We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alcazar Palm Springs
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the alcazar in July for a family celebration. The hotel is in a very convenient location and is walking distance from a lot of the attractions of downtown Palm Springs. The room was very large and the pool area was very nice. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baybear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    88
    43
    2
    7
See reviews for
35
205
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was the last stop, we made a roadtrip for 3 weeks, this was the ideal hotel for the last days because we just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun! Very clean nice modern hotel, good service! Also nice restaurant birba!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank An K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Alcazar Hotel is on the western end of Palm Springs-- far enough away from the downtown to offer some peace and quiet, but not too far to walk (assuming the weather cooperates). The hotel is very boutique with minimalist rooms and public facilities. Every inch was clean and welcoming. The hotel competes very favorably against many other high-end small boutique hotels. It's certainly worth taking a chance on this property.

I went in July so there were few guests. The upside of that choice was a very compelling price and a welcoming staff. If you're going off-season, I recommend a poolside room. I can't recommend those rooms in the high season however because I didn't have that experience, although they might be perfectly fine.

The only downside in July were the two restaurants on the property that were closed. That's understandable in the desert summer heat, but there were many nearby options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at the Alcazar. I read all the reviews and was pleased to find that the hotel was just as many other reviewers mentioned. The grounds are kept up well and the pool set up is cute and relaxed.

The good:
- Close to everything; including adjoining restaurants. Tried Cheeky's and thought it was good. The staff is REALLY on point and friendly!
- The pool had a very relaxed atmosphere. People on floaties, cool music, misters and string lights.
- Overall the hotel has a very charming, chic feeling to it.
- No kids, anywhere.

The bad:
- The a ir conditioning was really loud
- Walls were very thin. Heard our neighbors "playing monopoly" a few times during our trip.
- Beds are a bit on the hard side. Could feel the springs on my side.
- Our friends who were also staying there said their towels were dirty with yellow and brown colored stains. This of course made me question the cleanliness of our towels and bedding.

Overall I'm a picky traveler depending on what the trip is for. This trip was mainly for hanging out at the pool and local restaurants so the minor room defects weren't a deal breaker.

Also, our friends were moved after they checked-in due to an issue with the plumbing in their original room. They were moved to this awful, tiny room with the glass door as the only light. The manager said he'd comp them for the inconvenience so we'll see if that happens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at many different hotels in the desert and this is one of my favorites. Quaint old Palm Springs charm with beautiful meticulous grounds and pool area. Rooms were small and a little run down, but the hotel is old. Walking distance to Downtown Palm Springs in the cooler months, but a little far in the middle of summer. The attached restaurant and bar was lots of fun in the evening. Wished they didn't allow children.Can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little boutique hotel with great rooms around the beautifully set inner courtyard and pool. We loved the location. It's located in the middle of Palm Springs so you can reach all major shopping and dining places by walking. We definitely recommend this place if you look for some individual cozy place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Alcazar is charming, quaint, elegant, peaceful, serene, relaxing and fun just to a name a few qualities of this unique property.

Staff is wonderful, starting with the manager Robert and including the front desk staff Sandra,Casha, and Elsie. They are always eager and happy to help.

The two onsite restaurants are two of the best if not the best in town as well as the third restaurant across the street. As a matter of fact we only ate at one other place beside these three during our 3 night four day stay.

Rooms are spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. Ours had a walk in closet, private patio and bathroom window.

The Pool sparkles and the landscaping and view from it are breathtaking.

Alcazar is located in the best part of town and walkable to everything downtown.

We have found our go to spot in Palm Springs and no need to look elsewhere as Alcazar is everything we could need or want.

Room Tip: The rooms adjoining the street side can get noisy from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.3 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#13 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Palm Springs

Property: Alcazar Palm Springs
Address: 622 N Palm Canyon Dr, Entrance on Granvia Valmonte, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5523
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcazar Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 this 34 room boutique hotel, formally known as the Pepper Tree Inn, has undergone an exquisite redesign. Modern & sleek, featuring imported Italian Linens, flat screen TV's, fireplaces, poolside patios and Mountain View's. This is the third addition to Birba and Cheeky's restaurant family - making the triangle complete. Current hotel amenities include Morning fresh pastries from Cheeky's, Coffee/Espresso/Tea/Juice, Townie Bikes, Business center and wireless internet throughout. Adjoining property offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, cocktails and a hotel all in the heart of the super hip uptown design district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alcazar Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Palm Springs
Pepper Tree Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing