We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mid-Century Hotel”
Review of The Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hideaway
Ranked #8 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We picked this hotel for its "mid-century" theme. It's really a beautiful place. The owners were SUPER NICE and I loved their dog! So sweet! We stayed in 'Dino's Den'. The room is quite large with a sitting area and little kitchenette. Some nice furniture pieces in the room and in the common area. The free breakfast was good and they have a fridge stocked with drinks for you during the day. Oh and the location is great. Very close to lots of restaurants.

So a few things we weren't excited about. The bathroom -- ugh.. seriously vintage. Maybe too vintage for me. The shower door was crazy small and there is no light in the shower, so if you like to shower at night, its a little dark. The handles for the faucet in the shower were broken I guess, so they just had like these clamps to turn the hot/cold water on.... kind of weird.

The room is also right next to the street and right next to the gate where everyone walks into the property. So if you are a light sleeper, maybe try a different room on the property. You can definitely hear the cars going by and when people walk in.

Parking can sometimes be an issue since they don't have a dedicated parking lot. Just street parking.

Room Tip: Dino's Den is a nice room, pretty big for a hotel room. But it is also right next to the street...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I liked this place only because it's location is superb and the rooms are large. However, the lack of flat screens annoyed me. The wi-fi was spotty and evening cocktails would have been a good idea. I got up late twice and there was no way to get food. Other than that it was okay for the money spent. Personally, I would look around and compare. The Viceroy is the same price and they have a fab bar and restaurant. The owner was non-existent and did not make an effort to get to know us.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room if you want real quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband just stayed for the first time at the Hideaway and it did not disappoint. We have stayed twice at its sister property, the Orbit In, and we wanted to try this property on this visit. It has the same gracious owners and managers as the Orbit and Hideaway guests share the Orbit's awesome Orbitini hour. Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom. The grounds are beautiful and very inviting. The pool is large and heated. There is a outdoor fire pit where many guests relax after dinner. This is the perfect place for rest and relaxation. The location is also ideal- just a couple of blocks away from the center of town. We will definitely be returning to the Hideaway!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anne1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at the terrific Orbit In last year, loved it, and hoped to return, but it was unsurprisingly booked. We were happy that there was a room at this sister property. The grounds and pool are beautiful, the location is great, and the rooms are attractive and comfortable.

On the down side, there's no dedicated parking. It wasn't a problem, but actual spaces or a lot put my mind at ease. Also, breakfast was fine, but the sink would quickly fill with dishes, which nobody tended to. The staff over at the Orbit was right on top of that sort of thing, so the pile-up was a little disappointing, a little inconvenient when the cutlery ran out, and, I admit, a little gross.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DPW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Being our 3rd stay, we didn't expect anything but a great week, and we were not disappointed. Jinny and Kevin make you feel like family. Having Bill and Elaine down at the Orbit completes the experience. The rooms are always so tidy and well appointed and the housekeeping staff is the best. The pool is warm, the grounds are stunning, the location is the best. Can't say enough about how great you feel when you stay at the HIdeaway. We very much enjoy Herb's room, and recommend it to anyone. We are already making plans to vist again next year, hopefully for longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My Family and I have become good friends of Kevin, Jinny and Blue over our 7 stays at the Orbit In in recent years. This year I left booking too late and they were full for the 2 weeks we had in mind, but Kevin offered to open up the Hideaway for us. That speaks volumes for his great caring attitude - what hotelier would open up a closed property for the sake of one guest? Kevin and the great Orbit staffers arranged for us to have the main gate security code and had our rooms ready with the lights on and the doors unlocked in the welcoming style they are all famous for with the keys on the beds for our late arrival!

We had always thought about staying there - the Hideaway is the Orbit Ins quieter better looking sister. Its a bigger property with the same mid-century character but a more open aspect that allows those staying to really appreciate the mountain views and a great pool. Its also a few hundred yards closer to the restaurants and bars of Palm Canyon and remains so peaceful despite that.

We were told that many who stay at the Orbit who then stay at the Hideaway prefer the property and I have to agree with that. The Orbit is very fine but if you are looking for a quiet mid-century stay seriously look at the Hideaway.

There are some issues with the utilities but I am mid-century myself and also have the same concerns!!!

Do yourself a favour and try this place - I guarantee you will not regret it.Thanks for everything Ken and Co we will see you again next year and wont leave the booking so late again!!!!

Room Tip: Dinos Den is supposed to be the best in the house but backs onto the road and could be a little nois...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonHollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My hubby and I just got back from a FUNDERFUL weekend retreat at The Hideaway and it was the bestest time in the desert!!! We frequent Palm Springs and we have stayed at a few other properties but nothing compares to it. The location alone is unbeatable and it's walking distance to all the eateries and bars.

The property is in an amazing condition and the grounds were kept very clean. There are only nine rooms so it was very private and quiet which we loved. The rooms were all very spacious as well and had a nice modern feel to it. The pool was our favorite and we got to lay on the floaties for hours while sipping our own concoctions!!!! In the evening we got enjoy the firepit with the mountain views in the background and the dim lights surrounding the property made it extra romantic too!!!

Special shout-out to Bill who greeted us so kindly and provided awesome service during our stay there. We will definitely return and look forward to more relaxing time ahead!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#12 of 73 in Palm Springs
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#26 of 73 in Palm Springs
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#33 of 73 in Palm Springs
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: 370 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6308
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: £131 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1947 Herbert Burns property offering 10 authentic Mid- Century Modern poolside rooms with patios, mountain views, an expansive lawn, saltwater pool, fire pit, and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing