We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills but great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Dallas Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“no frills but great experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

For a roadside stop overnight with no expectations this property fits every need. Clean and well operated and a great nights sleeep.

We were with our dog and she had no complaints. A very pet friendly establisthment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    73
    54
    13
    11
See reviews for
30
49
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alhambra, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Ok it's Motel 6 people. It isn't going to be a 5 star experience by any means. Once you come to terms with that then the stay will go much easier. Hotel is very easy to find, plenty of parking, right next to a Starbucks & Jack N the Box and the hotel staff was quick, friendly and accommodating.

I had read reviews before booking so I was already expecting some of the things we too experienced.
-Noisy from hotel guests talking loud while walking the corridors. But not to the point where we couldn't sleep.
-Room smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking
-Fixtures were worn but functioning
-Cleanliness was a definite miss for some parts of the room. The floor had clearly not been vacuumed, one of our towels was stained (and yes, they are small, thin and rough so be prepared!) and the blanket on one of the beds had a big red stain on it. We chose to believe it was bbq sauce or ketchup since any other thought gave us even more of the heebie jeebies lol!

Overall, it was a basic room that functioned just fine for our one night stay there. We didn't spend much time in it anyways, other than sleeping and getting ready in the morning. We didn't use the pool facilities but they certainly looked adequate and clean. There is vending and washing machines in a locked room by the lobby. You simply need your room key to get in. Snacks/drinks were expensive but aren't they always? And lastly, being a woman I needed a hair dryer. I had no idea they do not have them in the room. However, you can borrow one from the lobby by simply letting them hold on to your ID while you use it. Definitely a strange experience to have to walk down there with wet hair and hand over my ID like the dryer was worth it's weight in gold but hey, in the end it didn't kill me so I only mention it here to forewarn the gals :-)

Room Tip: I heard the hotel clerk tell the guests in front of me that room at the back of the hotel are much q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

good: location is close to downtown palm springs.
you can walk to decent restaurants and bars.
Staff working here are wonderful.

bad: ugly hotel
ugly rooms
nasty bedding
cable really didnt work in our room
INTERNET IS SLOOOOOWWW and you have to pay for it.
TOILETS HAVE NOT LIDS (MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE STAYING IN A PRISON CELL).
No fridge in room.
pool is tiny and crowded

This place really needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuckerwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

For a motel it was clean, spotlessly so. It's in a good location to Palm Springs downtown which is convenient to walk to, and food and amenities just a 1 minute walk (starbucks can be seen from the motel)

Pool side rooms were extremely quiet so would recommend one of these. The pool was clean and just the right amount of places to sit around it. TV including HBO which was good, only downside is wifi costs and isn't the greatest connection.

When we first arrived there was a few strange people lurking in reception but they soon vanished and soon it felt like we were one of the only ones there (but it was fully booked)

Recommended for a short, cheap trip to Palm Springs just remember to bring your own shampoos and conditioners etc as all you get is soap (but a towel at least)

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are quieter, also top floor has less noises from neighbouring rooms and floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smnthklly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mcmurray
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of times and took advantage of their pool (very nice on a hot day). The rooms are fine - we stayed in the back away from any possible street noise. Very handy to downtown.

Room Tip: No breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

I wasn't planning to stay in Palm Springs but had a day to kill at the last minute & was looking for a decent cheap place to stay. The location was wonderful, I was able to walk everywhere. For the price I didn't expect a nice heated pool & hot tub. The room was pretty basic & was about what I expected for a Motel 6 but it was clean & the bed was comfortable. The young man at the front desk could have been more friendly nut he got the job done. Over all I say great deal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We've stayed there a few times when we are the desert. Can be loud on the weekends with the 20 something group. Staff is friendly the and night guy is a riot. Nothing fancy but clean. Great location. We like it and we'll be back.

Room Tip: anywhere on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 73 in Palm Springs
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#63 of 73 in Palm Springs
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Palm Springs - Airport
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#69 of 73 in Palm Springs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Address: 660 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7440
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown Hotel Palm Springs
Motel Six Palm Springs
Palm Springs Motel 6
Palm Springs Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing