We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful room, nice menu”

Workshop Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Workshop Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tamarisk
Description: Dedicated to food, drink, design, and community. Workshop Kitchen + Bar is Palm Spring's newest gem in the heart of the Uptown Design District. Located in the Class 1 Historic El Paseo building from 1926, Workshop’s Industrial chic interior gives the historic space a contemporary edge befitting the locale. Our kitchen is based around seasonal products from local farms, so the menu changes often. Although "Americana" may best describe the style of our food, influences are many. Favorite techniques in the kitchen include our wood-fired pizza oven, wood-fired grill, and custom sous-vide station. The bar looks mostly to American classics and carefully homemade basics. Original cocktails vary with the market's availability and our bartender's mood. * Please note: Booth seating is limited and is reserved for parties of 3 - 6. We will do our best to accommodate your requests, but make no guarantees. For special requests, please call us at (760) 459-3451. *
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“beautiful room, nice menu”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

So very cool and modern, with polished concrete, and communal dining tables. Great cocktail menu - - loved the "original" martini. Nice wine list. Food very well prepared, and some interesting twists. My "bowl" of asparagus arugula and pepitas was enlivened by perfect papaya. Nice sharing plates. Great atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank peachesmesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    127
    78
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Cool ambience and attentive servers, but the food was very pricey. We felt our food was average and we were very disappointed because of all of the hype. Save your money and go down the road.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TPGCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Duck Fat Fries!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Industrial Minimalist Motif with polished concrete booths, bar & an awesome communal table peppered with romantically retro low watt lightbulbs made Workshop an amazing night out for my wife & I.

The small plates were exquisite in presentation and flavor.
I had the octopus carpaccio, charcuterie, and mussels.
She had the mesquite roasted peppers, the fabulous duck fat french fries and the caesar salad.
The food came out to us quickly and Lawrence our server/bartender was outstanding. You must try one of his well poured "Painkillers".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love the eclectic vibe and menu”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Palm Springs has some good restaurants, but this is a great restaurant. The food is LA, not old-school old Palm Springs. Chef/Owner Robert really cares and has trained his staff well. The concept is Small-Plates, which gives you an opportunity to sample variety from the menu and blends of married and clever flavours. Interior is stoic and sheik, very cool communal 40' table down the centre. Zane the bartender mixes outrageous cocktails, gotta do the Avocado martini. Love this place, its my top of the list for Palm Springs restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place on yelp when searching for good drinks and fresh food. It was amazing! We made same day reservations by calling. It was a great mile walk for us. We had a few small plates and a large plate and drinks. Everything was excellent. I loved my aperitif that was recommended and then followed by wine. It all went great together. The server and other staff were all friendly and welcoming. I will totally return!

Helpful?
Thank HollyGCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workshop Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Workshop Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing