We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Romantic Escape”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Romantic Escape”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Just returned from a weekend in the Sunset Suite, Room #1. Enjoyed our 25th wedding anniversary in Palm Springs. The room had a smell of cleaning solutions upon arrival but after opening the doors the smell was gone. Room was clean overall, but floors were a little dusty when wearing socks they were dirty, but we were in the desert. The patio was private and very nice. Private jacuzzi and fireplace to light a duraflame log in was nice and romantic. Candles provided on patio added to the ambiance. Kitchen had all amentities you could need (coffemaker, blender, toaster). Bathroom was my favorite! Jacuzzi tub and seperate shower and bathroom was very clean. Blowdryer provided. The bedroom was nice. King sized bed with feather bed topper was very comfortable. It felt as if we had the resort to ourselves. Only 8 rooms and never really crossed paths with other guests. Security gates after dark offered a sense of security. Walking distance to all the Palm Springs happenings. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning to this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hppycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    47
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
430
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I had high hopes for this inn. We stayed in the Ranch Hacienda room (#7). It has a cute, private courtyard, and hot tub. Unfortunately the attention to detail, service, and cleanliness were much lower than I would expect at this price point.

Room - the room had an overpowering smell of bleach or chlorine upon check-in. We had to leave the doors and windows open for serveral hours. The hard wood floors seemed very dirty - you definitely don't want to walk in your bare feet or they will be black with dirt. The bath towels are threadbare and torn in spots. The worst part was finding a half empty can of beer (not ours) in the bathtub. A coffee maker, microwave, and blender are provided, but ice and a hair dryer are not. Either the fan wasn't functioning, or the remote control battery was dead, and we never found a wall switch to operate it. It was too cool for air conditioning, but got stuffy at night and the fan would have been nice. The bed was very comfortable. If Ranch guests and the Fountain room guests are both enjoying there courtyards you will hear every word of each other's conversation.

One disturbing feature was that the bathroom window opens onto your neighbors (Fountain) courtyard, but the window wouldn't lock - a security concern.

Patio - the hot tub was luke warm, at best, upon arrival and took nearly 24 hours to heat up to "hot" status. Worse yet, there was alot of dirt at the bottom of the tub which was kind of gross. People should be reminded to clean their feet before entering the tub and the staff should make sure the dirt is cleaned out between guests. The beautiful candle lit patio seen on the website is a bit of a stretch. We had 4 small votives, of which only 3 had candles, and all 3 had very little was remaining.

Pool - the pool area is very nice, but leaving the pool cover draped sloppily over one end of the pool detracts from any charm that it has.

The Inn is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from the main downtown area and parking is easy. Our reservation process was very easy and we got to pick our room. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the concept of the private courtyard and hottub. However, I was disappointed with the cleanliness and lack of service and attention to detail and will not be back unless I hear there have been improvements made.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank threeputtpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Got a great deal through the Palm Springs website with a promo code. This hotel is all-suite, average size rooms/big bathrooms, staff is top notch. Great service from the front desk, check-in was a breeze. Stayed in Casbah suite(suite 8). We enjoyed the in-suite jacuzzi as well as the jacuzzi on the private patio. The location is a short walk to Palm Canyon Drive which is where the restaurants and shops are located. Our only down side to the trip was how thin the walls are. I did not read in any of the reviews how thin the walls are or if any one could hear their neighbors or even the phone at the front desk ringing. On one side of our room was the office and you could hear the phone ringing like it was in our room. On the other side we had some neighbors that came in about midnight, took a shower, and then proceeded to make....well you know. The pool area was a nice little place to relax and the water was heated but the weather was a little too cool to go swimming. If it was not for the thin walls I would recommend this hotel unless you think the noise would not bother you. All in all it was a very nice hotel if not for the neighbors, so as long as you don't stay in suite 8 or whatever number was on the other side of us you should enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdtdSo_Cal_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My wife and I went to get some "dry heat" and pool time in the off season. The hotel grounds are peaceful and very relaxing. The rooms are spacious and decorated beautifully. The pool is tranquil with the running water fountains and also with a mountain view through the two palm trees. Most of the rooms have jacuzzi if you are into that. One of the best things is the location which is a couple minute walk from the heart of downtown Palm Springs so you don't have to do any driving if need be. Just a fantastic place to chill out, no party action going on here. Gaby, the manager is always around until about five o'clock and is really a good and helpful person, ditto for the staff. The only problem with this place is it is so nice you don't want to leave, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadowventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We didn't know what to look forward tobut were pleasently surprised the room was clean and comfortable and the grounds well kept. we will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My Husband & I just returned from our first time staying at the San Giuliano, I was looking for a place to surprise my husband for our 12 year wedding anniversary. I searched on the web for private jaccuzzi rooms, and after searching for a place that was reasonably priced I found the San Giuliano Hotel. When I called to make the reservation the person taking my reservation was very friendly. We arrived to Hotel about 1pm (check-in was 3pm) and the young lady checking us in let us know that the room was ready and she got us right in.....We walked in to a already cool room, we did have a problem with the safe. My husband called the front office and the young women was right over to assist us. We stayed in the Sunflower room, and we have decided that its an amazing hotel and we will be making this our anniversary get away every year. The room was clean, and very cozy, very intimate.....We were able to walk right out our front door, right to the pool, Which we had too ourselves most of the time. I loved having our own private jaccuzzi on our own private patio, we brought our own food and so never had to leave the hotel. There was everything there we needed, including bags of ice, which was nice not having to run out in the heat to the store to get it. I will for sure be telling all my friends & family members about this most amazing anniversary wekkend and the place that made it special.....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgraw4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Cliche as it may sound, words honestly cannot describe how great the San Giuliano Hotel is. Pictures have the capability to lie; however, the pictures of the San Giuliano Hotel have nothing to hide. With only 8 rooms the San Giuliano makes for tranquil relaxation and a perfect romantic getaway. The staff is friendly and the hotel is family owned. When in Palm Springs, it is a must to stay the San Giuliano. :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffanyElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Property: The Rossi Hotel
Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing