We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“much better!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Springs Tennis Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Springs Tennis Club
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“much better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

After a couple of visits plagued by noisy unruly guests, I can report that this year's visit was wonderful...quiet, drama-free and pleasant. The desk staff was polite, the housekeepers friendly and terrific, and the grounds well kept. Other than seeing one guest openly smoking (prohibited) the other guests were respectful of the property and other guests. As an owner for over 30 years I am glad to see that the management is doing a good job now.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful time dont book right by the family pool. Noisy most of the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiataMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    73
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
69
106
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 3 times in the past 6 years and absolutely love it! Bungalows are always clean and always well maintained. Housekeeping staff is always great and friendly and you see the same faces year after year.

Love the adult pool, but wish they had bar or wait service (they did the first time I visited years ago).

Can't wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really loved this place and will be back if possible. We stayed in a one bedroom, two bath suite with a full kitchen.

Specific things we liked:
1. The kitchen contained everything you need to prepare multiple food items, and included a coffee machine that could make an actual pot of coffee.
2. Suite was large and quiet and contained two flat screen televisions.
3. Property included 3 small to medium sized pools and a good sized gym with a large selection of equipment.
4. Excellent location, within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, and shops in nice downtown Palm Springs area. Also a short 5 to 10 minute drive to the Palm Springs airport.
5. Property and rooms are clean and well maintained. Area felt very safe.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for one week in a Bungalow facing Baristo Rd. At times the road was busy when sitting out on the very private deck. Once Spencer's and tennis courts closed at night there was no traffic. Room was a one bedroom unit, very nice, clean and well equipped kitchen. The Resort is old but well maintained. Very quiet and felt secure. The grounds are very nice and manicured. Three pools and three hot tubs, we used the quiet pool every day, it could of been a few degrees warmer. At times we had the pool to ourselves. We used the BBQ's almost every day, they were cleaned every morning. Cheap continental breakfast one day for $1.00. Free popcorn every day, free movie rental, and free laundry. Close walk to downtown. Free use of bicycles. Computers in lobby, and WiFi in rooms but very sporadic for 2-3 days as having problems with server. All staff, front desk, room service and gardeners all helpful and friendly. One of the nicer RCI resorts we have stayed at and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private deck, you may want a room closer to a certain pool, BBQ area, or not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TDA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Found this by accident at the last minute. We ended up in a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and two bathrooms. Rooms we're clean , newly refurbished and very comfortable. The apartment was large. There was also parking and laundry facilities available, the kids said the pool was warm too. We will be staying again when we return to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moosey_goosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was my wife's and my first trip to Palm Springs and we had no clue as to where to stay. As tennis players, we thought why not stay at a tennis club; but as it turned out we didn't get a chance to play. From the fine Spencer's Restaurant adjoined to the hotel, however, we were able to see other tennis players enjoying the well-maintained courts. The property has 63 rooms in the main hotel building tucked against the side of the mountain, and 63 rooms (bungalows) on the other side of the street. There are positives and negatives for choosing either. As of March, 2014, the "main" hotel side has refurbished and updated rooms while the bungalows are a bit dated, especially the sofa and accompanying chairs. The bathrooms also have shower faucets that leave something to be desired and take getting used to as the faucet handles are not "pull-out" handles as they should be for the bungalow showers. Also, on the bungalow side is the main swimming pool, while the reception desk, recreation room, lounges, TVs with the Tennis Channel, ping pong tables with poor nets and paddles, etc. etc. are on the mountain side. For those with ambulatory issues, the preferred choice might be the "main" building for proximity reasons, as well as going into and out of the "main" building requires going up and down a number of steps. We were told that the bungalows will be refurbished within a year or so, therefore the "dated" aspect of them currently may not be there in one or two years. Even with that caveat, however, we enjoyed our stay in one of the bungalows. What we found less than positive about the hotel was the poor quality of TV reception in ALL of the rooms (we understand they are trying to get a new contract with Time Warner but in the meantime the TV choices in the rooms is not up to par.) Overall, the quaint nature of the hotel with its photos of yesteryear we found enduring, and being within a ten minute walk to downtown was also a big plus. All in all, in hindsight we believe the PSTC was a good choice to have spent five days while we toured the area and attended the Indian Wells tennis tournament (about half an hour away.) If you can, being in Palm Springs on a Thursday evening is a worthwhile touristy experience, as dozens of vendors set up tents on the main street downtown to sell their wares and play music.

Room Tip: Room choice depends on what type of experience you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Tennis Club has been there "forever" and some aspects of the property are a bit tired. But the place is professionally run and the rooms and suites are clean and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite at a very reasonable price for high season. A great touch was that when we arrived (having checked in at about 9 p.m. CA time after a trip from the east), the table was set for dinner, with wine glasses and nicely displayed napkins fanned out from the glasses. When you walk in tired, with a loaf of bread, some cheese, a bottle of wine and your "thou", it is so nice to be greeted by that sight.

We did not play tennis, but we looked at the courts and the players. (I used to be a player.) The courts look to be in good shape, and there are plenty of players of what I would call the intermediate skill level.

If you want to stay in old Palm Springs for a few days, I recommend the tennis club highly.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite has a king bad and nice kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chescat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#16 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#15 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Springs Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Springs Tennis Club

Property: Palm Springs Tennis Club
Address: 701 West Baristo Road, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6325
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Springs Tennis Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular desert and mountain views, practice your tennis, relax by one of 3 swimming pools and spas or play a round of golf at any of the many nearby championship courses. At night, guests can take advantage of the wide variety of restaurants, including Spencer's on-site. The Tennis Club is ideally located within a short distance to art galleries, discount shopping outlets, casinos, theatres, and restaurants, and walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Springs Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Springs Tennis Club Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Tennis Hotel
Palm Springs Tennis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing