We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caliente Tropics Resort
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Caliente 18 months ago, and decided to stay again on our recent trip to Palm Springs. For the price, location and facilities it's hard to beat, but we were quite let down by our check-in welcome, which was really underwhelming and we felt like more of an inconvenience to the clerk on the desk rather than valued guests.
That small quibble aside, our stay was fantastic. We spent 2 nights in a lower floor room, which was spotless and well kept. The pool and hot tub is amazing, and a great way to relax after a day in the desert.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mgnmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    385
    160
    85
    88
See reviews for
225
477
115
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I went with my family at caliente tropics for first time and everybody enjoy it!!! This hotel have a lots of complains but i dont know if was the costumer service with simon was an Austrian guy , but we really enjoy The hotel, the pool was heated and with kids thats A + , my brother was happy with the gym... Of course that in our next palm spring trip, this hotel going to be our firts option ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOISES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We got a great price late (at 8:30 pm on Priceline) when we found ourselves with an unplanned stay in PS when a realtor extended a meeting to the following day. I once lived in PS and was familiar with most of the businesses on Hwy 111, so when Priceline gave me an “Express Deal,” 2.5 star hotel, which you do not know the name of until you pay for it, then I was a bit suspicious when I got the confirmation that showed the old A-framed structure that I’ve passed for years since the ‘70s.
However, I was absolutely surprised at the high quality of the re-decorated room. The beds and multiple pillow choices (I used the feather pillow) made it a special treat, when so many hotels have one kind of overused flat or hard pillows. Not here. It was the best night of sleep I have had in days. I liked the décor, although others seem to call it dated, it isn’t. There are few hotels that I will walk barefoot on the carpet. I’m a germaphobic person. But this was so clean I felt like I was at home and walked barefoot.
The pool, though I did not use it, looked inviting, but since this stay was not planned, we had no swim ware. I liked the flaming torches at the pool, nice lighting and secluded. There were no bugs in the room or the bedding. There was a gym for working out, but I did not use that either.
My only complaint was that the water in the shower switched from hot to cold without warning, sort of like when someone flushes a toilet in a house, but other than that, it was so good that I will return. Quite frankly, I would recommend it and I would pay a higher price, since I know what I am getting next time.
Oh, others complain about the staff. I had no problem. A young man was on duty when I checked in, who went out of his way to locate a room on the top floor, since I am a light sleeper (and Priceline purchasers do not normally get choices like that), so I commend him for accommodating my request. The next morning, when I checked out, a young lady was on duty. All I found was politeness, so I don’t know where these people were who complained of a rude staff. Maybe this is a newly hired staff, but they were polite. That is my experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've worked at several Hotels here in PS...This property is about the same as ones I've worked in...Clean enough...nothing real special....no real amenities...Does have a coffee pot and mini frig...No Breakfast...OK swimming pool....Great place for the night...wouldn't recommend it to snowbirds or long term guests...Great for a quick weekend or a place to stay if your looking for a low-cost motel in a good location...

Room Tip: We are staying in a HC room....and it is better than many we have stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had to make last minute arrangements for a business trip to Palm Springs. I usually stay at another hotel when I visit but it was too expensive. I found a cost effective alternative at Caliente Tropics. What substantiates their 5 star rating is the high quality customer service, primarily provided by Caroline at the front desk. I also had a very pleasant interaction with Luz. Ultimately, I have found a new place to stay when I visit Palm Springs. Thank you Caroline and Luz for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We made a one night stay here with the kids. Great pool - bigger than average compared with the other places we stayed on this US trip. Nice room with comfy beds, big shower, fridge etc. A/C unit noisy and the bin truck came at the crack of dawn, but otherwise all quiet and good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredFII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed 1 night, therefore, harder to rate. We experienced a quiet clean room. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub with a nice drink in hand (not glass of course). Not really walking distance to downtown, but we had a car. Adequate parking included. No breakfast included. Overall, good hotel for the price! I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jviau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,766 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#30 of 73 in Palm Springs
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,262 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caliente Tropics Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caliente Tropics Resort

Property: Caliente Tropics Resort
Address: 411 E. Palm Canyon Dr., Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-2549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caliente Tropics Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Caliente Tropics Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caliente Tropics Hotel Palm Springs
Caliente Tropics Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing