We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel for a great little getaway”
Review of Avanti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avanti Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great little hotel for a great little getaway”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My wife and I needed a getaway from the stresses of work and kids for a long weekend and came across the Avanti based on reviews. I must say that we were very happy with our three night stay.
Check in was easy and we received a brief tour from Bonnie. Complimentary snacks in the room, and water and sodas by the pool was a big plus. The room itself was very nice, wood floors, tiled bath, flat screen TV – all the amenities you would expect a modern hotel to have. The private patio out back was great, we enjoyed breakfast each morning out there. I do have to say that the wall A/C units were very loud. And although I can sleep through earthquakes, sirens you name it, I had a hard time sleeping here. The beds were nice enough, but maybe it was the combo of the extra loud A/C and super sheer curtains letting the sun in that did it. Not sure. Also would be nice if the TV were able to get HD channels. You have these nice 42 inch TVs playing basic cable taking up ½ of the screen. But we weren’t there to watch TV so no biggie.

The pool area is fantastic! Plenty of loungers with great custom towels on them. Plenty of areas for sun or shade and lots of fresh towels available. It isn’t the biggest pool in the world, but more than enough for a place with 11 rooms. My wife and I enjoyed the private spa area as well each night. Even though the hotel was booked, we were the only ones there each night.

Service was definitely top notch! If I had to nitpick, I would have liked to be a little closer to the action downtown. It is about a mile and half walk, which is rough in the summer. On the plus side, the street the hotel is on is very quiet – so you take the good with the bad.

I would highly recommend the Avanti! Thanks Jim and Bonnie!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    28
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
207
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avanti in early March and really enjoyed it. Location is great and quiet. The breakfast offers plenty of options and having water and other beverages available at the pool was a nice plus. We used the bikes one day and rode to the Albertson's for some groceries and walked into town for dinner. Jim and Bonnie were super and we looked forward to happy hour :) We missed not having our dog with us, so we enjoyed visits from Maya. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equuscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

MY Husband and I ended an 8 month drive across the USA with a very pleasant stay at the Avanti Hotel.. We most appreciated the thought they put into ensuring a pleasurable stay.. They had several free snacks in our room,along with water and robes. They had bikes and helmets available at no charge. A basket full of soft drinks and water was to poolside. Every evening they offered complementary margaritas, wine and beer. The owners are polite and friendly. We reluct tantly left to return to the real world.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Encinomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My GF and I, along with another couple just spent the weekend at The Avanti. We will definitely stay there again. Jim and Bonnie are most accommodating, the place is clean and secure (being on the end of a cul-de-sac just off one of the main drags) and just generally has a great vibe. The units surround the pool and access to the facility is locked at all times. Beds are super comfy and access to pool and hot tub is 24/7. Happy Hour every evening between 5-6pm, just hanging by the pool and sipping a lovely adult beverage. Did I mention no kids!!?? At all times, there is an ice chest of bottled water, various cold teas and other beverages available as part of the amenities. Decent selection for the continental breakfast and lots to do in the surrounding area. Only real downside is it's not very close walking distance to downtown but we felt this minor inconvenience was more than offset by the seclusion, peace and quiet afforded by this location. If you are looking for a clean, safe and quiet place to stay while in the Palm Springs area, you would be hard pressed to do better than The Avanti.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My recent 2 night stay while attending a local conference went so much better thanks to my stay at Avanti. Really! It was so nice to be greeted by name by the managers and served a margarita after a long day! Plus they let you enjoy the jacuzzi or pool at any hour so you don't feel rushed. There are so many nice touches that you don't want to leave. That is why i already made my reservations for next year! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with the separate kitchen. It is a nice extra that you end up using even if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful stay here to celebrate New Year's. Avanti is a small, lovely, immaculately maintained property- the rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are very comfortable, and all rooms have private terraces as well as the shared pool and hot tub areas. Jim, the owner, is the BEST! Very personable, friendly and helpful- he and his partner Bonnie provided great restaurant recommendations, interesting information about Palm Springs history, and great conversation at the complimentary Happy Hour cocktails every evening. Avanti is tucked away from the main downtown area so it's nice and quiet, but still within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and attractions. We had a wonderful time there, and will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickt588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills,Calif
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This place was such a great find that I would go back at the regular price. I found in by using a discounted coupon and loved every minute of it. The hosts, Jim and Bonnie, were so accommodating that it was hard to believe they were the "hosts". They had a great continental breakfast that you could sit out by the pool, read the current paper and enjoy a lovely breakfast. They also had a wonderful cocktail hour which was refreshing. Our room was beautiful with a lovely welcome basket. The jacuzzi was almost like our own since it was right behind our room and no one seemed to use it. The only problem was that we could hear the neighbors t.v. through the walls, but overall, it was a diamond in the rough.....just darling and a great location.

Room Tip: We had room number 5 and loved the size and location of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
756 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Hotel

Property: Avanti Hotel
Address: 354 E Stevens Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avanti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A V A N T I is one of Palm Springs newest boutique hotels with everything you need for your memorable getaway. We’ve embraced the original mid-century architecture and balanced the design with modern furnishings coupled with touches of Old Hollywood.Our intimate surrounding offers 10 beautiful rooms that range from Traditional Studios to extra spacious two-room Premium Suites complete with kitchens. The beds are luxurious to make your vacation in Palm Springs absolutely pampered. Most rooms have secluded patios and some are perfect for sunbathing in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Avanti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing