We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Da Bears...”
Review of Bearfoot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bearfoot Inn
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On the way from San Diego to Las Vegas, we decided to stop for a night in Palm Springs. We had wanted to check out the Bearfoot Inn for a while, so I called while we were on the road. The did have a room for two for the night at a very reasonable rate. Simple.

We arrived to find a friendly greeting, and an upgrade to a poolside King. Sweet. The room was large and lovely with a beautiful bathroom with walk-in shower. The decor was modern and lush and it was only a few steps from the pool. Perfect.

Once we brought our things to the room, we quickly stripped and headed for the pool The setting is very nice. A large open area around the pool and hot tub with lounge chairs, misters, umbrellas, etc. The water was just right after traveling from San Diego in the heat.

The owner/hosts are terrific. We would recommend this property.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the main floor (pool adjacent).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vegasred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We are so glad you found us, and hope the rest of your trip was just as wonderful. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from our stay here. the place is very nicely done and I can say i never noticed any extreme noise from anywhere apart from maybe the trash removal. the pool is an ok size and is perfect for the look of the inn. I liked the 50s feel. The continental breakfast was poor to say the least and it felt very infantile and it amused me the locking of the door before 7am and after 11 am. there was a nice kitchen barbecue area at the back of the resort which was never in use but had a locked fridge with beers in it. Surely it wouldn't break the bank to have an honesty bar there at the least. the pool was a bit dirty there was scum around the edges admittedly from the nearby fire.And lastly after staying for 10 days we were surprised at being charged for a day pass as our flight was not until later in the day and you have to check out at 11 am. We would go back so I am only trying to give helpful points.And lastly I thought the beds were very comfortable and we are now buying a similar mattress.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We do appreciate all comments and constructive suggestions. As per our licensing, we offer a continental breakfast that meets the serving requirements of the county and control access to the breakfast area and bar fridge. The outdoor bar are is still being renovated and we do plan on utilizing this more when it is finished. As with everyone in the Coachella Valley during the mountain fires, we did struggle to maintain the pool but decided to keep it open in spite of the heavy ash fall. With respect to day passes, we feel that after receiving three free nights, it was a small charge, however, this is something we decide at the moment and perhaps other factors may have been involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here recently for a romantic getaway and ended up having to leave with a bitter taste in our mouth. The property is deceiving and the place a dump with roaches in the bathroom. The owner is extremely uncivil, ill-mannered and verbally abusive. This hotel is deceiving to Nth degree. After reading great reviews I expected a relaxing stay in the beautiful city, but failed to receive proper service. The hotel also has an ongoing parking feud with the hotel next to it and there are cars getting towed constantly making a raucous at early hours in the morning and waking us up when we wanted to sleep in over the weekend. Overall, it was a bad experience and we will never choose this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DixieNormus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here in June and we had a fantastic relaxing stay.

This is a new resort and it differs slightly on the others we have stayed at in Palm Springs. It is very laid back, relaxing and the atmosphere is less 'active' than some resorts which we really appreciated.

The rooms are modern, clean and sleek, they have almost everything that you might need. There wasn't an iron/ironing board in the room but you need to remind yourself you are in the California desert and people dress much more casual. I read that room safes are coming soon, that will be handy for international traveller's who might want a place to put their passports and other important items.

With this being a brand new resort there are a few small things that can be enhanced and I am pleased to say the owners are both passionate to achieve that. Sometimes you need to wait to find out ways to improve the guests experience and this is what is happening here. We were told cold misters, improved TV channels in HD, an outdoor music system and lots more were planned.

One of the most important aspects of any stay are the hosts and I can confirm what so many other reviews have said that Glenn and Jerry are both great.

The rates for this resort offer great value for money, it is priced in the middle of the range in Palm Springs but as it offers a lot more for your money, it is a bargain compared to the higher priced venues.

This is the perfect place to relax and to be in a clean peaceful environment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lafarge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

We are so pleased that you found us, and we are constantly striving to make our guests' experience as wonderful as possible. We now offer an expanded range of HD television channels and the outdoor misting system is up and running. Please do come back soon and see what other goodies we have added.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Bearfoot Inn exceeded my expectations and made for a perfect retreat in Palm Springs. The owners, Gerry and Glen, were welcoming, always concerned that my stay was what I wanted it to be, enthusiastic in providing suggestions for places to shop, eat, see and visit, and provided just enough attention without leaving me feeling pestered.

The accommodations are beautifully maintained from the private terrace to the communal areas. There was everything needed to make the Inn home for a week. Located in the Movie Colony, or uptown, in Palm Springs was within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. In 107 degree temperature, it's probably better to rent a car for the comfort of air conditioning and to do grocery store runs for water and supplies.

The pool gets sun all day and is the perfect place to hang out and meet other guests.

I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Stayed in #3...perfect for one person. If travelling as a couple, would consider one with a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Doug... thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy that you found yourself at home and if there were a site to rate guests, we'd give you five stars!! Can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a little gem of a resort for men. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable, clean and inviting. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of loungers and chairs. The atmosphere here is very relaxing and comfortable. I felt instantly at home with Glen and Jerry. They are amazing hosts.
We are already planning our next visit in a couple months.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bearwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Eric... thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad you found us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Bearfoot Inn in Palm Springs recently. Newly renovated rooms with a modern flair are very inviting. We also liked late night dips in the pool to cool off. The owners Jerry and Glen are experienced and friendly, we had a long conversation with them, and found them to be great hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorbertW781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Norbert... thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
128 reviews
1.8 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#7 of 41 in Palm Springs
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#9 of 41 in Palm Springs
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearfoot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearfoot Inn

Address: 888 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5719
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: £115 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearfoot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bearfoot Inn is a clothing optional hotel resort for gay men, bears and their admirers. Located in the historic Movie Colony, flourishing Uptown Design District of Palm Springs, Bearfoot Inn is your oasis in the desert and home away from home. Casual and elegant, yet masculine, this mid-century modern resort for men has been faithfully restored and upgraded so you can relax and be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bearfoot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing