We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely small inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely small inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

A lovely intimate inn just a short walk to downtown and the PS Art Museum. Larry and Ed are the consummate hosts. Breakfast is served outside and is only fruit and beverages, but the citrus is from their own trees and the grounds, though smallish, are very pleasant including a heated and lit rectangular swimming pool.

Room Tip: We especially liked room 8; room 4 was just as nicely appointed though a bit smaller. Rooms along t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liblady65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    54
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
438
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is simply a lovely and enchanting inn. I had been trying to book us in for so long, it's intimate small and always busy--but you never see any of the guests! It's like staying in a friend's home, rather than a hotel, except you have privacy and everyone is nice all the time. The room was a western motif with homey touches, very clean, knick knacks, luxurious spreads, a fire place and a kitchenette that was perfect. My husband had the best night's sleep he's had in months. The inn keepers knew where everything was in town, when it was happening, and what was the perfect choice for us for food, movies, and museums. It's the place to relax, swim, and just do nothing but read books and watch a few dvds from their library. It's really a charming place that we want to return to in the summer. Once there, you don't even need a car to see the town, it's so close to everything you'd want to do.

Room Tip: I let them choose my room and it was just fine for us. The whole property is beautifully maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalaladyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Immediately upon our arrival at the Old Ranch Inn, we knew we had hit the jackpot. The photos on Trip Advisor do not begin to tell the story. The décor is charming with a “western” theme. The mattress was so comfy I didn’t want to get up in the morning; and the shower – pure perfection!

The galley kitchen was outfitted with the essentials; what more do you need besides a few plates, glasses, mugs and a coffee pot, mini-fridge, microwave and a wine opener, although I would suggest having the knives sharpened or replaced in the future.

The Inn does not serve breakfast, but they do offer a wide assortment of fresh fruit, tea and fresh brewed coffee every morning. When Ed, the co-owner, realized I liked a particular tea, he went out and bought a box so that I wouldn’t run out – how’s that for service?

No request was ignored, in fact, when I asked where I could go in town to have a few items washed, Larry suggested I leave what needed to be washed, along with a small gratuity, on the end of the bed for the housekeeper. When we returned from a full day of shopping and sightseeing, everything was washed and folded. AMAZING!

Being the "clean freak" that I am, I truly appreciated how immaculate the hotel, and our room, was, especially since we had our luggage, packages and "stuff" all over the place.

Location, location, location! Less than 4 blocks from downtown, historic Palm Springs with it’s wonderful array of restaurants, galleries and theaters, including the Follies, we never had to drive at night. Be sure to walk from the Inn to the design district. It’s about a 4-mile walk, round-trip, but worth it.

With only 8 rooms, and a "no children" policy, the pool and patio were very quiet, which was a delight.

I’m afraid to write anything else for fear that the Old Ranch Inn will be sold out next year and I won’t be able to book a room. If you’re looking for a charming place to stay in historic Palm Springs, where the owners really care about their guests, the Old Ranch Inn is the place! We’ll be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. It is a very small hotel; very clean, very intimate and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

My group of three could not book our convention hotel; therefore, I turned to Trip Advisor to find a local hotel that travelers rated highly. This was my first trip to Palm Springs, although the others had stayed numerous times. After reading the excellent reviews, I called and spoke to the manager. He was very helpful and luckily, there were three rooms available. They are actually suites, with a kitchenette/kitchen in all of them. They are decorated as if you are staying in someone's guest house. I loved the fact that there were real books in all the rooms and a lending library at the office, with books and dvd's. There is an invaluable list of recommended restaurants in the rooms and also take-out menus. As others have mentioned, location, location, location. You are three blocks from the downtown strip, a great place to shop, dine, bar hop and people watch. I walked alone from the downtown area to the Inn one evening and felt quite safe. The rooms were spotless. The pool area is in the middle of the complex. It was bathwater warm and crystal clear. The foliage and landscaping are beautiful and make the pool area a great place to hang out. The other guests were very friendly. One reviewer indicated that they rented the whole inn, which would be a grand time for a family, business group, groups of friends. Ed and Larry are very knowledgeable about the area and the service is truly excellent. When we left, I had not mailed my postcards, nor did I have stamps. They didn't have stamps, but took my postcards and mailed them for me. Our group loved this historic inn and plan to bypass the convention hotel and stay at the Inn next year for the seminar.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the former living room of the original ranch house. It has a fireplace, a large sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyag89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was our first stay at the Old Ranch Inn. Location was perfect. A few blocks from the main strip in downtown Palm Springs close to restaurants, bars, shops, museum and entertainment in Historic Tennis Club area. We walked most evenings when we went out for dinner. The hotel is small, charming,beautifully decorated and maintained. The owners are friendly and helpful with suggestions about restaurants and other attractions in the area and knowledgeable about the history of the area. We enjoyed relaxing poolside and sitting by the fire on the patio in the evening with a glass of wine. We really enjoyed visiting with other guests poolside and at the patio. Most of the guests were repeat visitors to the Old Ranch Inn. It is not hard to understand why. We are recommending this gem of a place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our poolside room #5. We noticed some of the repeat guests selected larger rooms tucked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our first stay here. Selection based on the good reviews. It's as advertised. The two guys who run the place let you know well ahead of time that they close the office early every night. That wasn't a problem for us. There was a small kitchen in our room with plenty of plastic glasses for cocktails poolside. If you need plastic dinnerware, BYO. The pool is *literally* a step away from the door to your room. So a chatty group at a poolside table late in the evening will be audible in your room. The rooms are good sized. The "hotel" is small. Maybe 10 rooms total. Not necessarily a bad thing. You can borrow DVDs from the office to watch the old CRT TV but rememeber to get them before the office closes. It's only a short walk to a busy section of town with good restaurant choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having spent two nights at the Old Ranch Inn, we can confirm that all the reviews on this site are absolutely right. In fact, there was only one thing wrong with our stay and that was it lasted only two nights and not longer! We stayed in room 3 which was beautifully furnished with great attention to detail so we were very comfortable and were particularly appreciative of the small kitchen and the very large bathroom. Room 3 is opposite the office but this did not present any problems for us. Our advice would be to go online and check out all the rooms on the website using the virtual tour which will make you feel you are already there. Larry and Ed are very genial hosts who really know Palm Springs and can give friendly advice and information on the town and its surrounds. There is such an easy-going atmosphere at the Old Ranch Inn that guests cannot help but relax immediately. Walking to the main streets of shops and restaurants takes only a few minutes which is an added bonus. Surprisingly, the hotel was very quiet despite its proximity to the centre of town. We can thoroughly recommend the Old Ranch Inn and can't wait to go back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Spend some time looking at the virtual tour of the hotel on the website if you can. You will be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darcygirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing