We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome friendly place”
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Hotel
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

many options staying in Palm Springs, but the owners of this property make staying here so perfect, there's no reason to consider elsewhere. Small property with nice pool and comfortable room. Special touches sharing food and beverage treats a nice thing. Greeted on entry like we were old friends, yet the simplicity of privacy as desired still there.

Room Tip: We were in room 8, but all the rooms seemed location perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryShoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

La Maison’s owners, Cornelia and Richard, are special people. They pay attention to all the details that make a place special—first and foremost providing unfailing attention to their guests. Richard prepared coffee for my early bird husband an hour or more before other guests were even awake

Half a block from a food store and three decent restaurants, La Maison is less than a 10 minute drive from the airport or downtown Palm Springs. We used La Maison bikes to go downtown along a traffic free route Richard suggested . Parking is free, so is wi-fi and we liked the bowl of mini-chocolates in our room. A woman traveling solo would feel safe here, with a locked entry door, onsite owners and a room lock. The owners know each guest by name and no one can just wander in.

From outside the high fence with its locked wooden door, you enter a courtyard with flower beds, a small hot tub, and a good size pool surrounded by inviting deck chairs with generous towels and pool side tables. With our double french door open to the patio it was like an extended living space. I used the table right outside our room for my netbook surfing.

To the left of the entry is the guest refreshment area, with ice maker, microwave, hot water and teas; this is where the continental breakfast is ready in the a.m. and beer and wine in the p.m. I affirm others’ positive reviews about Cornelia’s scones, the decent wines, and Richard’s lattes.

Two long time housekeepers are proactive in meeting housekeeping needs and keep the property clean and attractive. The pool area is well arranged, and immediately inviting. Also inviting is Murphy, the property dog. Calm and quiet, he is a friend to all, though if you choose not to engage him, he will not bother you.

With all the wonderful things about La Maison, why have I given a 4 star overall rating? The rooms. Built in the 1950’s, the rooms are small, our room lacking even a small table. The refrigerator was in the closet, and my husband hit his head on the top rail of the sliding doors on the tub. At 6’4” he had to duck to get his head under the shower head. If a big Marriott type room with lots of in- room amenities is important to you, La Maison may not be your choice.

That said, we are never in our room much beyond sleeping, and the room’s drawbacks were insignificant compared to the value we received at this hidden gem. La Maison is a great find and we are happy to recommend it to our friends who like boutique unique.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Charming with quality personalized services by its 2 owners. Bed and breakfast-like facility, very convenient for all activities. An oasis in Palm Springs. Coffee and pastry in a sunny environment....a home setting in the desert. Joe A

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbramsAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is a tricky review because I have mixed feelings on La Maison, so here goes:

If you are looking for a quiet, clean place to relax and have a friendly chat with the owners/other guests then you will love La Maison. The facilities are way below what you would get in a modern hotel but the character of the place more than made up for the lack of material facilities for me.

The things I thought could have been done better included: a rug on the bare tiled floor, new hair-driers, new shower/curtains. Having people walk past your door at all hours of the night and day is also a bit disturbing - but that is how a lot of hotels around Palm Springs are.

Le Maison worked for me and I would stay again, but if you are looking for all night parties, a gym, on-site restaurant etc. then you should be looking elsewhere.

A final note - the owners were amazing, so helpful and friendly - they really made my Palm Springs experience a great one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights at La Maison over the Christmas period in Palm Springs all at La Maison. We had a wonderful stay as the hotel is charming and very restful.

It is a small property with a nice pool and hot tub in the centre of the property with sufficient sun beds, tables and chairs to lounge about if people so wish. The rooms are big enough with wonderful bed linens and extremely comfortable. The property is kept very clean, gardens beautifully landscaped, well looked after and is located fairly close to downtown as well as numerous wonderful golf courses and hiking trails.

The owners, Richard and Cornelia are, as previous reviewers have said, excellent and great hosts, assisting us with restaurant recommendations, golf courses and any other queries. Richard was kind enough to tell us one of the local golf courses gave a discount to guests staying at La Maison and it was a fantastic recommendation with that Course (Indian Canyon GC) being a very lovely course to play on.

It was also great to return after a day of golf or shopping with beers and/or wine. As previously mentioned others, Cornelia's lavender scones for breakfast are delicious. By the end of our trip, we felt like we were staying with friends.

La Maison would suit those travellers who are keen outdoor people such as golfers (like ourselves) or hikers as they do not have the full facilities of the large hotels or fawning over-attentive staff. That is what makes it a most charming and relaxing place to stay.

Would we go back to La Maison? Like a shot - we even "forgot" to give the keys back when we checked out!

Richard and Cornelia, thanks for looking after us so well. We look forward to seeing you next time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just perfect, not much more can describe how this place feel, a vacation in its own, I didnt want to leave this place the rooms were amazing and the nightlife here was even better, I wish I could have stayed longer but Florida was calling me back, if your ever in Palm Springs this is the place to go

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Logan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I visited CA in November for a wedding in San Diego. Since we were traveling from the east coast we decided to make a vacation out of the trip and started in Palm Springs. We did our due diligence by checking for places to stay at Trip Advisor and other sites. The reviews were outstanding so we booked 2 nights at La Maison before heading to SD. Boy, were these reviews right on, we had a wonderful stay.
Upon arrival,we entered to a beautiful courtyard, swimming pool and hot tub and were warmly greeted by Cornelia, we later met Richard. Both were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and spotless – it reminded us of a small intimate inn. Coffee, pastry and fruit was provided each morning (great coffees). Beer and wine was served each evening. We had a totally relaxing and fun few days at a beautiful location - we didn't want to leave but we had the wedding to attend. After the wedding, we still had a few vacation days remaining and were going to explore California. BUT, we enjoyed our stay so much at La Maison that we went back!!
This is the first hotel review I have written, it took a great stay at a great location to motivate me to do so.

Room Tip: Loved room 5
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOSNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#18 of 73 in Palm Springs
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Address: 1600 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £141 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine you are in the south of France and treat yourself to a stay at the La Maison Hotel, Palm Springs' Mediterranean style boutique hotel. Wake up to our continental breakfast of lavender scones, croissants and espresso. Enjoy our imported luxury linen and king or queen feather beds with down duvets; it's the perfect setting for that romantic getaway weekend or an extended stay to relax and rejuvenate. All guest rooms at La Maison overlook the pool and lush gardens and feature flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. You will also appreciate the privacy of walled and gated grounds while you lounge by the large 40' heated swimming pool or soak in the hot Jacuzzi. Join us poolside for our complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Feel free to grill those steaks on our outdoor gas BBQ or go exploring on one of our cruiser bicycles. Ideally located in the wind-free area of Palm Springs near downtown's fine dining, casinos and all desert recreational activities, La Maison offers you the charm of southern France in the heart of Palm Springs. Soon to be an official Tesla/Electric Car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing