We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rossi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a great time here last week. I'd spent some time on the website and reading the reviews, and everything seemed just as advertised. We were in the Ranch Hacienda, which I'd definitely recommend, as it's at the far end of the pool and feels a bit more secluded. Plus, the bedroom doors open out onto the patio instead of right to the pool, so there's a comfortable buffer zone between private/public space. The patio itself is very comfortable, with plenty of space to sit in the shade or sun. One note, though: the sprinklers run every morning and drench the lawn chair cushions, so if you're planning on laying out, you should remove the cushions the night before. The chairs closer to the door aren't affected.

The rest of the suite was large, cool, and cozy. We loved the oversized bathroom with dual sinks and vintage decor, and the giant TV in the bedroom was nice as well. The bed itself is okay. The mattress and linens were great, but the frame needs some WD40 or something.

The San Giuliano seems like a good space for a quieter crowd. It's definitely a couple-y environment, and people tended to keep to themselves, even when they were at the pool together. That was fine with us, since we're shy anyway. It makes for an awesome place to nap. So quiet and chill!

The neighborhood: this hotel is just a couple blocks away from the main tourist strip, but you'd never know it from the street noise. One morning I had the pool to myself and floated around for a while to the sounds of birds chirping and an occasional lawnmower buzzing in the distance. The fountains and old '50s crooners over the loudspeakers make the courtyard a very relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: We loved our room, the Ranch Hacienda, though we didn't see any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    46
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
427
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had two groups of three stay in the larger suites. Josh was the host and he was lovely. We were arriving around midnight and he was very accommodating in providing us directions and walking us through accessing the unit by phone. There was a miscommunication and the pullout didn't have linens. They showed up at midnight and made the bed up. The suite was spacious but the best part is the private, adults only courtyard. There are free mimosas and snacks all day long. The owner is incredibly friendly. The hotel is very pet friendly. They provide a gift with treats and toys for your pup. The location is excellent. Only two blocks away from busy palm canyon. We came for coachella but we spent a lot of time at the pool just hanging out. Great hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanbains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banning, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I just got back from our two night stay at the San Giuliano Hotel and could not stop talking about how much we enjoyed our time there. I want to comment on the staff, on how professional they conducted themselves. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Stephanie who checked us in promptly and walked us to our room. She took her time in showing us the grounds and explaining what the hotel had to offer. On the following day she again greeted us and made sure we were comfortable. In the evening we were greeted by Caesar who also was very professional and took his time and introduced himself. The housekeeper was very pleasant as well. This was our second stay there and we can assure you we will be staying at the San Giuliano hotel again within the next couple of months. Oh, by the way the massage experience was to die for!!

Room Tip: Quiet and romantic hotel. Walking distance to downtown and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at here for a weekend in March to celebrate my birthday. The hotel exceeded my expectations - the hotel was peaceful and quiet all weekend. I would have thought we were the only guests there if I hadn't seen the other guests outside the following day. The room decor is beautiful - we stayed in the Sunset Villa, which had a kitchenette, living room, beautiful bathroom, large master bedroom, and also our own backyard with nice high walls to ensure privacy with its own hot tub which was sparkling clean. This was a perfect relaxing getaway and we will surely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset villa which I would highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215Mary781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reseda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

So much for the hype about the jacuzzis. Ours didn't work correctly on our arrival and it took a day and a half to make it right. The bed and bathroom were nice, but the other furnishings were shabby. When we checked out we asked to speak to the manager about our less than pleasant stay. She was unavailable. We left our phone number for her to call, but never got a call. There are too many other hotel options in Palm Springs to stay here again. It wasn't worth the money. Never going back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boone618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrossi, General Manager at The Rossi Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
This review is being disputed with Tripadvisor based on blackmail. We have submitted our daily inspection records of this suite and jacuzzi to Tripadvisor. The jacuzzi and all other equipment in the suite was in perfect working order upon guests arrival. On their second night, the guest advised our front desk that the lightbulb in their jacuzzi had burned out. This was immediately replaced by our manager on duty. Upon their departure, they asked for a discount because the lightbulb had burned out in their jacuzzi, although it was replaced immediately. We do not give discounts for a light bulb burning out. The jacuzzi was fully functioning and does not need a lightbulb to work properly. There were no other reports at any time regarding any other issue with this suite. Our jacuzzis are checked on a daily basis by our pool man for ph balance and functionality and we have daily records. In regards to "shabby" furniture, the suite these guests stayed in is one of our brand new suites and everything in the suite is new. I cannot see how anything can be described as shabby. It is unfortunate that there are people out there that are willing to lie in order to try to gain something for free. Tripadvisor should not allow the manipulation of their site in these situations. Thank you, Marina Rossi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary this last weekend and we absolutely loved it here.

It is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. I felt like we were staying in a home away from home.

Very private, cozy and quiet.. perfect get away spot. loved the green plants and beautiful flowers. They keep everything clean. Loved daily free mimosas and light snacks by the pool.

Everything (food, shopping, nightlife. .) is walking distance from the hotel. Had our own jacuzzi in our own private yard, jetted bath tubs, nice hot shower, big flat screen tv... comfortable bed.. coffee in the morning. . And a local restaurant provides delivered breakfast/lunch kinda like room service in a way..

The only two cons: air conditioner was mildly noisy (didnt bother me at all) and the room could use black out shades.

This is definitely a place I intend to return to over and over... it was like paradise. . Thank you!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were in Palm Springs for an event at the Convention Center and found this treasure of a hotel while searching accommodation options online. We hit the jackpot!

The small grounds, with lovely seating areas, and pool are just idyllic; life seems to slow down as you enter, it's so relaxing. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable. We stayed in two different ones during our visit, the Sedona and the Fountain. Both had separate bedroom and living areas, with a small fridge and microwave, and lovely bathrooms. The Sedona had it's flower covered entrance a few feet from the swimming pool area which had comfortable double sized sun loungers to relax in while reading a book or sunbathing. Off the living room were doors leading to a small, very private, patio with a little bistro style table and chairs and a hot tub. The Fountain room has it's own entrance on the street which leads into a beautiful private garden with a view of the mountain from the sun loungers or hot tub, and of course the fountain from which it gets it's name.

The hotel doesn't provide breakfast as such, but they put out coffee, juices, biscotti and fruit from which you can help yourself, then later in the morning a refreshment cart, which is replenished regularly throughout the day, appears poolside containing sparkling wine and orange juice to make your own mimosas, packets of chips and cans of pop.They also provide containers of iced water flavored with sliced fresh fruit. You feel thoroughly pampered. All the staff members we met were extremely pleasant, friendly and efficient and the entire place is always immaculate.
The hotel is tucked away on a quiet side street close to the mountains but just a short stroll into downtown Palm Springs with it's many restaurants and boutique shops. One of the local restaurants also provides 'room service' to the hotel.
San Guiliano is a wonderful place to recharge your batteries and decompress. Several of the other guests were there for their third or fourth visit and we hope to become 'regulars' ourselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. They vary in size, amenities and location. Read the descriptions on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contentedcow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Property: The Rossi Hotel
Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing