We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Living Room & Seated bar Area
All Wildlife are sacred at the Rental House
The Hot Tub At Sunset
Front Entry
View you wake up to.
Front Gateway
Hot Tub at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Roslyn B
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to either spend time locally or explore further.
We focussed on the Joshua Tree National Park, but there is so much to see and Don, or just hang around the area.
The place is so charming, it's roomy, well equipped and very clean.
Ron was an excellent host and has set the place up for comfort.
Many thanks to his insight in making guests happy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
309Lynne
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful semi rural location...amazing”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfect place to get away, explore, relax and enjoy your surroundings.
Easy to get to Yucca Valley, Palm Desert, Palm Springs. Plenty to see and do....Pioneer Town quaint and interesting, If you go during the seasonal months May/October there are activities to watch/participate in.
Ron, your host provides all that you need, loved the hot tub, views of the Morongo valley and feeding the birds/rabbits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiffanysa...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Private, relaxing getaway- with a hot tub under the stars!”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were looking for a private getaway from the city, preferably with a view and a hot tub. And we got it! Ron was a kind and thoughtful host, making sure we had everything we needed before leaving us to enjoy our time at the rental. The guest house is two stories, with a comfy bed downstairs and a lovely sitting room upstairs. It is neat and clean, with most everything you could need. The view is outstanding (a huge picture window upstairs), but even better were the birdhouses and watering spots that brought all kinds of wildlife within close viewing range.
With lots of hiking opportunities and nearby shopping in Yucca Valley, it was the ideal getaway for us. Best of all, the hot tub overlooking the valley, with the stars above!
Thank you, Ron! Wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicnatell...
Ajax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway ”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I really enjoyed the majestic views and stargazing at night in the hot tub, as well as laying out on the lounge chairs enjoying the fire!! A true getaway with all the comforts. We enjoyed hiking Big Morongo Valley and Joshua Tree! Thank you Ron for your hospitality and thinking of all the needs of your guests!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaliAngel...
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend Get-a-Way!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We needed a weekend away from the chaos that is our home life. Two grands and their parents are currently staying with us. Wonderful.......but oh so exhausting. I digress.... :-)

Ron's place was very secluded and away from it all. Amazing views! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Drinks in the jacuzzi while watching the sunset, feeding the birds in the mornings. Short drive to downtown Palm Springs for dinner and a show.

When we need to run away again his place is definitely on our short list. Thanks Ron!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate E
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'm definitely staying here again!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The accommodations very comfortable and clean. The view from the guest house is stunning. The kitchen is fully equipped for making meals and storing food.
The location is great as you have easy access to Joshua Tree National Park and other natural areas. The property on which the guesthouse sits has its own wildlife from road runners to quail to hummingbirds.
The proprietor, Ron Morgan, is helpful and accommodating. He is also an outstanding naturalist, willing to share his knowledge about the plants and animals on the property and the surrounding areas.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home in the desert”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for 4 nights as a base for hiking in the San Bernardino mountains and Joshua Tree. Communication with Ron in advance was prompt and friendly, and upon check-in he gave me a thorough tour of the property, pointing out some short local hikes and various flowers.

The property was easy to find from the highway. The last mile is an unpaved road - it's bumpy but fine in any car as long as you take it slow. The house was in good condition, very comfortable and clean. Kitchen is small but has everything you might need, and there is a big grill outside for guests to use. The view of the mountains at sunrise and sunset is amazing.

Location is great if you're visiting Big Morongo, Joshua Tree, San Bernardino mountains or Idyllwild. I had a fantastic time and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No complaints.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing