We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in Palm Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alcazar Palm Springs
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Kept Secret in Palm Springs”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Perfect Boutique Experience. Great rooms,, quite, clean and comfortable mattress and quality sheets. Considering the price, this is a find of Palm Springs. Bikes are free and great complimentary coffee.
Bonus-attached to the best restaurants in town. Went to Cheeky's and Birba and never took the car once.
Will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    90
    43
    2
    7
See reviews for
37
212
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Alcazar for 1 week, the first week of March, and it was a very relaxing and gratifying experience. This was our 5th time staying here, back to when it was the PepperTree and we were not dissappointed. The rooms were exceptionly clean and the pool and grounds were immaculately manicured. Sandra and Alberto were very pleasant and professional at checkin and during our entire stay. They upgraded us to a beautiful room with a fireplace and private patio (room 40). There was plenty of space for both of us and it was nice to have the small fridge in the room. The room decor was a pleasant blend of modern and traditional and the beds were excellent. The only problem that we could mention was the lack of drawer space, an extra chest of drawers would have been nice as we were there for a week. We definately intend on staying there again next year. Sandra in particular was very helpful and looked after all of our questions and needs in the best possible manner.

Room Tip: Ask about your room location and ammenities. The staff will try to accommodate you in the best possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhambra, Ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I have been to this hotel many times in the last ten years (It was called Pepper Tree back then) and were very pleased with it..

The hotel now is renovated in an all white them and has been renamed "Alcazar" which means Spanish palace. The place has been upgraded and looks much more modern than before. The management makes you feel very comfortable and welcomes you with open arms. Cheekys and Birba are adjacent to the property and can provide you with all the meals and drinks you need so there is no reason to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: book early....sometimes it is sold out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrera2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Spent one night in a courtyard queen. ROOM WAS TINY -- barely could walk around the queen size bed. It was basic but comfortable and quiet -- I'm a light sleeper and didn't hear anything. However, the room didn't have ANY WINDOWS (room 11). When my neighbors checked out I peeked in and their room had a window. I like to sleep with fresh air and I couldn't unless I left the door open. Besides this minor issues, the hotel was a great find and reasonable even in the high season.

Also my daughter was the only child on property. It has a chill vibe not party central like other hotels in the area. I'd return primarily because of the price & location so close to my favorite breakfast spot... Cheeky's!!!

Room Tip: Take out the free bikes for a ride... a great way to see more of the city. MUST EAT nextdoor at Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Pros: very clean and beautifully maintained pool. Room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable.
Cons: you hear everything! I could tell you everytime the man in the next room sneezed. You could hear the pipes shake when someone flushed a toilet in another room. It was centrally located but very loud since it was between 2 main streets. And don't count on breakfast. There was one type of pastry offered.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We purchased the GroupOn. We called to book our stay-3 times. The first time we were told they had already booked up completely (WAIT WHAT-you over sold-it had only been 2 weeks since the we purchased?) the attendant was rude-REALLY RUDE, the second time I WAS put on hold for 17 mins and 44 secs--really? When I called back the attendant was rude and again (did not apologize for the long time on hold) and we were told they do not have any rooms available and we should just call and get a refund. Wow.

Epic Fail Alcazar....Epic Fail.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jared-Malia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I are officially starting to become Palm Springs regulars. Having planned our wedding here at the Ace Hotel last October, we made regular trips out from Los Angeles throughout the entire process. Now that it's all over, we're lucky to be in such close proximity to a town that holds so many wonderful memories.

While we will always love the Ace and stay there often, we love to explore interesting new properties, as well. I discovered the Alcazar through a great Groupon deal and couldn't have been more pleased with our visit this weekend.

We stayed in room 19, which we were told was an upgrade from the usual Groupon room guarantee. Must've been our lucky day, because the room had a full jacuzzi suite and private patio which were appreciated additional amenities. We usually travel with food and drink, so we loved that the room had a fridge to keep it all cold.

The bed was a huge highlight with its pillow-top mattress and goose down comforter. We slept like babies both nights listening to the high desert winds sweeping through the palms hanging over our Spanish tile-lined roof.

The close proximity to some of Palm Springs finest dining and nightlife is a huge reason to check out the Alcazar. Aside from the two wonderful restaurants connected to the hotel itself (Birba's for delicious thin-crust pizzas and artisanal cocktails and Cheeky's for brunch), you should also make it a point to enjoy the early bird prix-fix dinner at Trio across the street. $19 for a three course meal of this quality is unheard of elsewhere in town.

Service back at the Alcazar was friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything. We decided to use their bikes to ride to our spa appointment (included in the reasonable $7 per day resort fee) and they provided us with helmets and locks. The pool and hot tub are spacious and clean and the ambient music is low enough to settle in for an afternoon nap atop one of the many comfortable lounge chairs.

Simply cannot say enough about the Alcazar. We would return in a heartbeat and hope it stays around to welcome guests for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumrungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
0.9 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#44 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Palm Springs

Property: Alcazar Palm Springs
Address: 622 N Palm Canyon Dr, Entrance on Granvia Valmonte, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 this 34 room boutique hotel, formally known as the Pepper Tree Inn, has undergone an exquisite redesign. Modern & sleek, featuring imported Italian Linens, flat screen TV's, fireplaces, poolside patios and Mountain View's. This is the third addition to Birba and Cheeky's restaurant family - making the triangle complete. Current hotel amenities include Coffee/Espresso/Tea/Juice/pastries, Townie Bikes, Business center and wireless internet throughout. Adjoining property offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, cocktails and a hotel all in the heart of the super hip uptown design district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Alcazar Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing