We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideway”
Review of Los Arboles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Arboles Hotel
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hideway”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This lovely little hotel is a little away from the hubbub of palm Springs, but a nice walk or short drive to the action. It is small with cute rooms, great beds, and a delicious Mexican restaurant. Lovely gardens, swimming pool on site, good AC for the desert.

Room Tip: double check the availability of breakfast as sometimes it is not clear that it is available all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hi CS and thanks for the nice comments about Los Arboles. Much appreciated. Good timing on your question about breakfast at El Mirasol. We just revised our breakfast hours and they are now as follows: Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 8:00AM to 1:00PM. FYI, we serve both American and Mexican style breakfast.

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    52
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
101
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A nice place to stay! Cozy, clean, nice pool! Good service :) Russell at the front desk was very helpful. It's been wonderfully remodeled. New decor and the layout gives it a secluded feeling even though its a short walk to downtown.

Room Tip: Because fo the great layout, all the rooms seemed to be good. See Russell or Scott at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leomcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Spend 2 nights over Thanksgiving week with my eleven year old daughter at this hotel! We BOTH enjoyed the hotel. It was very clean and the rooms have everything to keep you comfortable! My duaghter liked that the pool (saltwater) was steps from our front door and we both had lots of fun. We also ordered "drinks" from the restaurant, which they brought to us at the pool which was very fun for her as well. It is small and many of their wonderful and competent employees do many tasks, so one needs to be patient. Everyone was very friendlly and accomdating. I neglected to ask about WiFi access, so I had to go back to the front desk to inquire, when I could not log on...but again, everyone was very helpful and kind and gave me the password. The staff help to make this a very special hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puresynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Great to hear you and your daughter both enjoyed your time at Los Arboles over the holiday. And thanks the great feedback about the staff. We are lucky to have such a great team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Went on a groupon deal that my wife brought and took our 2 kids with us. We got a room by the restaurant and main road, so the constant sounds of cars passing and people eating was disappointing and there seemed to be a lot of remodeling going on in the other rooms of the hotel.

Here are the pros and cons of our stay.

Pros: Very clean and nice hotel. The people working there are extremely nice and customer service oriented. And the restaurant was delicious. Our room was perfect looking and very inviting. My wife love it. It is so close to the downtown Palm Springs area and all the touristy spots that Palm Springs has to offer. Plus with the Groupon price, it was well worth the price to stay.

Cons: We arrived on weds after 6 pm and the front desk was closed. We were signed in by the waitress at the restaurant and she didn't quite know were our room was (she had the key and room number but didn't know where it was). So we had to wait a little as she tried to find out. The hotel states that there is a daily turndown of the rooms in the morning, this did not happen while we were there. I asked the waitress on Thursday night if there was a cleaning crew to give us some towels (as they did not come on Thursday morning after we left for the day), she said that there wasn't due to it being the offseason and that there should be someone on Friday morning to clean. I had to ask the front desk on Friday if they were going to clean up and give us some clean towels. They apologized and said that there should have been the cleaning service every morning. They came after 3 pm on Friday to take our dirty towels and give us clean ones. They were apologetic but this still bothered me a little.

There was a small single cup coffee machine in the room. Unfortunately they decided to buy hamilton beach coffee makers and they did not make a very good coffee. I discovered that you had to run the coffee machine twice with the same coffee pad, the first run from the pad would have to be dumped as it was just hot water with some hint of coffee (more like brown water) and the second run would give you a drinkable cup of coffee.

Overall, my wife and I were happy with our stay and I would certainly give it another chance.

Room Tip: Away from the restaurant and away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for the nice review and kind words about our staff ... we are lucky to have such great team. Our apologies for the housekeeping mix up ... and thanks again for the feedback. Its always great to hear from our guests and suggestions are always welcome. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I decided to escape to Palm Springs for the weekend and randomly chose to stay at Los Arboles. We were very happy with our choice because the hotel was very cute, clean, and the service was excellent. We got there a few hours early, but check in wasn't until 3 p.m. However, the desk person let us do an early check-in; which was very nice. The pool and the hot tub were open 24/7; which was literally 10 steps away from our door. The location of the hotel is great as well. Many things were within walking distance. The only downside- the walls are pretty thin. I heard our elderly neighbors waking up at 5 a.m. and having loud elderly couple conversations. Other than that, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilaloy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Vilaloy ... many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at Los Arboles. We've got a great group of employees and thank you for mentioning their good work. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I booked a stay for 2 nights but we love it so much we stayed an extra night. The hotel is small and very charming. The hotel is clean throughout and the rooms are kept spotless. Every staff member from checking in or anyone you encounter throughout the property is friendly and professional. They all make you feel at home. The food at the restaurant is good! We stayed in a room that has a sauna in it, we never used it but we love how spacious the room was. We especially loved the patio we had in the back of the room.

Just a few things I wish they had that are not a bad review it is just a wish list. I’d wish they had someone that would provide service at the pool for drinks and food, maybe they have it on weekends but I know during the week they do not. If you want drinks or food you have to go to the restaurant to get it.
Also they should have a way to contact staff during off hours in the event any issues arise in the property. The rooms do not have a phone and reception desk closes at 7PM I think, I can’t remember. During our last night there was a couple arguing outside our room in the early morning (about 1am or 2am) and luckily it seems they resolved their problems but I was concerned about problem escalating.
Other than that we LOVE THIS PLACE, we can wait to return!!!!

Room Tip: A room with the sauna is big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Many thanks for your very kind words about Los Arboles ... really appreciate it. Our apologies for the mix up about pool service schedule ... we offer poolside service (food and beverage) every day of the week and should have made than clear. Your comments were heard and everyone on the team is now on the same page about our poolside service schedule. Thanks for the constructive feedback and hope to see you back here in Palm Springs soon!

¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay and was pleasantly surprised. All rooms are single story in this small boutique hotel, and no matter what room, you were steps away from a heated pool and spa open 24/7. It was awesome being able to soak in the spa at 1am ;). Rooms were small but cozy and clean, beds were very comfy. The only thing i didnt like was the lack of an enclosed closet and ours was in the bathroom? Odd. No bathtub in our room, and no 24 hr front desk or maid service - but these were minor issues. El Mirasol restaurant on the hotel grounds had such good authentic food as other reviewers have said. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choobyrooesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosArbolesPS, Owner at Los Arboles Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Chooby ... thank you so much for your ringing endorsement of Los Arboles! The 1937 design of the hotel meant we had to do some "creative" room layout during the renovation/rebuild process. If you need a room with a bigger closet or an armoire for your next visit ... ask us at time of booking and we'll do our best to see you get one!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Palm Springs
Alcazar Palm Springs
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#30 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#19 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arboles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arboles Hotel

Property: Los Arboles Hotel
Address: 784 N Indian Canyon Dr, Enter on Via Altamira, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Arboles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arboles Hotel located in the heart of Palm Springs, walking distance to shopping, galleries, and entertainment...Come 'Discover Your Dreams with Us'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Los Arboles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing