We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Show and No Substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcazar Palm Springs
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“All Show and No Substance”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Alcazar is right in the centre of central Palm Springs, ideally located between the two major roads which run through the town. Which makes it in a ideal location to explore the town by either foot or bike, should you choose to make use of the bikes provided by the hotel.

We were using Palm Springs as a stop point between our drive from San Diego to Las Vegas so we only stayed for one night. The hotel has free self drive parking right at the hotel complex which is a plus and from the exterior it looks like an interesting property. The interior of the property matches it as well. It has been refurbished recently and and been decorated in cool white some quirky little artistic touches and oddities to look at in your room.

The small courtyard area is a nice place to have a drink and a chat, it is locked at night but its pointless as anyone can put a hand through the ornate ivy like door and open it from the other side! The other clientele appear to be pretty discreet people and quiet (although there was 2 children running around, they werent too noisy) The gardens are immaculately kept and the room and public areas are spotlessly clean.

While it does have its positives the rest don't match the rest. When I say refurbished, I should clarify that this means, paint, new desk, chair and TV. Our bathroom whilst completely functional was a little old fashioned. The room whilst not exactly small wasn't exactly large, considering it's boutique hotel aspirations. no bigger than any chain brand hotel like a Premier Inn (UK) or Holiday Inn Express (USA)

We were in room 14 and the walls must of been cardboard thin. We could hear vast amounts of our neighbours conversation and they probably could of ours. The coffee and pastries as offered in the morning was a few, very generic cheap pain au chocolat and some average coffee. I know it is at no extra cost and I'm not expecting freshly baked but at least a small selection of different pastries would have been sufficient, and a coffee worth drinking, it just made them look very cheap.

The receptionist at check in was pleasant enough but hardly charming and didn't explain that the reception was a separate building to the rooms until after we had left out of the wrong door. The different receptionist in the morning barely even looked up at check and her manner bordered on rude. For a country which usually has fantastic if a little over the top service, this was making it look very poor.

Now we come to the crux of the problem....For one night with no extras we paid just under $200 for the one night. I just don't think it is worth that. particularly when you look at what you get for it. a comparatively small room with ignorant service. Whilst it does have its good points I just don't think it matches it price. Close yet so far. I think it should stop trying to look like a getaway hotel for LA's 'cool types' and improve on some fundamentals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    92
    43
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
217
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Alcazar is truly a gem!! A boutique hotel that exceeded my expectations. The grounds were beautiful, elegant and perfectly maintained. A recently refurbished old hotel from the 20's that in many ways felt like a private residence. Thirty four rooms that were white, super clean and fresh. The location was also great as it is located in the uptown design district which offered shopping and a selection of very good restaurants (not to mention the 2 that are part of the hotel) all within walking distance. I met some nice people there. Couples, families et all. No screaming kids, and twenty somethings with high pitched voices in thong bikinis. Just a nice sophisticated group of people who were all beyond thrilled to be staying there. The Manager Robert is a pro. On the scene and there to help in any way he could. He made me feel like he was my private concierge and was very up to the minute on what to do in Palm Springs. Robert would even check in the following day to see how you enjoyed his suggestions. I would highly recommend the Alcazar and want to thank Robert and his assistant, Sandra for everything they did to make my visit so awesome!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay at the Alcazar. It is an older property that has been perfectly redone, inside and out. The landscaping is meticulously maintained, and very pretty. Charming patio with a water fall and firepit, and small pool and hot tub. The total effect is oh-so-lovely! The room was spacious and spotless, minimalist and modern in decor. Very simple with great beds and wonderful bedding, which I believe was ironed as the sheets were crisp! Espresso machine and croissants offered for breakfast, but I recommend going to the adjacent restaurant, Cheeky's, for breakfast or brunch. Location is in an area of Palm Canyon Road that has excellent vintage shopping. Also located nearby are outstanding mid-century neighborhoods and the hotel has bikes for exploring. Staff helpful and friendly. We had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is simply amazing! The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful - literally everyone who works there! The rooms are so comfortable, clean and modern while still being charming. The grounds are immaculate and the pool is incredible.
This was my first trip to Palm Springs and Alcazar truly contributed to my AMAZING time! Also, the location is perfect if you are not renting a car. You're surrounded by so much yet once you enter the gates of the hotel, it's pure leisure and relaxation. Tip: when you plan your trip, make a reservation for Birba....delicious!!!! Thank you to the entire staff at Alcazar...xo.
There is no fitness centre or room service but who cares! You can ride bikes and get take out from their restaurants, which are literally steps from the hotel. Plus, there are mini-fridges in the rooms which was so useful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenAnn604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

When entering the room we remarked a stale smell ... which would not go away (as we had the last room that night, no chance to change).
Besides, not everybody has the same humor, but we found the sign "gratuity" (see photo) in the room not particularly inviting and funny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MundoSimpatico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent Thanksgiving weekend here and had a wonderful stay. The property is quiet and well maintained. The rooms are very comfortable. The location is excellent, with many shops and restaurants within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a fantastic time. Two minor critiques - breakfast is sparse. Juice and fruit would go a long way. We woke up early to go hiking and the pastries were our only option for breakfast (cheekys hadn't opened yet). Also, the property is well maintained but out of date. Updating the bathrooms would really make The Alcazar a first class accommodation. But all in all a lovely stay - we will be returning!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to take a day trip out to Palm Springs for some relaxation. We were looking for a quaint boutique hotel close to everything in town, and that's exactly what we got. We had our own private patio and the bed was so comfortable. We came on a Monday so it was pretty quiet around town. Had the pool and hot tub all to ourselves after the sun went down. It was perfect. Thanks again. Staff was amazing, Robert the general manager is a sweet heart.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anybody who is passing through.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.9 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,909 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Palm Springs

Property: Alcazar Palm Springs
Address: 622 N Palm Canyon Dr, Entrance on Granvia Valmonte, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 this 34 room boutique hotel, formally known as the Pepper Tree Inn, has undergone an exquisite redesign. Modern & sleek, featuring imported Italian Linens, flat screen TV's, fireplaces, poolside patios and Mountain View's. This is the third addition to Birba and Cheeky's restaurant family - making the triangle complete. Current hotel amenities include Coffee/Espresso/Tea/Juice/pastries, Townie Bikes, Business center and wireless internet throughout. Adjoining property offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, cocktails and a hotel all in the heart of the super hip uptown design district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcazar Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing