We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only our own home was as comfortable as this”
Review of Old Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ranch Inn
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“If only our own home was as comfortable as this”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We had room 8 which had its own private side patio. Ed , Larry and Teresa were a joy to meet and we will remember their hospitality for years to come. The mini suites were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Bottled water was given out freely whilst we relaxed by the pool and Larry was King of the Coupons when we said that we were going anywhere. I had a tear in my eye when we left as it was like leaving family. Thankyou all for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corcoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    55
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
35
445
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Couldn't be happier with this choice in PS! Enjoyed the small hotel atmosphere. Most rooms are actually mini-suites with small kitchenette, lovely furnishings, and all are on the ground floor surrounding the attractive pool. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful! A true find! I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kvnicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We LOVED Old Ranch Inn. It was the perfect, little place to truly relax and enjoy a beautiful, peaceful setting. Ed and Larry are great and very accommodating. We'll keep coming back to this little gem in the desert!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WLP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

congratulations Ed and Larry, you are stars!! We had an amazing time at your lovely hotel and can't wait for our next trip over. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so friendly, guests included. We especially enjoyed our two trips to the Thai Smile restaurant at your recommendation Larry. Most of our time was spent sitting around the pool and gardens, talking to anyone who happened to call by. Will definitely be returning at the first opportunity.We felt really spoilt.. thanks for all your hard work!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank plodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otter Rock
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

If you are looking for a small romantic boutique hotel with ambience and location this is it. Our room was beautiful, large, clean and comfortable. The patio and pool area were lush and private. The owners and staff were exceptional and unobtrusive, there and friendly when you needed them, Ed answering questions and driving us to our rental car, Teresa cleaning our room, but never in the way. This is a great location. The first two days we opted to explore on foot. A few blocks east and we were downtown, close enough to enjoy the amentities but far enough to avoid the noise at night. A few more blocks west led to a great hiking trail with views of The Old Ranch Inn and Palm Springs.

My only suggestions would be more storage space in the bathroom and more closet space in the room. Ed, give Larry some time off to go shopping for an armoire!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lifeliverOtterRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

OK, we have also read some of the negative reports about this establishment. The fact is that you are never going to be able to please everyone. The mere fact that 225 out of 246 people rated the Old Ranch as "excellent" speaks volumes in itself. My wife and I stayed for nine nights in June 2010 and can honestly say that this is the only place we have ever been that we genuinely did not want to go home from. Now that we have returned home, we are already making plans for the 12000 miles return journey to go back next year!

Located centrally and in a quiet corner of Palm Springs, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, with plenty of restaurants. Whatever you do, don't miss Thursday evening when Palm Canyon Drive is closed to traffic and the street market takes over.

This is a small hotel of eight rooms and the atmosphere is more like that of a family. The owners, Ed and Larry, are wonderful hosts and couldn't do enough for everyone. On our first night we arrived just after 3pm only to find that we were unusually the only guests in the hotel that night. Then to our surprise, after being there for about an hour the hotel was secured and the staff departed at about 4pm, we were left in charge of the whole establishment. I have to say that it is the first (and probably last) time that we have ever been the only people present in a hotel. We sensed a high degree of trust, unknown elsewhere, which was reciprocated. Throughout our stay (and for the first time ever) we left our valuables (eg passports, wallets and laptop) in our room.

It was just ike being at home. With free access to a large DVD library, case of books, magazines and newspapers. Even though you have your own kitchenette and coffee maker in your room, I don't think they advertise the fact that there was fresh coffee available every morning between 8 and 10am, along with muffins and crackers.

Temperatures were touching 110 F and we were contantly being offered free ice cold bottles of water throughout the day, not something that I have experienced anywhere else. Even staying in an "all inclusive" establishment, I have had to go and fetch it myself!

The free wireless internet connection was reliable and worked anywhere in the hotel.

Rooms were all tastefully furnished and decorated. The room air conditioning really is "quiet" and is also efficient, even in the high temperatures we experienced.

Teresa does a really fantastic job, not only looking after the rooms but to the point of even washing our personal clothing and returning it folded on our bed.

Ed, Larry and Teresa were also very good company, knowledgable, always had a smile and were ready with any help. Good suggestions for places to shop or eat were plentiful, along with vouchers for discounts.

I think because it is a small establishment, guests all seemed to get along well. We met some lovely people during our stay at the Old Ranch. As I said at the start, we are already making plans for our return next year only next time we will be taking some friends with us also! We are counting the days.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had a fabulous stay! Ed & Larry are the nicest and most hospitable owners I have ever met, to a point that even the guests are friendly to each other! Ed constantly hands out water to everyone chilling by the pool making sure we're all hydrated! The Inn only has 8 suites and 5 of them are pool side suites. If you book early, you'll probably get one with a pool view! The place is very quiet and safe. The rooms are clean and well maintained. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MumInStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,902 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ranch Inn

Property: Old Ranch Inn
Address: 220 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Ranch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Old Ranch Inn' is an Historic Palm Springs Retreat located in the Historic Tennis Club Neighborhood in the Downtown Village, and is tucked away behind gates, amidst palm trees & flowering plants, shady patios and sparkling fountains. The 'Old Ranch Inn' is a quaint, intimate hotel with an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Its' poolside suites range in size from large charming, well-appointed full-room suites, to a one-bedroom luxury apartment; all with kitchenettes, spacious baths, private patio retreats & some with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Old Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ranch Hotel Palm Springs
Old Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing