We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below minimalism”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Borrego Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“below minimalism”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just finished a one- nighter at Motel 6 in downtown Palm springs - because my funds were low and my AARP card pushed the rate even lower. Two positives - the bed was decent and I got an extra couple of bucks worth of bonus since it paid my Wi-Fi fee. Yeah - it isn't free.

But worth it? I am not sure. I arrived late in the afternoon and the room was hot and stuffy, even in February. Turned on the AC and went for a walk, but an hour later, still hot and stuffy. Later that night the desk clerk told me how to open the window for some fresh air. I'm not actually complaining here because I paid so little for the room, but there were barely any "amenities". No tissue, no lotion or shower gel, just teensy cheap soaps. Though there was a TV, there was no bedside clock. Though there were a few towels, only one thin, small towel was placed in the bathroom itself. No microwave, no fridge and only one chair at the flimsy table near the window. This was not one of the sparkling, newly remodeled Motel 6's that I have seen in other cities. It was shabby and pathetic. You really don't get what you don't pay for here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    73
    52
    11
    11
See reviews for
27
48
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First time @ this chain since weekend nights are out of the question at better hotels in P.S. Best deal around for weekend nights. I was very impressed with the cleanliness (almost sparkling!) room. The front desk even called me once I was settled in to ask if I needed anything & to call them if I do...that is unexpected for a budget motel. Of course the low prices attract "questionable" clientele, but if all you need is a place to sleep, this is it (I don't believe in paying exorbitant prices to sleep). The down side: No coffee in room & no coffee in front office "until 7 a.m." I was told when I asked. Hmm..fortunately there is an IHOP right down the street a block or two for those of us whom are up before 7 a.m. Pool & area looked clean although I didn't use it. For those on a budget, you can't beat Motel 6 downtown. I will definitely be back if in the area overnight.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheaptravelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is one of the better locations of the chain, and if you reserve in advance - you get good rates. MOST people find that they can't get other hotel reservations at the last moment, so they stop in here. This motel has higher last minute rates - but they are still lower than anything else the traveler can find and more comfortable than driving on. The décor is the same, but - given the location - more is spent on maintenance - so the place looks plain - but good. Free coffee in the morning. Good location for touring Palm Springs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

LOVE that they are pet friendly. A good Motel 6, clean and good value. Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. We appreciated the location as we were in town for one night only. And found it easy to find places for dinner and breakfast. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: A room near the back, away from the main road would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed at this Motel 6 a few times and will again. It's clean, very close to all the action downtown, and the staff is friendly. It's a Motel 6, so definitely not luxurious, but if you want to save on your stay in order to have more money to explore Palm Springs, this place will do.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had to stay here unexpectedly without a reservation last week. Luckily there were rooms and it was completely tolerable. I have stayed at higher priced options like the Travelodge in Cathedral City, which is a total dump. The prime factor for Motel 6 is location. You can walk to good restaurants and some basic shopping and the parking is free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viking94708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very clean hotel. No wifi unless you pay additional fee no breakfast offered. This hotel is good if you just need somewhere to lay your head. Other then that. There are no perks what so ever. My air conditioner leaked so I always had to leave a towel on the ground. Restroom only have hand soap no shampoo offered.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep and don't need any perks this is the place. Wifi is additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina7969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#62 of 73 in Palm Springs
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#39 of 73 in Palm Springs
747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Palm Springs - Airport
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#67 of 73 in Palm Springs
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Address: 660 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7440
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown Hotel Palm Springs
Motel Six Palm Springs
Palm Springs Motel 6
Palm Springs Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing