and helpful. There seemed to be quite a few guests who return year after year and you can see why. Although the hotel retains its 1950's layout, fortunately the rooms have been updated to a comfortable more contemporary style. We really appreciated having the use of bikes. It was a great way to explore the town. The hotel is wonderfully located in a quiet neighbourhood but at the same time only 5 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claremont77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Absolutely adore this place. Love the Historic Tennis Club neighborhood. Location is excellent. The quiet, classy retro ambiance is just our style. Rooms are like mini apartments. Definitely our little home away from home. This weekend is the first time we have experienced a loud mouth couple here.This is not Vegas style pool scene. Book elsewhere if that is what your looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Loved the stay, relaxing! Not sure if it's always this nice and quiet or if we got lucky and went on a weekend when no one else was staying there cause it's not prime palm springs season. Had the place to ourselves (a bit creepy, but nice). The hotel grounds are nicely kept up, views are gorgeous, managers are very nice & accommodating, but after 5p they are outta there. 2 things to note: 1) unlike some of the other places, there is no 5pm happy hour, 2) if you have a immediate problem after 5p and looking for a warm body to solve it, then you're outta luck. Otherwise, nice quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1realitycheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#29 of 73 in Palm Springs
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#19 of 73 in Palm Springs
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 73 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Property: Desert Hills
Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing