We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total relaxation”
Review of Tortuga del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tortuga del Sol
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Another great relaxing visit, Ric & Rob are great hosts. Rooms are always kept clean, a great place to kick back and relax. Pool & spa are clean and kept at a comfortable temperature and poolside misters provide additional comfort from the hot desert sun. You can't help but feel comfortable in these surroundings. Tortuga is located on a quiet street not far from the downtown district. I've been a repeat customer for several years, and the owners take great pride in the upkeep of their property. Stay at Tortuga on your next visit to Palm Springs, you'll not regret it, plus you'll leave with a relaxed sensation. CARL

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KustmCruzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

Palm Springs has a lot of gay hotels to choose from and each is unique. Tortuga is our favorite. Rick and Rob are the ultimate hosts and ensure to every detail.

The pool is wonderful and you are sure to meet new friends as you lounge about.

We also like the fact that thy have a pet friendly room, with a kitchen and continue to bring our puppies with us each year.

We've stayed in many Warm Sands and Palm Springs hotels. This is our favorite.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Summary: Friendly, good location, well maintained, warm & inviting hosts, good price, kitchen in each room, comfortable bed, nice pool & hot tub, nicely landscaped, continental breakfast each morning, turtles & tortoises.

The TdS, is located at the south end of the downtown commercial area (restaurants & shopping) of Palm Springs. The resort was built in the 60’s (if my sun-saturated brain correctly recalls). It has about 12 rooms, mostly surrounding the central court yard where the pool and seating areas are located. There are a couple of rooms in the back for those who seek quiet. Décor is turtles, sun, and desert. Each room has a kitchen, which includes a refrigerator, microwave, stove, sink, and utensils. The rooms are comfortable but not ultra-modern, we had a pink bath tub – retro and fun.

The pool area is well landscaped with plenty of lounge chairs. This It is clothing-optional and there were a mix of clothing levels. TdS is a great place to relax and is not a cruisy resort. TdS is great for couples, singles, and groups who want a hospitable and convivial resort destination.

The owners, Rick & Rob are friendly and take the time to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They know the area well and can direct you to most any where you need to go. They even let me pick a grapefruit off their tree. We found the guests, like the owners, to be friendly. Ages ranged from 20’s-60’s. TdS is the type of resort where you can read quietly by pool in the morning and then go out to dinner with other guests.

I highly recommend the TdS and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobm128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I've never stayed at a Clothing Optional resort before, so had no real pre-conceptions. The hosts (Rick & Robert) made my friend, Bob, and I feel at home from the moment they buzzed us in the gate. The facility is perfect for the kind of relaxing weekend I was looking for. The room was ok, but the entire courtyard area was exceptional. It truly was like a HUGE living room - only it smelled like flowers and the water features added an appealing soundtrack. I'll definitely go back and stay with these kind gentlemen.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiggrJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My partner and I went to Palm Springs over the Easter weekend and attended the white party. Being a bit older than many of the WP attendees, we choose to stay a little away from the center of everything at Tortuga del Sol. It is not brand new, but everything was impeccably clean, the room seemed freshly painted, the bed was extremely comfortable. We had wonderful conversations with the other guests, the pool and hot tub were clean and fresh, the attitude very relaxing and the hosts were impeccable. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim_from_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

This is a nice small hotel convenient to Warm Sands area... within walking distance of the Tool Shed. We had a Pueblo suite, which was roomy with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was functional but a bit outdated. The pool area was large, had nice lounges, and had a nice spa. The hosts are very welcoming and made us feel at home. I've stayed at other gay resorts in PS and not enjoyed them as much as this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gpmansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

My new puppy Charlie, partner and I just got back from a quick getaway to Tortuga del Sol. I have to say without reservation that if you are looking for a quick fix to let go of all the stress in your life... this is your place.

We are quite conservative and had some reservations with the clothing optional... but not one person including Ron and Rick made us feel awkward about wearing clothes.

In fact LOT's of the guest's sat naked poolside, but this felt more like a personal option than the rule of law. This is only one of the reasons we'll go back. It felt more like a gathering of people who wanted to REALLY relax, rather that a bathhouse with sun. There was absolutely NO pretense, NO embarrassment, NO worries.

The absolute charm of the place is that it's NOT corporate or perfect. Ron and Rick escaped their corporate lives, found a property and completely turned it into a GREAT welcoming place to be. After all the American dream of owning your own piece of dream is what we're all after.

For the record: We are not friends of the owner, we do not want anything free and wish nothing but the best for anyone traveling to palm springs. Read all you can about other places and go with what you want in a resort.

However... if you want to feel welcomed, cared for, and TRULY relax this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jaw4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.1 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#9 of 41 in Palm Springs
205 reviews
0 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#5 of 41 in Palm Springs
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga del Sol

Address: 715 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8109
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: £71 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tortuga Del Sol Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing