We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison Hotel
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Our first trip to Palm Springs and we were lucky to find this spot. Richard and Cornelia welcomed us like long lost friends. Richard was always up early making guests cappuccinos and there was always fresh fruit, bagels and fresh coffee in the open air Kitchen area. One night Richard and Cornelia even barbequed everyone chicken burgers. Don't expect this all the time but once in a while they will surprise you with something different like a tray of sweet pastries on the kitchen counter...
Our next visit will definitely be here for the relaxing atmosphere created by our hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs by the pool but the rooms upstairs are just as nice if you want a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    50
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
520
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have been coming to Palm Springs annually for about 8 years and we have stayed in different properties every year. No more. This is our hotel for all future Palm Springs visits. The hotel is located about 2.5 miles from the center of downtown Palm Springs. Close enough for the downtown experience but far enough away from the noise and hustle.

As mentioned in previous reviews there is a shopping center within a five minute walk that includes a grocery store and several restuarants. We ate at Native Foods Cafe and Pho 531. Both had good food at reasonable prices.

Our room was just right. Tile floors, a sitting couch, comfortable bed. The room was clean and modern. Most of the rooms face easterly so the room is nice and cool in the heat of the desert afternoon.

The common areas include a heated swimming pool with lounge chairs, a hot tub, several tables with umbrellas, a breakfast nook for continental breakfasts, a fire pit to enjoy at night, and they offer free beer and wine in the evening. The breakfast coffee is good and strong and you might even have the pleasure of a daily cappucino.

Richare and Cornelia are great hosts. We will definitely return again, and again.

Thanks for a wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our first visit to Palm Springs and our stay at La Maison Hotel definitely ensures we will return, not only to Palm Springs but to La Maison! This small 12 room hotel is located literally minutes from the airport but...no airport noise, and their is a small shopping centre just across the street with several restaurants, Ralph's grocery, numerous banks and pretty much anything you might need within walking distance. The hosts/owners Richard and Cornelia are beyond hospitable. The rooms are clean and beautifully furnished and the beds are extremely comfortable. Morning cappuccinos prepared by Richard are delicious! We arrived about 2:00 in the afternoon, dropped off our bags and went for a late lunch at Giuseppes (just across the street from La Maison and has scrumptious pizza!!). We returned to the hotel around 4:00 p.m. to find several of the other hotel guests gathered around the fire, enjoying complimentary beverages (beer, wine, non-alcoholic drinks) and getting to know one another. It was a fabulous first evening! The hotel is very much like a bed a breakfast with a pool and hot tub. Great continental breakfast. Heard the barbecue grill was fantastic, although we didn't use it. If you are looking for a charming, peaceful place to relax and enjoy the Palm Springs sunshine La Maison Hotel is the place to go. We highly recommend it!

Thank you Richard and Cornelia for a very enjoyable stay and accommodating all of our needs!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLFischerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had a really lovely stay at La Maison. It is an extremely laid back, relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Richard and Cornelia are very friendly and welcoming and the little touches like free coffee, wine and beer are just lovely. Beds are very comfortable! Place is peaceful, what is not to like? I definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeanne249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Normally, I might wait a bit to write a review, but having come from the land of ice and snow to the dessert, I am feeling pretty mellow and thought that a cappuchino brought by our host Richard to my wife while she ate a healthy breakfast warranted a "most excellent dude" commentary.

La Maison is out of the hustle and bustle of Palm Springs about 2.5 miles (5 km) from the airport and downtown. It is a traditional 50's style motel kept up to date by Richard and Cornelia - two Canadian ex pats from Canada's lotus land - Salt Spring Island. Rooms have been modernised and are quite comfortable.

But it is the setting that really satisfies - most rooms are poolside. Hence, when it comes the statutory (for me and my wife anyway) 5:00 cocktail hour, it is an easy hop skip and jump to where you were lounging with drink in hand.

To whom would I recommend this? Well that is simple: to empty nest couples who want to get away to the peace and quiet. I would not recommend it if for young partiers but that is because I don't want to be near them. Families too would enjoy it.

If you are at all physically inclined, the bikes they offer will make a very satisfying mode of transportation for you coming and going to the commercial areas. Anyway enough, I should not be at a computer anyway: off to Joshua Tree National Monument for some clean California wilderness (with all the other tourists) who will be flocking there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as far as I can tell. Choose according to your need and budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetoeatandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

If it wasn't for the large outdoor pool, and the classic old school wrap around floor plan, you would think this was a Bread and Breakfast. The owners Richard and Cornelia are fantastic hosts, and it was quite a nice treat to discover both the end of day complimentary drinks and a nice light breakfast in the morning. In addition to coffee Richard will make an espresso drink to order. Their dog Murphy was very friendly and always willing to pay you a visit. The pool was fantastic - clean and clear with no real chlorine sting noticeable. I saw the new grill, and it is a doozy, but we did not get a chance to try it out. The room (#1) was spacious, and everything worked great. We were referred here by another highly rated TripAdvisor hotel that was full, and we were ever glad we were. Easy to get to from Hotel, and pretty easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. The way the property is enclosed gives you both an enhanced sense of safety and privacy. It was quite quiet at night, and despite being near one of the major roads peaceful during the day. Highly recommended, and very affordable.

Room Tip: Room #1 has the least people passing by traffic, but is located next to new grill (which I very much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

After numerous stays at larger, more self-contained properties on the eastern end of the Coachella Valley, my wife and I were looking for something completely different for our escape from cold, snowy, Minnesota. Intrigued by the idea of an intimate boutique hotel in Palm Springs proper and after extensive research, we chose La Maison. The only surprise at La Maison was that there were no surprises. Everything was exactly as advertised - only better. Our tile-floored room was spacious, clean, private, and beautifully furnished. Day and night, the pool and courtyard were simply stunning. The hands-on service provided by proprietors Richard and Cornelia was warm, thorough, and attentive to even the smallest detail. The location, and access to Palm Springs restaurants, recreation and culture was exactly what we were looking for. We will definitely return again and again to this jewel in the desert.

Room Tip: All first floor rooms are adjacent to the pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#13 of 73 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.8 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Property: La Maison Hotel
Address: 1600 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-9170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine you are in the south of France and treat yourself to a stay at the La Maison Hotel, Palm Springs' Mediterranean style boutique hotel. Wake up to our continental breakfast of lavender scones, croissants and espresso. Enjoy our imported luxury linen and king or queen feather beds with down duvets; it's the perfect setting for that romantic getaway weekend or an extended stay to relax and rejuvenate. All guest rooms at La Maison overlook the pool and lush gardens and feature flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. You will also appreciate the privacy of walled and gated grounds while you lounge by the large 40' heated swimming pool or soak in the hot Jacuzzi. Join us poolside for our complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Feel free to grill those steaks on our outdoor gas BBQ or go exploring on one of our cruiser bicycles. Ideally located in the wind-free area of Palm Springs near downtown's fine dining, casinos and all desert recreational activities, La Maison offers you the charm of southern France in the heart of Palm Springs. Soon to be an official Tesla/Electric Car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing