We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay!”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just stayed 5 nights at Ed and Larry's Old Ranch Inn. They are the most welcoming of hosts, the inn is ideally located just blocks from main street with its great restaurants, shopping, the Follies theater, and museums. The Follies is a must as is the tram ride 2 and 1/2 miles up to snow and pines. The History Art Museum was fascinating, captivating some of Palm Springs history through paintings and photography and also offering other varieties of art mediums.
Palm Springs was one stop among 3 weeks of vacation so our clothes needed washing and Ed and Larry also provided that service for us. We would return to Old Ranch Inn in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room by the pool, a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConeflowerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Ranch Inn. The innkeepers, Ed & Larry, could not have been more helpful or gracious. Our spacious and well-decorated suite felt like a home-away-from home. They clearly maintain a high standard. It was also great to be able to walk a few blocks into the town to eat or shop.

Room Tip: Just go on-line and you can see most of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Old Ranch Inn was beyond my expectations in providing a unique and aesthetic environment within walking distance of downtown Palm Springs. Ed and Larry made the visit memorable. They felt like family, the way you want family to be.

Room Tip: as previously stated, no room was a bad room. we had #5 with light streaming in from french doors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aakingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Ed and Larry are wonderful and gracious innkeepers. My room was well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The inn is located in a very nice residential neighborhood and is a several block walk to downtown Palm Springs. Overall, it was a great value and a good experience and I would certainly stay at the Old Ranch Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Housinglawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We spent our anniversary weekend at the Old Ranch Inn. And, we're looking forward to going back again! Ed and Larry are so very welcoming and charming. They made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They are so very proud of their inn. The room (we were in Room 7) was open and airy, clean (super clean), well decoratored. We were right off the pool and had a lovely view of the mountain. The inn is just a short walk from downtown--we liked that because it was not on the main road in town which lended to a quiet stay. And just like the other reviews state, Ed and Larry know all the great places to dine--great picks!!!!! Thanks, Ed and Larry, for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 7 was beautiful and right off the pool and at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Where to start, we first visited the Old Ranch Inn, shortly after they opened their doors, in 2002. We were so impressed with the intimacy of the Inn, the coziness of the suites, the wonderful pool area, and not to mention outstanding service provided by ED and Larry the Inn Keepers. We have been frequent guests at Old Ranch for these many years, and enjoy each stay as though we were coming home. Ed and Larry are wonderful hosts, but have become good friends. I would recommend anyone to the Old Ranch Inn, you can't find a more restful stay anywhere in the Palm Springs area. Did I mention it is two blocks just west of the main downtown of Palm Springs!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, they have two large suites in the front with separate bedrooms. We like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanishTraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We spent four nights at this lovely Inn. The proprietors, Larry and Ed, are absolutely delightful and they were so extraordinarily helpful, ensuring we had a memorable and pleasant stay. The room was very comfortable, extremely clean and the property well cared for. The Inn is located very near downtown Palm Springs, but is in a quiet neighbourhood that is very relaxing. All in all a great stay and we look forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 74 in Palm Springs
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
884 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 74 in Palm Springs
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#18 of 74 in Palm Springs
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £142 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. Our pool is heated to a wonderful 88 degrees. We also offer Continental Breakfast in the mornings from 8am-11am which consist of; Starbucks Coffee a variety of Bagels (Onion,Plain,Everything,Cinnamon Raisin), English Muffins, Yogurt's, Hot Oatmeal, Cold Cereal, Granola, Blueberry and Banana Muffins. Also a variety of juices; Tomato, Apple, Grapefruit, Pineapple,and Sunny D Light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing