We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice retro motel”
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skylark Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice little moTel. Restored fifties motel with mid century modern furnishings. Pool and spa are clean and in the center of the units. Front and back doors are locked for security. Orange water by the pool and light breakfast. Rooms clean remodeled bathroom. Small shower and no hair dryer fridge, safe, tv etc. the bed was sort of hard
. People were very friendly and helpful. Lgbt friendly. Somewhat of a walk to the heart of old Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misspiggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Five friends and I stayed at the Skylark for 3 nights beginning February 14, 2014. We all are over 60, most of us retired college administrators, which is how we met several years ago as colleagues at a California community college. There are 7 of us (+ 3 spouses) who now live in 3 states and meet somewhere every few months. This time we chose the Skylark Hotel and were delighted with that selection. I often have heard the term "boutique" applied to older Palm Springs venues, but this is the first time I took advantage of the opportunity to stay at one. Wow! I live nearby in La Quinta so am very familiar with the city, but with this visit to the Skylark, I had a true Palm Springs experience reminiscent of the old Hollywood days. Every morning we opened our doors, took just a few steps to the poolside tables, and enjoyed our coffee while eating the treats provided in the gathering room. No walking a distance from the car, waiting for elevators, carrying luggage down long hallways, or hoping a table would be available in the restaurant. At the Skylark, the staff showed us to our rooms, insisted on carrying our bags, and expressed a desire to help in anyway possible. And, it was pure friendliness, part of the hotel's personality, not a quest for compensation - although in hindsight, that would have been a nice gesture on our part. That friendliness set the tone for the hotel experience and we were welcomed with smiles and warmth by the other guests, who represented a wide range of ages, men, women, straight, and gay. The rooms were super clean, and recently remodeled with the '50s style and ambiance retained. I highly recommend the Skylark Hotel. When my niece and her children arrive for spring break in 2 weeks, I am booking a few nights at the Skylark so they too may have a true Palm Springs experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged in a U shape surrounding the pool and spa. Two sides have two floors, one has on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCW946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Found this hotel on Expedia by chance. The Skylark makes you feel like you are staying at a friends house. Staff is wonderful and anything you need they find it for you. Only thing I would advise if you stay here is to request a room on the second floor since you do hear people above you.Would stay here again for sure!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisaopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My Partner and I stayed at the Skylark and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Our room was nicely furnished in a 50's style and was very clean and well made up. As importantly, the service was great and the staff was super friendly. The property was serene and quiet with just enough activity to feel alive. Living in Los Angeles, my Partner and I frequently visit Palm Springs and have always stayed at another hotel, they happen to be booked this time around and we ended up at the Skylark; yay. This will be our new hotel. Lastly, the Skylark is in a great location, near the main drag and shopping centers. I highly recommend. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayson_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a perfect place to stay in Palm Springs. We were there with family and friends and everyone commented on how enjoyable their stay was, from the comfort of the rooms, to the friendliness of the people to the ambience of the property.

The rooms are spacious, recently renovated and pleasantly decorated. All rooms essentially open up to heated pool and nice jacuzzi. I really enjoyed lounging by the pool, chatting with the other guests and enjoying the sun and peacefulness of it all. Staff is very friendly and accommodating and if you need something, they are on it. One of the best continental spreads I've seen at a hotel as well- fresh fruit, coffee, cereal and the like, and it is available until at least noon!

The proprietors of this establishment have done a great job here. This will be a place I stay again, during my next trip to Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room that has a room on top of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a wonderful time here. It was amazing that the pool and hot tub were just steps from our door, but when we closed the door it was perfectly quiet and comfortable in our rooms. The company of other guests was great ... everyone had about the same attitude of having fun after hours but not going crazy. Ron and the rest of the staff were so friendly and so happy to chat about the hotel or things to do. Really couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and a shame it wasn't for longer. I love the decor of this hotel, lovely and bright and very inviting. Good security, rooms are lovely, newly decorated and fabulous, very comfy big bed! Love the pool it was a nice temperature and the Jacuzzi was like a bath, open 24 hours. The staff are so nice, helpful and friendly, the complimentary breakfast was perfect and waters were given free of charge to us. Loved this place, totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#11 of 75 in Palm Springs
784 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.9 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
907 reviews
3 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#37 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Address: 1466 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4412
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: £113 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skylark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing