We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Palm Springs”
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

With rooms around $200 per night, this small Inn offers a good balance between value and style. The rooms open onto a courtyard and pool deck of saltillo tile surrounding a small but very nice swimming pool. Lounge chairs and towels are provided. La Maison offers an excellent small and cozy alternatives to large resort hotels at an attractive price.

Ask for one of the four upstairs rooms, but the ones around the pool are nice.

Regrettably, young (non teenage) children are not allowed, for safety reasons, as California law bans young children from staying near unfenced pools. (This is despite the owners having a young child themselves.)

Complimentary breakfast is to a high standard. The owners make great expresso drinks and bake wonderful scones. Popcorn, bagels and fruit are generally available.

The owners, Richard and Cornelia, are Canadians who operated a small and charming B&B on Salt Spring Island, before relocating to Palm Springs, as do so many Canadians.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Dane94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Fantastic place to stay! The hosts are warm and generous, yet allowed us to feel completely at home and relaxed just quietly enjoying the very clean pool and hot tub just steps from our room. The bed was comfy, and the room was sparkling clean. We also appreciated complimentary wine and beer (and popcorn!) each afternoon.Leaving the Iowa winter behind and enjoying the wonderful climate of Palm Springs make it *almost* tolerable getting back to subzero weather! How could our week at La Maison go by so quickly? Thanks again, Richard and Cornelia...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sketch_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

First off we would like to congratulate Richard and Cornelia on being ranked #1 of the top 25 small hotels in the US, this ranking is very well deserved, we just stayed at the Hotel for the third time and each time they have made improvements to the Hotel, each time we stay we are made to feel very welcomed and like we have come home. Richard and Cornelia take the time every day to make sure everyone has everything they need as well as making sure the property is kept spotless.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were here Feb 2013 & enjoyed it so much, there were no 2nd thoughts about where to stay this year. We were in #12 upstairs this time which we found to be quiet & roomy. As others have commented, it is easy to feel like you are with friends not just folks staying at the same place. In addition to breakfast items, one day there were homemade tamales around lunch time. Yum! Always the beer, wine & snacks for 'happy hour', too. There are restaurants within walking distance which is nice when you don't feel like driving. Love the jacuzzi & warm pool. Richard & Cornelia really are great hosts.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wherenext066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel has the quaint feeling of a B&B but the efficiency of a five-star hotel! The owners make every effort to accommodate your needs and have such a warm friendliness that makes you feel welcomed. We stayed here with friends and we all had the same wonderful experience. We were treated to lovely morning meals and even a BBQ one night. It is evident how much love these owners put into this hotel. Richard and Cornelia made recommendations on restaurants and activities in the area, and shared wonderful stories of their experiences. They could not have made us feel more welcomed! The rooms were very inviting...right down to the chocolate squares that greet you. Since this hotel is under new management (just two years), improvements are always being made and these owners seem to have a great vision for this lovely place. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and inviting place to spend some time. Thanks...Great job, Richard and Cornelia!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the common area where breakfast is served probably would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple stayed here for 3 nights. What an utter delight! From the moment we entered the beautiful courtyard, we felt welcome. The owners, Richard and Cornelia, did everything to make our stay comfortable, fun and relaxing....arranging a golf outing, recommending great restaurants nearby and surprising us with an amazing BBQ dinner. There was also plenty of complimentary wine, beer, soda, water and popcorn provided all day, as well as breakfast with Cornelia's homemade lavender scones! Yummy! While there's no restaurant or fitness center, it mattered little. Lots of tables in the courtyard, where there was a pool and jacuzzi where you get some exercise, and allowed guests to meet, mingle and talk in the morning and well into the evening. This more of a B&B than a hotel. By the time we departed we felt like we were leaving home and sad to be saying goodbye to the new friends we had met. We will definitely return when we're back in the area. Put this place on the top of your bucket list! Don't miss this very special little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

La Maison is truly exquisite and amazing! Our extended family of six - my husband and I, our two well-behaved teenagers, and my in-laws - visited Palm Springs between Christmas and New Year. Rooms 2, 7, and 8 were beautifully decorated and very, very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the linens were of high quality. There were even chocolates in the rooms, and a lavender sachet which was heavenly! The property is very well maintained, and exudes a serenity that cannot be found in a cookie-cutter chain hotel, or very large property. Richard and Cornelia are warm, gracious, and oh so accommodating. Both of them helped us plan our daily activities and recommended some wonderful restaurants. Murphy the dog was a hit with our entire family; he is mild mannered and friendly. Do take Richard up on his amazing cappucinos - he is definitely a baristo extraordinaire! And Cornelia's legendary lavender scones are to die for! We indulged in warm, freshly baked, chocolate chip cookies in the early afternoon and wine, beer and popcorn galore in the late afternoon, while enjoying the very comfortable courtyard. My husband and son enjoyed the heated pool. I had the opportunity to stay at the very pricey but not so friendly La Quinta Resort a few years back.. My experience at La Maison was far superior, and I will definitely return. If you want to relax in beautiful surroundings, and feel as if you are at home, La Maison is the place for you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#20 of 74 in Palm Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,287 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Address: 1600 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9170
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £184 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine you are in the south of France and treat yourself to a stay at the La Maison Hotel, Palm Springs' Mediterranean style boutique hotel. Wake up to our continental breakfast of lavender scones, croissants and espresso. Enjoy our imported luxury linen and king or queen feather beds with down duvets; it's the perfect setting for that romantic getaway weekend or an extended stay to relax and rejuvenate. All guest rooms at La Maison overlook the pool and lush gardens and feature flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. You will also appreciate the privacy of walled and gated grounds while you lounge by the large 40' heated swimming pool or soak in the hot Jacuzzi. Join us poolside for our complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Feel free to grill those steaks on our outdoor gas BBQ or go exploring on one of our cruiser bicycles. Ideally located in the wind-free area of Palm Springs near downtown's fine dining, casinos and all desert recreational activities, La Maison offers you the charm of southern France in the heart of Palm Springs. Soon to be an official Tesla/Electric Car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing