We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appealing "little sibling"”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway
Ranked #9 of 22 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the terrific Orbit In last year, loved it, and hoped to return, but it was unsurprisingly booked. We were happy that there was a room at this sister property. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is great, and the rooms are attractive and comfortable.

On the down side, there's no dedicated parking. It wasn't a problem, but actual spaces or a lot put my mind at ease. Also, breakfast was fine, but the sink would quickly fill with dishes, which nobody tended to. The staff over at the Orbit was right on top of that sort of thing, so the pile-up was a little disappointing, a little inconvenient when the cutlery ran out, and, I admit, a little gross.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DPW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Being our 3rd stay, we didn't expect anything but a great week, and we were not disappointed. Jinny and Kevin make you feel like family. Having Bill and Elaine down at the Orbit completes the experience. The rooms are always so tidy and well appointed and the housekeeping staff is the best. The pool is warm, the grounds are stunning, the location is the best. Can't say enough about how great you feel when you stay at the HIdeaway. We very much enjoy Herb's room, and recommend it to anyone. We are already making plans to vist again next year, hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My Family and I have become good friends of Kevin, Jinny and Blue over our 7 stays at the Orbit In in recent years. This year I left booking too late and they were full for the 2 weeks we had in mind, but Kevin offered to open up the Hideaway for us. That speaks volumes for his great caring attitude - what hotelier would open up a closed property for the sake of one guest? Kevin and the great Orbit staffers arranged for us to have the main gate security code and had our rooms ready with the lights on and the doors unlocked in the welcoming style they are all famous for with the keys on the beds for our late arrival!

We had always thought about staying there - the Hideaway is the Orbit Ins quieter better looking sister. Its a bigger property with the same mid-century character but a more open aspect that allows those staying to really appreciate the mountain views and a great pool. Its also a few hundred yards closer to the restaurants and bars of Palm Canyon and remains so peaceful despite that.

We were told that many who stay at the Orbit who then stay at the Hideaway prefer the property and I have to agree with that. The Orbit is very fine but if you are looking for a quiet mid-century stay seriously look at the Hideaway.

There are some issues with the utilities but I am mid-century myself and also have the same concerns!!!

Do yourself a favour and try this place - I guarantee you will not regret it.Thanks for everything Ken and Co we will see you again next year and wont leave the booking so late again!!!!

Room Tip: Dinos Den is supposed to be the best in the house but backs onto the road and could be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonHollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My hubby and I just got back from a FUNDERFUL weekend retreat at The Hideaway and it was the bestest time in the desert!!! We frequent Palm Springs and we have stayed at a few other properties but nothing compares to it. The location alone is unbeatable and it's walking distance to all the eateries and bars.

The property is in an amazing condition and the grounds were kept very clean. There are only nine rooms so it was very private and quiet which we loved. The rooms were all very spacious as well and had a nice modern feel to it. The pool was our favorite and we got to lay on the floaties for hours while sipping our own concoctions!!!! In the evening we got enjoy the firepit with the mountain views in the background and the dim lights surrounding the property made it extra romantic too!!!

Special shout-out to Bill who greeted us so kindly and provided awesome service during our stay there. We will definitely return and look forward to more relaxing time ahead!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I exchanged the sea breezes of San Diego for the desert heat of Palm Springs for a weekend, and the Hideaway helped to make it a truly relaxing experience.

Service & Location
We arrived at the Orbit In and had a seamless check-in with Bill. He generously gave us thorough recommendations of where to eat (and where not to eat), shop, and visit. We arrived just in time for their cocktail hour where we were welcomed with a fresh Orbitini and sparked up conversation with the other guests.

One of the best things about the Hideaway is its central location. The main street is just a few blocks away but the property is still tucked away in a quiet residential area. You can walk into town or take one of their free cruiser bikes around the neighborhood and admire beautiful mid-century homes.

I really wanted a massage during our stay but the Hideaway's usual masseuse was out of town that weekend. I booked a couples massage with the a mobile massage service per Hideaway's recommendation. Our in-room massage by this company was just mediocre so I can't say I recommend getting a massage from them.

Room
We stayed in the Breuer Studio, which was outfitted with mid-century decor and included a microwave, refrigerator (very handy for our leftovers from dining out), DVD player, and complimentary bottle of water. The shower in the blue, retro bathroom was fairly small -- I could see a person over 6 feet tall struggling in there but I guess this is where being 5'3" helps. The bed was comfortable, AC worked with no problem, and we had no issues with hearing noise from other guests. The grounds are well-kept and I echo the sentiment of another reviewer that it is vintage in all the right places.

Breakfast/Snacks
It was very convenient to walk out of our room and right into the common room for a nice continental breakfast. We were greeted by the friendly staff as they laid out oatmeal, a variety of bagels, toast, and fresh fruit. I was a little disappointed in the lack of protein and that even hardboiled eggs were not part of the menu. But the fresh coffee from Koffee made up for that. In case you get hungry while lounging by the saline pool, guests are free to enjoy sodas in the fridge and snacks from the kitchen all day.

The Hideaway is truly a gem and I would recommend it for its central location and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LArachelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Palm Springs is heaven for those who like mid century modern architecture. The Hideaway is one of the many jewels of it, especially the Dino's Den room which offers a selection of cd's and dvd's of the era. Every detail is authentic. The smaller rooms also have all you need, beds are good, showers somewhat shaky (authentic), but it is excellent value for money.
The living room in the center part of the building offers (organic)breakfast and during the day there is free use of the content of the fridge, soft drinks, yogurts etc. Sometimes a beer.
Bikes are for free as well, so you can start your stroll around Palm Springs architecture right from The Hideaway. It's wise to check the bike lock in case you want to park your bikes somewhere. Town center is very close, yet distant enough not to be bothered by its noise. The pool in the middle is all right, the garden and the lawn offer shade. Bill, the manager makes restaurant reservations as well as reservations for the (highly recommended!) architectural tour around PS. We felt that The Hideaway has a more luxurious feeling than its 'sister hotel' The Orbit Inn, just a few meters away.

Room Tip: Ask for Dino's Den
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Went for a 3 day getaway and loved this place,lots of 50s charm.very small and intimate beautiful pool and fire pit area.beds were comfy furniture was funky and was very quiet area being a block or so from the strip.free use of bikes which was nice,continental breakfast was handy ,the onsite kitchen and livingroom(lounge) area was nice for a latenight snack or drink.love the vibe from the mid century architecture in the area.next time we are in Palm Springs we are going to the hideaway

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms our first day there since we were the only ones booked that night,all a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#14 of 74 in Palm Springs
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 74 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Andalusian Court
The Andalusian Court
#2 of 22 in Palm Springs
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#6 of 22 in Palm Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: 370 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6308
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £150 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1947 Herbert Burns property offering 10 authentic Mid- Century Modern poolside rooms with patios, mountain views, an expansive lawn, saltwater pool, fire pit, and lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing