We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Bearfoot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bearfoot Inn
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights mid week and really enjoyed our visit. The location is good, just a few minutes from the main strip in Palm Springs where all the good restaurants and bars are. It's quiet and discreet, but close enough to everything. We had one of the upstairs King rooms which was very spacious, the bathroom and kitchenette were great and the bed was enormous and so comfortable. Towels were provided (pool and bathroom) as well as continental breakfast, wifi and the other facilities you would expect. The pool area is nice, plenty of loungers, nice sun and shade, nice hot tub.

Glenn was very friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ballynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I just got back from six days at this bear-themed resort and all I can say is that I can't wait to go back. During the week the resort is quiet and relaxing, so if you just want to spend hours bobbing like a cork in the swimming pool, you can certainly do that. Glen (the owner) is the perfect host, unobtrusive but always there if you need him for anything. As the weekend approaches, the resort starts filling up and the atmosphere gets livelier. We met a charming couple from SF that we ended up bonding with, and the other guests were very friendly. The resort is clothing optional, but I would say only 50% of the guests indulged. The rooms are nicely appointed and just the right combination of comfort and class. Some gay resorts can be intimidating, marketed to the washboard ab set, and we did see some guests like that, but truly it was a mix of ages and body types that make it unintimidating (is that a word?) for all. The Bearfoot Inn is a wonderful discovery.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fatbearbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We don't think we could have said it any better. It is our guests who make the atmosphere so relaxing and friendly. With that said, we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just came back from a six night's stay at the bearfoot and it was so relaxing. The resort was quieter than usual after the Labour Day long weekend but that suited us just fine. Since we were last there, they've added misters over the lounge chairs which was fantastic in 111 degree weather!
We stayed in a king room overlooking the pool which was huge and comfortable. We did some shopping at Trader Joe's and stocked our little kitchen.

Room Tip: Stayed in huge king room #7 with nice view of the pool and jaccuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain64650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Always great seeing you. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Was our first time in Palm Springs and we chose Bearfoot after a lot of going back and forth as there are so many properties. I guess we chose an off time to come and visit as the town was pretty quiet and the inn even quieter.

That being said that did not bother us as it was nice to have the peace and quiet and have almost the entire place to our selves which suited us well for this trip. We did meet a few other nice couples during our stay. The owner and his dogs very friendly.

The rooms are very modern and the beds are amazing!!!!!!!!!!! We booked the lowest room category and I was surprised just how large it was. The continental breakfast was fine for us, it was basic but just right as we are not huge breakfast people.

I did not give it a five star because I think there are a few things that could use a bit of improving but I understand it is a newer property and it was off season, I think it was a great place to stay and I would consider staying again.

Next time I think we will visit during a busier time and I think it would be a different experience overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluedenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and to strive to keep improving our property to make our guests' experience better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On the way from San Diego to Las Vegas, we decided to stop for a night in Palm Springs. We had wanted to check out the Bearfoot Inn for a while, so I called while we were on the road. The did have a room for two for the night at a very reasonable rate. Simple.

We arrived to find a friendly greeting, and an upgrade to a poolside King. Sweet. The room was large and lovely with a beautiful bathroom with walk-in shower. The decor was modern and lush and it was only a few steps from the pool. Perfect.

Once we brought our things to the room, we quickly stripped and headed for the pool The setting is very nice. A large open area around the pool and hot tub with lounge chairs, misters, umbrellas, etc. The water was just right after traveling from San Diego in the heat.

The owner/hosts are terrific. We would recommend this property.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the main floor (pool adjacent).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vegasred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We are so glad you found us, and hope the rest of your trip was just as wonderful. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have just returned from our stay here. the place is very nicely done and I can say i never noticed any extreme noise from anywhere apart from maybe the trash removal. the pool is an ok size and is perfect for the look of the inn. I liked the 50s feel. The continental breakfast was poor to say the least and it felt very infantile and it amused me the locking of the door before 7am and after 11 am. there was a nice kitchen barbecue area at the back of the resort which was never in use but had a locked fridge with beers in it. Surely it wouldn't break the bank to have an honesty bar there at the least. the pool was a bit dirty there was scum around the edges admittedly from the nearby fire.And lastly after staying for 10 days we were surprised at being charged for a day pass as our flight was not until later in the day and you have to check out at 11 am. We would go back so I am only trying to give helpful points.And lastly I thought the beds were very comfortable and we are now buying a similar mattress.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dtp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearfootinn, Owner at Bearfoot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We do appreciate all comments and constructive suggestions. As per our licensing, we offer a continental breakfast that meets the serving requirements of the county and control access to the breakfast area and bar fridge. The outdoor bar are is still being renovated and we do plan on utilizing this more when it is finished. As with everyone in the Coachella Valley during the mountain fires, we did struggle to maintain the pool but decided to keep it open in spite of the heavy ash fall. With respect to day passes, we feel that after receiving three free nights, it was a small charge, however, this is something we decide at the moment and perhaps other factors may have been involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here recently for a romantic getaway and ended up having to leave with a bitter taste in our mouth. The property is deceiving and the place a dump with roaches in the bathroom. The owner is extremely uncivil, ill-mannered and verbally abusive. This hotel is deceiving to Nth degree. After reading great reviews I expected a relaxing stay in the beautiful city, but failed to receive proper service. The hotel also has an ongoing parking feud with the hotel next to it and there are cars getting towed constantly making a raucous at early hours in the morning and waking us up when we wanted to sleep in over the weekend. Overall, it was a bad experience and we will never choose this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DixieNormus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 74 in Palm Springs
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 74 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.1 mi away
7 Springs Inn & Suites
7 Springs Inn & Suites
#13 of 74 in Palm Springs
882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearfoot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearfoot Inn

Address: 888 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5719
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: £117 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bearfoot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bearfoot Inn is a clothing optional hotel resort for gay men, bears and their admirers. Located in the historic Movie Colony, flourishing Uptown Design District of Palm Springs, Bearfoot Inn is your oasis in the desert and home away from home. Casual and elegant, yet masculine, this mid-century modern resort for men has been faithfully restored and upgraded so you can relax and be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bearfoot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing