We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Monroe Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$217
US$192
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parker Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
US$620
US$391
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Colony Palms Hotel(Palm Springs)
US$323
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
123
259
181
102
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
259
181
102
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm canyonindoor basketball courttimeshare presentationtimeshare pointsbedroom condonice resortindian canyonsgreat poolfull kitchenfitness roomminute drivepool sidelarge poolclose to downtownmountainsbldgroomy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We revisited the Palm Canyon Resort during the last week of March. Spring Break! An overcrowded swimming pool which was closed for a hygiene problem one afternoon and another day because of windy, sandy weather.Although we were told that we'd be in well before the 4 o'clock availability, this was not true and we wasted the afternoon at poolside. The room layout was good but the place had not been vacuumed (take a shower, walk barefooted for fifteen minutes over the rugs and the soles of your feet are black). Sink faucet leaked. 19th Century plumbing repair to 1/2 bath sink was an abstract sculptor's delight. Patio smelled of urine even after cleaning (skim coat on floor was cracked, preventing thorough cleaning). The noise level a poolside was fearsome: screaming children and shouting youths from 8 a.m. until 7 p.m. Friendly and cooperative staff couldn't overcome the two-star standard of accommodation -- this place needs renovation desperately. This was our third or fourth stay...and our last.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majordud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced service lapses during your time with us and assure you our new management company is aware of our areas requiring improvements. The particulars commented on in your review will be addressed respectively with our teams so that we can ensure our future guests do not experience this. We deeply regret the unfortunate noise disturbances committed by neighboring guests enjoying the pool. There is no shortage of reasons why our great location is thought to be an ideal place for vacationing families traveling for their spring break getaway. However, while we want all our guests to enjoy their stay, we do not want them to do so at the expense of other guests. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been an owner of a time-share at this resort for eighteen years, but a little more than ten years ago we moved away from California and have not used this location since. Just recently we were invited to a wedding in Palm Springs and figured that this was a good occasion to revisit the Palm Canyon Resort. With our time-share we qualify for a 2 bed-room suite and we made a reservation over the phone about half a year before our trip, and received a confirmation for a Junior Villa with sufficient space for 4 adults (we were traveling with our two children).

Beware that Junior Villa is clearly a misnomer, since, as we learned upon our arrival, this is the name for an "over-sized closet". The room was smaller than most budget motel rooms in the area (or the US in general) and the interior clearly has not been renovated for the nearly 20 years of the existence of this place. There was a relatively small double bed with a very worn out mattress and an additional sofa sleeper, whose mattress was also hanging through so much that ultimately our older son ended up sleeping on the sofa closed. With our reservation we had also requested a child crib for our two-year old, but when we arrived it was not in the room and despite contacting the front desk was not delivered to us on the evening of our arrival. In the end, since it was rather late when we arrived, we were exhausted and made do without the crib for the first night. Furthermore, when we arrived we were told to park in the basement of our building, but all the parking spaces were taken, so that we ended up parking fairly far away from our room on the street outside the resort.

The next morning we complained, but no other room was offered to us, although eventually at least the crib was delivered. Given the small size of the room the only available space for the crib with the sofa sleeper unfolded, was barely fitting the crib in the hallway in front of the closet. In general with four people in the room it was almost impossible to move around. One more note about the room. It was essentially not possible to look the door effectively from the inside, so that we spent a good time of our stay chasing our two-year old in the outside hallway, since he figured that leaving the room was a highly entertaining game (not so much for us though). Lastly towels and toiletries in the bathroom were just the bare minimum and without regular room service you mate expect to run out of shampoo, etc.

The two somewhat redeeming features is that the location is reasonably central, and the pool is actually nice for the kids (even though it does get rather crowded on the weekend). But the room was so awful that it is highly unlikely that we will ever stay at the Palm Canyon Resort again, in-spite of being a part-time owner. Next time we will probably rather pay for nice lodging somewhere else in Palm Springs and maybe, if our children are still interested, use our access privileges for the pool only.

Room Tip: Stay away from Junior Villas. Despite their pompous name they are the worst rooms the resort has to offer.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AxelinoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We are always delighted whenever we receive feedback from our valued owners and members. We appreciate your ownership and, more importantly, your loyalty. Determined to make Palm Canyon Resort & Spa a premier vacation destination in Palm Springs, our new management company has already begun making the necessary improvements to provide the affordable luxury you and your family can come to expect. We regret that your accommodation was not what you expected on this recent visit, however; we very confident that you will be pleased with the improvements that have been made if you do decide give us another chance and stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We picked this hotel for three reasons: Pool for the kids, location (close to indian canyons with view) and price. We have been really pleased with the hotel. The pool was great for the kids, they really enjoyed the slides and for the parents peace of mind there is a lifeguard on site. The pool was cleaned but it is very crowded. The hotel room met our expectations: it was CLEAN even though it is outdated, the beds were comfortable. The staff was outstanding. Every morning we left at 8am and go hike until 2pm, used the pool until 5pm and go out for dinner. It is not a hotel I would suggest you to pick if you want to stay there all day as a couple for romantic retreat. It is very crowded, the room are very noisy (can hear people walk above) but it is a great hotel for the price if you want to do what what we did and use it for the basics. I would recommend the hotel more for families.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

once we opened the room a over powering of urine hit us. We opened the doors windows to try to air it out. No such luck, They said they were all booked up and there was no other room to go to. Could hardly sleep that first night.We sprayed the room hoping it would help, now that would have been a good commercial for Fa Breeze. We were right over the garage in and out so every time a car went through the grills for water drainage would rattle. The best thing about the place was the pool and Carlos who works at Splash He really made our trip much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the garage
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chevelleman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The conditions of your room were agreeably unacceptable and certainly uncommon of our resort. Your concerns were forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager to assure this room is brought to the standard our guests expect and deserve. We apologize for any inconvenience your room may have caused you during your recent stay.
This being said, we are thrilled to read you enjoyed our family fun pools. These pools feature exciting waterslides and lovely landscaping. We have forwarded your compliment about Carlos to his manager, and we are sure he will be very appreciative. When choosing to visit the area again, we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Not a good place if you want peace and quiet. Had a one bedroom suite on the main floor without realizing that families with children running and stomping all over the floor day and night was the norm.

Had the sheets changed one time in 17 days and only after complaining to the Manager of Housekeeping. Seemed that the cleaning staff liked the people only staying a few days to a week and therefore not having to clean in between changes.

Had to put up with the usual pyramid scheme (U know, the one where they con you in with a $75 Visa card only to pressure you into spending thousands to buy into their time share).

The suites do not have Wi-Fi and the resort has an agreement with At&T to provide that service for a cost. Note that At&T charged ~$30 dollars a week PER COMPUTER and it was "slower than molasses in January". Note that its pretty bad when you have to take your computer to McDonalds or Starbucks to download information because its faster.
However, the Resort is a good place for children as they can play at the pool all day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarrieH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

It is very disappointing to learn that your experience was anything less than exceptional. We take much pride in the preparation and maintenance of our guest rooms and sincerely apologize for the housekeeping shortcomings you experienced. This omission will be addressed with our housekeeping teams to improve in our consistency in these areas. There is no shortage of reasons why our resort is great for families however, horseplay, running and other such disruptive behaviors are not allowed before or after quiet hours to promote equal enjoyment of the facilities. We hope that you notified the front desk of your concerns regarding your neighbors and their adherence to quiet hours. We also strive to provide the most professional and excellent service we are known for, and we are very sorry if you did not receive this type of service from our 3rd party internet provider. Please know that these shortfalls are not reflective of our resort-wide standards and goals, and it is quite regrettable that you had to endure such circumstances. We will address this with our third party provider respectively. We appreciate that you took the time to visit our resort and are confident you will have a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews