We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great value, lovely hideaway”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I searched on trip advisor for hours to find just the right location for my husband's birthday. i wanted a private getaway within walking distance of the main drag so we could park the car for the weekend. This hotel was the perfect combination.

Our 'room' was more of an apartment than a room. It had a huge bedroom, comfy Cal King bed, a very large (and curioius) bathroom, an outdoor jacuzzi and a yard! And by yard i mean a covered patio and a green grass, fully foliage-surrounded yard. It was lovely to have so much privacy and be 5 steps outside our gate to the pool.

I also was taken on a tour of a few other rooms while there and some others have one bedroom suites with kitchens that also looked very comfy and lovely. The Fountain Room looks huge!

The only reason i'm not giving a 5 is that we didn't get the complimentary bottle of wine on check in that is promised on trip advisor. If i could give a 4.95 i would....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greekodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrossi, General Manager at The Rossi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of our property! We appreciate your business and highly value your input. We apologize that you did not receive your bottle of wine. Sometimes we make mistakes, but would have been happy to bring the bottle to your suite. Please let me know if you advised the manager or front desk clerk that you were supposed to receive the complimentary wine. We don't like making mistakes! We have given away many bottles of wine since adding this promotion and have plenty on hand. We would love to make it up to you, so please let me know when you will be back. Thank you, Marina - 760-325-7100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at this magnificent hotel for 2 nights. The only thing i have to say is: AMAZING.
We have been welcomed like we were the VIP of the Hotel even if was our first time.
The Property is very clean and well kept.
I am going to book my second stay right now.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivan90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Right in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of many restaurants. Suites & private jacuzzis for a very decent price. This small hotel is truly charming and the service excellent. The swimming pool and its amenities are very pleasant and the manager helpful and competent. We found it by pure chance and would recommend it any time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I kept coming up empty in my search for a room in Palm Springs historic Tennis District that could accommodate three people. All my usual suspects (meaning places I had stayed before) were only set up for two people. And in these typical 6 - 8 room hotels, even getting two rooms on short notice, in season, was going to be tough.

Finally San Giuliano indicated they had a two room suite. It featured a king bed in one room and a pull out couch in the other, perfect for me, my wife and my sister-in-law. The added benefits were a kitchenette and a private patio with a four person jacuzzi.

What my wife realized as we pulled up was that we had previously stayed at this inn., We knew it back then as La Bella Villa. The present hostess, Brandin, told us she had only been there a year and didn't know the history. We knew, however, that shortly after we stayed there years ago that it was quietly closed with no indication as to why. We thought to be converted into a private residence.

There are eight rooms in two structures that surround the central pool. The back building, where we stayed this time, is larger rooms with private patios behind them in which they have placed a small jacuzzi tub, a patio set and two chaise lounges. The main building houses the other five rooms, of varying sizes including the small room we had previously stayed in when it was La Bella Villa.

One of the things that had changed was the owner had built 6' high fenced in enclosures on the units where previously had been no patio for these units. Two of these enclosures in particular kind of jutted out into what was formerly common area. But there was plenty of common area and the build-outs weren't overly intrusive.

Unlike some of the other small inns in the Tennis District (Calla Lily Inn, Coyote Inn), this inn does not have its owners on site. Brandin manages the property from a tiny office and leaves you a cell phone number when she departs for the day. This also means that unlike some of the other properties, there is no breakfast in the morning.

The inn is well maintained overall. There are the minor flaws of Father Time. About what you would expect for a building of this vintage. The surfaces were clean but needed updating. The floors were inexpensive tile which of course keeps the unit cooler. Our unit had a jetted tub, separate shower combination which was convenient.

The common pool was set at 85 degrees which was nice given that our visit found temperatures in the low 60's. A dip in the pool followed by a soak in our private 103 degree jacuzzi was very relaxing. Truthfully that was one of the nice features of this inn.

My wife would have given this review a 5 because of her excitement about seeing her old friend. I was left with a feeling, however, of opportunities missed and think that overall while they have done a good job, they could do a little better to make a more accommodating inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed two nights and would of stayed a week. Private jacuzzi wow!. The view of the mountains was breathtaking. Brandee (hotel manager) couldn't of been more helpful. We were on a driving vacation thru Southern California and our stay was on our top ten favorite list. Great location, perfect room, very clean. Already thinking about a week stay next year. C. Rameau Gardner Ma.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hasienda room. Private patio with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrisrita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked in at the St Giuliano at very short notice, and were hugely impressed by the service we received - nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Caesar, who was the first person we met. Because we had booked at such short notice, we had to move rooms for our last two days, but again, nothing seemed to be any trouble for the staff - Brandon, who is on duty most of the time, could not have been more helpful, and Sabia, the cleaner, was also extremely helpful. The hotel is in a superb location, very close to the centre of Palm Springs, yet very peaceful and quiet.
The rooms are large. We stayed in the Sunset Hacienda and the Sunflower Hacienda. Each had a large bedroom (with a superbly comfortable mattress and ample drawer and hanging space), large sitting room with dining area, kitchenette, and an excellent bathroom. Outside we had a private and very sunny patio with our own private hot tub, which is kept full and hot all the time. There is an excellent swimming pool, which is kept very warm, and the grounds are well looked after.
Yes, we had one or two quibbles; the kitchenettes are not as fully equipped as we would have liked, and one shower had poor pressure, but each complaint was dealt with very speedily, so this would in no way deter us from coming again. Altogether excellent value and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The two haciendas we stayed in seemed to get the most sun on the patios. Best to ask so that you kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This place is the bomb. Me and my bff come here all the time now. We fell in love with this place and have already been twice...my goal is to stay n all the haciendas. thank you so much for ur hospitality and warm inviting atmosphere. We will be back ASAP!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
737 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £89 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing