We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking; but try to miss the crowds if you want the real thing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Jacinto Mountain

San Jacinto Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Earthquake Canyon Express Downhill Bike Adventure
Ranked #3 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Breathtaking; but try to miss the crowds if you want the real thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The San Jacinto Mountain cablecar is a wonder in itself. But so few people get the chance to climb from desert temperatures o alpine pastures in a matter of 10 minutes. you get that here. I have hiked all over the world and am ashamed to say that I knew nothing of the SJ National park where there are over 120 miles of trails and tracks through stunning scenery. As such I was limited by time to making a five mile yomp along the forest trails near the cable car station. The views, however, from the ridges and edge of the main plateau atop the mountain were fabuloes and I would advise anyone who fancies a day (or a few days) walking up here to buy the 7 day park apss which costs about $20. That way, as long as you carry everything you need in with you (water purification or filter is a must for longer trips) and take all your garbage out with you the propsects for a few days in the wilderness look great... but the Park Wardens warn that you should beware the crowds that inevitably head out that way at weekends and public holidays.
Well worth a visit; a days hike; or a longer camping-based stay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    115
    14
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed in Palm Springs overnight on our way to a conference in Joshua Tree. We had several hours to kill before our shuttle pick up so we decided to check out the mountain and it was worth every shiver. It was late January and we were first tram ride of the morning so it was 10 degrees on top which we weren't dressed for but it was totally worth it. So beautiful and I can't even describe how peaceful it was. Can't wait to go back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If You Love The Outdoors, You'll Love This Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Took the 8:30 tram on Saturday, Nov 2nd for an early start. Ask for the approx. 10% AAA discount. By 9:30 we were on the trail which starts by the ranger station. In theory they ask for day registration (free) but there were no permits available and the office was closed. I'm 61 and my wife is 54. We're fit and it took us a little over three hours to reach the top. The air temperature was hiker friendly and there was no wind under clear skies. 12 miles round trip. The trail is easy to follow and there were quite a few walkers.

What a difference from the desert valley below!

As a side note I greatly admired the CCC (1933) built emergency shelter just by the summit. Another wonderful legacy from this public works program.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Easy way to go up the mountain. Different hiking trails from easy to ambitious. Nice smell of the pine trees up there. The view into the deserts is awesome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lilly1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lush, forested state park at the top of a desert mountain. Wierd, awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

At the valley floor, it is dry and brown and boring. At the top of the mountain lies a lush, forested state park. You have to see it to believe it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank njcronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Jacinto Mountain also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to San Jacinto Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing