We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Good, The Bad and The Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andreas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad and The Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights Feb 4 - 8.

The Good:

-Wonderful employees.
-Location of hotel to downtown Palm Springs. Many shops, restaurants, etc. easily within short walking distance.
-Very nice common area's with outdoor fireplaces.
-Very nice pool and hot tub.

The Bad:

-The street noise (see below).
-The room was never really cleaned properly. Hairs on sink, dirt on bathroom floor, carpet not vacuumed, dirty glass left on table.
-Room smelled musty.
-Mold inside of shower.
-Only one small bar of soap for the room. I had to transfer this bar of soap between the sink and the shower. Even Motel 6 gives you two small bars of soap. What's the deal with that?

The Noisy:

-Good luck if your room is in the back of the hotel or the side next to the outdoor bar. The street noise WILL keep you awake if you are trying to sleep at 11PM or so.
-Then, when you think it will be ok to catch up on your lost sleep with a nap in the afternoon, think again. There is MAJOR construction going on right across the street in the back of the hotel. This noise starts up at 7AM Monday thru Friday.

This hotel could earn a four star from me with some simple changes like cleaning the rooms properly each day.

There's nothing they can do about the noise except move you to another room. So, be aware that if you are looking for quiet, ask for a room that offers the greatest distance away from the noisy area's outside of the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreasHotelSpa, Manager at Andreas Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We strive to provide excellent customer service and accommodations for our guest. We apologize for the disturbance of the bar below your room, however we are proud to announce the bar is no longer there. We hope that you give Andreas Hotel and Spa another try to discover our beauty in the heart of down town Palm Springs. Please contact us directly if you would like to visit again.

Sincerely,
Zachary Cordero Front Desk Manager
Gina Campbell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    182
    54
    31
    29
See reviews for
141
694
82
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent the night here recently and would stay again. A nice venue tucked away from the noise of the streets. Standard rooms are a bit small, but completely functional. The Staff was awesome both on check in and check out. The breakfast is nothing special, so plan on eating somewhere else. Overall I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaibabAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I found this hotel on Hotels.com. I really liked the photos of the property so we decided to book it. This place is unbelievable! The staff was so, so, so nice. The night manager, Bob, was really helpful in finding us a nice place to eat, he even called the restaurant to make reservations for us. The property is charming, clean, and oh so fun eclectic fun! Our room was lovely, the bed was comfortable, and the color scheme was really pretty. I will never stay anywhere else any time I go down to Palm Springs from now on!! Great little hotel with a great personality!
Guest #78826BM

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. The whole atmosphere of this hotel is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bungy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Large room and bathroom, large Jacuzzi tub, nicely decorated. Small, cozy, friendly hotel, with nice outdoor, pool and hot pool seating areas. We like being right downtown near restaurants, shopping, etc. We enjoyed the spa. We'll definitely stay again.
David 78765

Room Tip: We liked overlooking the street and having the balcony, but it is noisy, so avoid this side of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 78765David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowflake, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is unquestionably one of the best choices we've ever made in hotels! Arrived late last night, just needing a place to sleep, but have decided to extend our stay because of the wonderful atmosphere, beautiful rooms, outstanding service, and that fact that every detail is handled impeccably. I'd give it ten stars if I could! Love Palm Springs now, and plan to come back, and will return to the Andreas Hotel & Spa. An additional note: Bob checked us in, and his delightful personal touch set the tone for this friendly, comfortable, and quietly sophisticated hotel.

Room Tip: It's all good. Upper floors have a lovely veranda available and have vaulted wood ceilings, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizonasunrise4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I go to PS once a year for a getaway weekend. This year I had a hard time finding a room but was able to book one at this small hotel. The website is well done and it looks really nice. The first thing I noticed was I never rec'd a confirmation email; I had to call and verify that they had my reservation. When we arrived, we asked what time we could get into the room. We were told to return at 2:30 p.m. We and several other people showed back up at 2:30 and were told we would have to wait 10 minutes which turned into 30 minutes, which for us turned into an hour (others were given their rooms). We were told we were being upgraded to special room since they had no other King rooms. The room is nice (huge bathroom) but not really what I had booked at that hotel for, as it is all black and white and very "old Hollywood". Whatever. Nice comfy bed though and great towels. The trouble started about the time we tried to go to sleep. This hotel backs up to Palm Canyon Drive, the main drag through Palm Springs. Also the bottom floor on that side is retail, which includes a bar. Things really got going about 10:30/ 11:00; yelling, whooping, car doors slamming, motorcycles and cars appearing to drag race up and down the street. All this RIGHT outside your room, literally. It did not quiet down until around 3:00 am, since after the bar closed at 1:00, the patrons took the party out on the sidewalk, right underneath the rooms. If we had been given a room on the front side of the hotel, I don't think there would have been a problem. I ended up sleeping in the jacuzzi tub on top of pillows and the comforter. My husband has tinnitus (hearing problem) so he slept off and on. The girl at the desk seemed well aware of this issue as they have pre-printed forms for you to sign stating you are making a complaint!!! I emailed the hotel on Monday morning to convey my poor experience and never even got a response or apology. I did not ask for a refund. It is a shame because it is a nice little hotel, but it was a nightmare for us. We left at 8:00 am and drove straight back to Long Beach to get some sleep. Never again!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to stay here just make sure you do not get a room at the back that is directly on Palm C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a great 3*which is beautifully presented and well kept, with a nice friendly receptionist. Our room was beautiful with a balcony, fire place, Jacuzzi bath, and separate shower. We also had a microwave, fridge and coffee machine.

As this was our first time in Palm Springs we only booked 1 night, however, we liked it enough to want to stay another night. When we checked in we were charged $60 for incidentals, which we agreed to. When we checked out we were advised that another $200 had been added for incidentals when we booked the second night without informing us. This brought the total to $260, and we were advised that we had to wait three days for it to be returned. When I queried this the receptionist said it was to cover any damages to the room and the mini bar. I found this slightly insulting as the mini bar only contained water and sodas - perhaps they thought we were going to remove the TV and take it back to London!!! The receptionist could see that I was offended and offered us a free drink before departure which was a very nice gesture.

We spent $500 in the day spa which was nice but not great, we both felt that we have had better massages and it was overpriced for what we received.

There are a few down sides to this hotel:

It is understaffed, (waited 1 hour for a drink ordered from the bar).

A cold self-service buffet breakfast is available, apart from that there is no restaurant or food available at the hotel.

The hotel is above a very noisy bar which is open till 2am, when the bar closes the crowd congregates outside your window for another hour or so, and you can hear every word they are saying as though they are in your room!

Overall it really is a quaint hotel, that's very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andreas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andreas Hotel & Spa

Property: Andreas Hotel & Spa
Address: 227 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6424
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Andreas Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Release...Get away from it all in style. 25 deluxe guest rooms and suites are exquisitely furnished in Spanish Revival and Craftsman styles of the 1930s.Marble and stone bathrooms with oversized jacuzzi tubs and separate walk-in rain showers distinguish some of the suites.Relax...Chill and keep cool on the shaded pool deck in our courtyard. Come night fall, when the temperature drops, enjoy a cocktail or a glass of wine while basking in the glow of an outdoor fireplace.Reinvigorate...Step in and get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life at The Spa at Andreas. Our experienced specialists will ease all the tension from those trouble areas. Let The Spa at Andreas reinvigorate your mind, body and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Andreas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hotel And Spa
Andreas Hotel Palm Springs
Springs Palm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing