We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Remote comfortable gem in Morongo Valley - not...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Living Room & Seated bar Area
All Wildlife are sacred at the Rental House
The Hot Tub At Sunset
Front Entry
View you wake up to.
Front Gateway
Hot Tub at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sailorgir...
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Remote comfortable gem in Morongo Valley - not for faint of heart”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

As the previous reviewer said, you almost hate to write a review for this place as you know it will become even more popular...

This is a beautiful, quiet retreat for those who are comfortable with a bit of an effort to get and stay here and are happy with the tranquility of a remote location. The property is about 20 minutes away from Palm Springs and the closest town is actually Yucca Valley which has all the services you might need. The unit is a small house located next to a larger main home which is owned but not always lived in by the owner of the property. Ron updates homes for a living and you can see his work in this small, yet functional vacation property.

To get to the home, do NOT follow GPS directions - ask Ron for the "real" way to get to the home. It's down a rough-ish dirt road that while straight does have its share of small rocks, bumps and divots so you might feel a bit uncomfortable at first in your rental car. It's best to try arriving during daylight hours so you get a lay of the property before driving it at night. Surrounding homes/neighbors are ramshackle, mostly fenced in, many with "Beware of the Dog" signs. I rarely saw anyone during my 3 day stay. Because the property is located high up, abutting a ridge, there are spectacular views to be enjoyed morning and evening.

The home itself is very comfortable with a living area upstairs and sleeping area with a small reading nook and bathroom downstairs. Smartly the bedroom is below with a stone floor to keep it cool and comfortable. The kitchen is functional with everything you need to "self-cater" including fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc... The stove's burners don't really have a "low" setting but are fine for basic cooking. The views from the living room are to die for and you can also enjoy them from a hot tub located outside on the bedroom level (Ron cleans it out for every guest), or from the small patio (with a new-ish grill) on the other side. Wildlife abounds with birds of all varieties - hummingbirds, quail. Sitting outside with a cup of coffee in the morning to watch the sunrise on the hills or a glass of wine to watch the sunset were my favorite things to do here. Furnishings are very comfortable and Ron was very accommodating and gave detailed explanations on how everything worked. The front gate entry needs to be locked with a padlock coming and going but it's not a big deal once you've done it a few times.

This is a perfect place for a quiet weekend with a loved one, someone seeking a place of quiet for a retreat and anyone who likes photgraphing beautiful sunrise and sunsets. The location is less than a 30 minute drive from the attractions of Palm Springs, Desert Hot Springs and the Joshua Tree National Park. Also located nearby is the Morongo Canyon Nature reserve where bird enthusiasts from around the world come to see a wide variety of birds.

I took lots of sunrise and sunset photos but for the purposes of the review will only include pix. of the property itself. The website pix are very accurate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding views, comfortable bed, functional yet elegant
Liked least: Remoteness may be uncomfortable for some solo travelers
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VernonBir...
Dorval, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I hate writing glowing reviews. In the past I have written just a few glowing reviews and now I have difficulty booking them as they are so popular. Fair is fair though. I found this gem through tripadvisor in the first place.

Ron is a great owner and did his best to resolve my initial problems booking though flip key.
The house is located in a small town in the high desert and is secluded yet unsecluded. It is secluded enough to be far from the the maddening crowd yet close enough to surrounding properties to not feel nervous about your remoteness.
The property is clean, modern and equipped with all the necessities plus your own private hot tub with a view to die for. The property has 2 floors. The upper floor contains a fully equipped kitchenette, living and dining area and a picture window with a view that will just about blow your mind, particularly at sunset. The lower floor contains a bedroom and bathroom. The entire lower level has a stone floor and equally stunning views. The bed is comfortable.
Did I mention the wildlife? Lots of road runners and bunnies and birds.
Ron has done a great job of decorating the property and the grounds..
The property is only about 30 minutes from Palm Springs and 10 minutes from Yucca Valley where there is ample shopping. It is only about 30 minutes from one of the greatest national parks, Joshua Tree as well as a 10 minute drive from the Morongo Reserve.
I booked this property for 7 nights based solely on previous reviews. I wished that we had booked 30 nights.
The most unpleasant part of staying at this property was having to leave it.
We have stayed and reviewed many hotels over the past few years (check them). Many have been so called 4 and 5 star hotels. This property ranks with the best for reasons only those who have stayed here will understand. We are planning our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Diego
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alaska
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YMGL
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay - and since the property was double booked we were lucky to stay in the even larger main house. The house is perfectly situated - we loved seeing the moon set in the early morning and the sun rise and light up the hills. It was fun to see the hummingbirds come to the feeder and the road runners come right up to the patio. The location is great - very easy to get to Palm Springs and to Joshua Tree National Park.

It was rather cold out in December but the owner made sure we had plenty of heaters and set wood in the stove so we could easily light a fire. I was traveling with my adult son and my only small criticism is that there is only the one king bed - no other roll out or couch for a second person who is not a spouse or partner. The bed is big and we did share it with no issue but not my preference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace and fire wood provided
Liked least: only one king bed
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bert53
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique place in desert surrounding”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It is a nice two story place with a wonderful view near Yoshua Tree and Palm Spings. It is at the edge of the valley. Easy access towards the highway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet and still not isolated, friendly owner
Liked least: heat upstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing