We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tortuga del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tortuga del Sol
grand haven michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We only spent a weekend here but it was a very nice stay.The owners greeted us upon arrival and showed us around. The rooms were clean and the hotel common areas were nice. A great pool and hot tub as well.
the bathroom could have used a little update as it was a bit dated but I think the owners are doing them as time and money permits.
Rick and Rob the owners are great hosts and were a lot of fun at the Halloween party they put on.
the value was great and would defiantly return.
we really enjoyed are stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
33
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed one night at the Tortuga Del Sol. Check in with Rob was very easy and we were given the best room in the resort at a reduced rate because it was Tuesday and there was only one other guest. I am sure the place is packed on the weekend. Our room was clean and in good repair, but dated. It wasn't modern or fabulous, but it was clean and a great value. The property has a nice pool with beautiful views of the mountains and there is a gas grill, which we took advantage of. Overall, if you are looking for a basic gay hotel I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UpTwnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I spent 5 nights at Tortuga Del Sol, and was very pleased with my experience. Although the place is not super fancy, it's quite pleasant, clean and comfortable, and I loved the bed in my room. The pool and spa area are quite nice and well maintained. Plus the place is a good bargain.
Ric and Rob, the owners, were good hosts. Things were a bit slow when I came (late September ), so I didn't meet many other people there, but it was the off season . The continental breakfast they serve is nothing special, but it's okay to start your day. You can walk to the downtown area from here, but it is a bit of a hike. Another plus is that they have a decent DVD library and it was also nice to have a little fridge in my room. I understand some of the rooms have full kitchens. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very quiet and back from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdf1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just finished our third stay at Tortuga. Over the last 8 years this has been our choice for Palm Springs accommodations serving the gay community. The vibe feels right to us. It's friendly and relaxed with nice hosts (Rob and Ric). We usually prefer the larger Hacienda room category with full kitchen. Housekeeping is exceptional and the grounds are well maintained. King bed with pillow top mattress was very comfortable. Air conditioning is individually controlled and keeps the main room cool but doesn't reach the kitchen. The pool and spa are available 24 hours a day. We usually stay here in August (great off season rates) and it's always been quiet. The only issue we had was with WiFi - sometimes there was no connection. There is a free guest terminal in the lobby that is wired and available during office hours. I'm giving them an extra star because we always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kauai-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed here numerous times over the past 8 years and Ric and Rob are probably the best resort owners we've met. The place is gorgeous and well maintained. The pool area is spotless and continuously cleaned as is the Hot Tub.

Continental breakfast is OK considering the limitations they are given. The other guests are always so friendly that we usually do our own BBQ with everyone where we all pitch in $5 and make Burgers or Chicken and the owners join us... you can tell they enjoy running this place after all these years.

The rooms are decent and very clean. They go the extra mile. Older clientele usually stays here and this is not a slutty day pass place, so if that is what you are looking for, there are other options in Palm Springs for that.

Only small minus is that they don't have a fitness center but had no problem finding a place to go.

If you want a friendly place, look no further.
We will be back again... and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xwiseguyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

The owners are super friendly reminds me more of a bed and breakfast with personalized attention. Great place to relax and soak in the sun. Resort is super clean and well maintained. Location is great. I've stayed at many resorts in Palm Springs and this has to be one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The garden is very relaxing, the swimming pool is spot clean and nice, rooms have everything a traveler need to enjoy vacations.

The owners are a kind and very friendly guys, they have a really friendly attitude to customers

the patio with the oranges trees are very inviting place to hang out and relax.

very clean and gay friendly reasort. it feel more like home away from home rather an commercial brand hotel where you are just a customer and nothing else. like be between family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Residenza San Lorenzo
Residenza San Lorenzo
#23 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#9 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warm Sands Villas
Warm Sands Villas
#16 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#10 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga del Sol

Property: Tortuga del Sol
Address: 715 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8109
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tortuga Del Sol Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing