We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!”
Review of La Maison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison Hotel
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
AK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived on a Friday for a two night stay. Upon arrival, you park just off the road and enter the property by walking through a locked gate (a phone is there for you to ring the owner to let you in). We were greeted by Cornelia (she and her husband are the owners). She showed us to our room, which was upstairs. She gave us the key to the room, as well as a key to the gate and informed us of breakfast etc.

Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. We had a king sized bed. Nice linens and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was good size with sliding glass shower door and L'Occitane toiletry products.

Pool area was nice and very well kept. Towels and lounge chairs aplenty. The plants, shrubs and greenery are well maintained and the hummingbirds are frequent visitors.

Breakfast is casual with cut fruit, yogurt, bagels, packets of oatmeal, pastries etc. One morning, Cornelia served her homemade lemon scones, which were delish!

You could help yourself to beer and wine near the pool in the evenings, which was a lovely touch. I enjoyed a glass of wine in a comfy chair near the pool both nights. Always a glass container of ice water kept out for guests to enjoy.

There were bicycles there for guests to use. We didnt use them, but will next time!

I loved the whole experience. Its a quiet, comfortable property. You can tell the owners have paid attention to detail, and have gone above and beyond to make this a very relaxing and pleasurable place to stay in Palm Springs! I will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    50
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
514
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loved everything about this quaint little hotel. Saw it online and called to book it. Cornelia could not have been nicer. Booked room 3 and it was great. She told us to come as soon as we landed and even if the room was not ready we could drop our luggage off. The room was ready. Room was big and I loved that it had a ceiling fan over the bed. Air conditioner worked great to cool the room but I love a ceiling fan. The bathroom was big and yes it needs an update but it was clean. Plans are in the works for an update. The fridge was big enough for wine and beer and water. Loved the heated pool and we never had to wait for a lounge chair. Breakfast was great. Bagels, cream cheese, fresh fruit (loved the grapefruit), coffee (Richard will make you a latte), baking, oatmeal and yogurt. They always had ice cold water and glasses by the pool. Wine (red and white) at 5pm. There was also a cooler with cold beer and pop. The grounds are so nice and we saw lots of hummingbirds. They give you a key to the front gate and your room. We never felt the need to lock our room when we were by the pool. I don't think anybody did. Richard and Cornelia could not have been nicer. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. We look forward to staying here again. Kinda don't want to tell anybody about this place because we always want it to be available for us but we really want them to be successful. Would be a long walk to downtown but you can borrow the bikes and ride there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We came to La Maison after spending time in Santa Monica at a large, expensive national hotel brand. Our experience couldn't have been any more different in comparison -- La Maison was a fantastic, quiet, romantic gem.

The owners have certainly figured out the B&B concept - friendly, quaint, clean and quiet. Richard and Cornelia were very pleasant and welcoming.

The rooms were exactly as they looked online, and spacious for any couple. The facilities were clean and the pool, though small, was perfectly relaxing. Breakfast was homemade and delicious.

We really have great things to say about this place. As someone who travels quite a bit, this was a pleasant surprise and a great value. I would highly recommend this place to couples staying in the Palm Springs area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderfully relaxing 3 nights at the La Maison. Richard and Cornelia are delightful. You are made to feel very welcome but never intruded on. Our room (and the entire residence) was neat and clean. We were poolside most of the day and refreshments were always available. The extra 'bar' sink/mirror in our room made getting ready so much easier when we were going out for the evening (hair fixing :-)...we weren't in each others way! I know that doesn't sound like a big deal but it was a pleasant extra convenience! Though there was a wonderful continental breakfast available daily we enjoyed walking to breakfast (several breakfast places within walking distance) and then taking a walk through the neighborhood. The bed was also very comfortable. Highly recommend this lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

La Maison is a small 13 room B&B conveniently located in a residential section of Palm Springs off East Palm Canyon Drive. The owners, Cornelia & Richard, did a wonderful job renovating the entire hotel in Mediterranean style. It's quiet and intimate. Upon arrival you are greeted at the locked gate, given a key and shown to your room. There is a nice pool with umbrellas, large chaise lounges decked out with terry towel covers and beach towels. On either side are stone fountains, small tables and chairs and enough greenery to make you feel like you are in an oasis. The rooms face into the courtyard pool area. I understand the decor is different in each room. Mine, #8, had a gorgeous 4-poster wood queen bed, 2 comfy chairs with reading light and side table, a lovely armoire with TV & mini frig. The room was spotless and well appointed with 2 bathrobes, small L'Occitane bath amenities & plenty of towels. Contrary to another review there was a wall aircon unit that worked very well. The only thing missing was a hair dryer. In the morning they put out delicious pastries, yogurt, fruit and coffee. Richard made me a double espresso with steamed milk at 6:30am. So good! Enough parking for guests only. The best part is the unobtrusive but personal attention of the owners. There are several good restaurants down Palm Canyon Drive. Try Cheeky's , skip Elmer's.

Room Tip: You can hear people above you so choose the second floor if you are a light sleeper. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vixter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband surprised me with a trip to Palm Springs to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We are from Canada, and we both needed a respite from our long, cold winter and spring. While searching for a place for us to stay, he found this amazing place, La Maison. I can't say enough good things about it. We stayed for 5 nites and we could easily have stayed longer. Cornelia and Richard are an amazing host and hostess who make sure that everyone's stay is perfect. Our room was spotless and we enjoyed interacting with the other guests, many from as far away as the UK. Lazing around the pool, with cold beer, water and pop, in Richard's cooler close at hand, only served to add to the wonderful, relaxing experience. He is only too happy to make you a cappuccino in the morning to go with the yummy cakes, scones or mini cinnamon buns, or in my case, 2 cappuccinos! Cornelia is lovely, wanting her guests to want for nothing while enjoying their stay, and will do anything to make sure that her guests enjoy themselves. La Maison is so private and quiet that one feels like they are in a different world. It was hard to say good-bye when it came time to leave but what made it easier was knowing that my husband will be booking our stay at La Maison again next year to celebrate another anniversary! Thank-you for a fabulous stay Cornelia and Richard! See you again soon. Linda

Room Tip: We stayed in # 10 and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icapem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We could only get one night here and I'm not surprised it's getting impossible to get in. Service outstanding peaceful quiet and after a day there you feel like your rested, so much so that on out US trip we are doubling back to have 2 more nights there. Private parking fresh cakes for breakfast private entry. Thank you for our great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#16 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel

Property: La Maison Hotel
Address: 1600 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-9170
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine you are in the south of France and treat yourself to a stay at the La Maison Hotel, Palm Springs' Mediterranean style boutique hotel. Wake up to our continental breakfast of lavender scones, croissants and espresso. Enjoy our imported luxury linen and king or queen feather beds with down duvets; it's the perfect setting for that romantic getaway weekend or an extended stay to relax and rejuvenate. All guest rooms at La Maison overlook the pool and lush gardens and feature flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. You will also appreciate the privacy of walled and gated grounds while you lounge by the large 40' heated swimming pool or soak in the hot Jacuzzi. Join us poolside for our complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres. Feel free to grill those steaks on our outdoor gas BBQ or go exploring on one of our cruiser bicycles. Ideally located in the wind-free area of Palm Springs near downtown's fine dining, casinos and all desert recreational activities, La Maison offers you the charm of southern France in the heart of Palm Springs. Soon to be an official Tesla/Electric Car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing