We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Orbit In. Great location, great service, great atmosphere.”
Review of Orbit In

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orbit In
Ranked #2 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Stay at the Orbit In. Great location, great service, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at the Orbit In over the long Thanksgiving weekend. It was such a pleasant experience. Over the years, we have stayed at many hotels in the greater Palm Springs area and found that we much preferred this small inn over the larger resorts. The service here is great and rooms are really charming. The pool is great and the rooms are large, and if you book one of the rooms with a kitchen, you can even make your own dinner. There's a bar with snacks, beverages, and an evening happy hour. The location is very convenient to the main part of town, walking distance to lots of shopping and restaurants. We really enjoyed the '50s feel of the place. All around, a great choice for a nice Palm Springs stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFourTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
344
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed at the Orbit In for two nights and absolutely loved it. From the ubercool retro furniture, to the cocktails by the pool, to the lovely breakfast, everything was exactly as we expected, and more. Jade, the manager, was extremely professional and friendly and is a wealth of local knowledge about modernist architecture. We went to the Joshua Tree National Park this time but we'll definitely be back after perusing our Julius Shulman book on the local architecture. Can't wait until next time.

Ludovica & Massimo (Berkeley)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludivine011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Wonderful place for the single traveler. Nice cocktail hour friends, safe walk to Palm Canyon, bikes to borrow, salt water swim with Frank on the speakers poolside, delicious 6 am coffee (if you need it), pink bathtub and bossanova on the turn table, very special attention by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We've vacationed at the OrbitI In twice in 2 months, and my husband wants to go back in August. The rooms are COOL, the desert is hot, and the pool is cooled in the heat.

A great place for hiking in the desert (Joshua Tree, Taquitz Canyon, etc...), Mid-Century Modern shopping, basking in the sun.

The owners and staff are so friendly that you feel like you are with friends and family (not a hotel). The pool and bar area is so relaxing and quiet. A Fabulous Vibe. Comlimentary Breakfast and Happy Hour everyday with friends. Less than 5 min walk from the Main Drag of Palm Springs. We love the Orbit In!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taco553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I had our first weekend away from the kids and wanted to go somewhere quiet and relaxing, yet friendly and fun. We found it all here! Our room was directly in front of the pool, the owners and staff were friendly and helpful, and everything was included! Free beach cruiser bikes, breakfast and happy hour, as well as drinks and snacks by the pool? Unheard of! When we needed a recommendation for dinner, not only did they have ideas, but made us a reservation. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKstyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We only stayed for two nights and became fans. Everything from the service with a smile, the immaculate rooms and grounds to the secluded feel of the Hideaway, and the plush beds and linen made our stay perfect. The location was ideal, set between the desert mountains and about three blocks from the main drag of downtown Palm Springs. We parked our car and didn't use it until we drove home. We rode the complimentary cruisers to eat, shop and catch a flick. At night our favorite treat was dessert under the stars in front of the poolside fire pit. We were lucky enough to have the entire place to ourselves for two days. We highly recommend staying here for a reasonable price in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman64DeVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We picked the Orbit Inn because of the trip advisor reviews. We actually stayed at the Hideaway property on April 4th 2010 thru April 8th 2010 . What a treat, as you have read both places have that Palm Springs "cool" feel. Both properties are immaculate and very close to town. Upon our arrival, we parked the car and never drove again until we checked out. With plenty of bikes provided, walking distance to town and great hiking spots why drive? The rooms are very clean and spacious. After the day of exploring returning to the sparkiling pool was a great treat. A must do is the Orbitini hour. Those things are awesome. The orbitini hour is also a great time to get information on restaraunts, the night life, and sight seeing. Which are all very close. What I found most impressive was that Kevin and Jinny were so accomadating to the guests and frankly very generous. The views from both properties are amazing. We will be returning to the Hideaway! This place is a must stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
The Andalusian Court
The Andalusian Court
#3 of 23 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.5 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orbit In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orbit In

Property: Orbit In
Address: 562 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two acclaimed, intimate settings near the mountain in downtown Palm Springs. The restored mid-century modern realm inspires leisurely poolside bliss while friendly staff oversees diverse clientele who enjoy spectacular views and vintage tunes. Wake up to organic coffee and extensive continental breakfast then ride a cruiser bike, enjoy the saline pool and Jacuzzi, or surrender to personalized in-room massage before winding down with "Orbitinis" or wine at the Boomerang Bar. Free high-speed wireless internet too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orbit In Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing