We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Desert Sanctuary”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Living Room & Seated bar Area
All Wildlife are sacred at the Rental House
The Hot Tub At Sunset
Front Entry
View you wake up to.
Front Gateway
Hot Tub at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sundeevah
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Desert Sanctuary”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I hesitate to write this review only because I don’t want to share it with anyone but, Ron, the owner. Hahaha! I spent three blissful days in this parasdise, fully submerged in solitude and nature. I am quite grateful to every quail, jack rabbit, scrub jay, raven, humming bird etc. They helped me remember that whata simplest is what’s most important. This location is near so many trails including Joshua Tree. Ron knows literally everything there is to know about the area. He is a treasure. I cannot wait to go back, sit under the stars in the hot tub. This is on the short list of spiritual retreats for sure. Thanks again, Ron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdm66
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfection - Tranqual and amazing views”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Its difficult to review the Ranch without sounding over the top but it was perfection.

Ron showed us around and left us to ourselfs. He gave us some helpful tips about the area and what to do and see, and some of the history of the valley.

We loved the peace and quiet, the views, the spectacular sky at night, the wildlife, the hot tub, the sitting on the patio with a beer just enjoying our time there.

There is everything you need in terms of mod cons, local shops and Palm Springs only half an hours drive away. The house it self is lovely, well cared for and clean.

My one tip would be to make sure you follow Ron's directions to get to the Ranch, we didn't and had a very hairy adventure on some disused roads (totally our own fault!). Don't use the Sat Nav for the final bit it will take you on roads that are not accessable.

Overall we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend. Thank you Ron for sharing this gem. We hope to come back again soon!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic and quiet home in the desert”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second time staying here and was every bit as good as the first. Booking and communication in advance were easy. Ron gave me a friendly welcome on arrival and took me round the property to show me where everything was.

The house is great, with a massive window providing a picturesque view over the valley and a snow-capped Mount San Gorgonio in the distance. The kitchen is small but has everything you should need and there is a large grill outside which I made good use of. The bedroom was very nice, with cool slate floors and a comfortable bed. There are birds and animals all around so if you're a nature lover or photographer you're in for a treat.

The location is great too, just a few miles from Big Morongo and only 20-30 minutes from the North end of Joshua Tree NP. The place was really quiet, with the only sounds being the birds.

I highly recommend this place and hope to be back for a third time in the not-too-distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate E
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect human and wildlife-friendly desert retreat -- the best of both worlds.”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Comfortable, clean, and quiet are a few of the reasons I give this rental 5 stars for my second stay. In addition to outstanding accommodations, the wildlife right around the rental is amazing. Short drives get you to beautiful local, state, and national parks and wild lands that are absolutely beautiful. Sunrises and sunsets never disappoint. The proprietor is not only friendly and helpful, but knows the flora and fauna of the Mojave Desert. I hated to leave. So, yes, I'm returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Singular hideaway close to nature.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Located in the Morongo Valley, it is close to Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park. Quiet accommodation, plentiful wildlife, lovely views.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn B
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place to either spend time locally or explore further.
We focussed on the Joshua Tree National Park, but there is so much to see and Don, or just hang around the area.
The place is so charming, it's roomy, well equipped and very clean.
Ron was an excellent host and has set the place up for comfort.
Many thanks to his insight in making guests happy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
309Lynne
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful semi rural location...amazing”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfect place to get away, explore, relax and enjoy your surroundings.
Easy to get to Yucca Valley, Palm Desert, Palm Springs. Plenty to see and do....Pioneer Town quaint and interesting, If you go during the seasonal months May/October there are activities to watch/participate in.
Ron, your host provides all that you need, loved the hot tub, views of the Morongo valley and feeding the birds/rabbits.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;