We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but.......”
Review of The Rossi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rossi Hotel
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2007

The San Giuliano is a very lovely hotel with large rooms, but unfortunately has shortcomings. The big drawback was that management is on site only a few hours a day. When we accidentally got locked out, and with no one to turn to, I had to climb over the back fence to enter through the patio door resulting in multiple blisters! Maid service was not automatic and we ended up folding our own towels in the laundry room, as well as dumping our own trash! The rear spa was visibly dirty and the spacious patio was sparsely decorated and lacking in flora. There is also a condo project next door which will ruin the lovely view when completed. With a few minor corrections it will be a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mountainman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2007

We have stayed at many boutique hotels in PS - and this one was one of the more expensive (for off season) We booked the Sunflower unit. The livingroom was sparsley furnished (odd) and the flat screen TV worked poorly. No CD player in our room, as advertised, so had to ask for one. The small kitchen had a small fridge - with 2 tiny ice trays. The property has no ice machine so we had to go out and buy ice everyday and store in our ice chest. The private patio was surrounded by 10 foot walls - nice for privacy - but very stark. No plants covering the walls etc. The patio's jacuzzi was not clean - too hot to use anyway - but yuck. The pool was not cleanred daily and neither rafts or noodles supplied. The 'office' is a broom closet; you need to stand outside on the steps to register when you check in. Appears there is no manager on premise; a girl was there for a few hours each afternoon. The last day we were the only guests. So at night (without manager or anyone else on premise) we had to go around the property and make sure the gates were closed and locked. Kind of creepy. I should say - and to be fair to the property - that evaluating accommodations is part of what I do for a living. So I may be more picky than most people!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picky-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelingirl454, General Manager at The Rossi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2007

It was brought to my attention the commets of "picky anne," and I felt it necessary to comment on what was written. We have many extremely happy guests evidenced by our high rate of return guests as well as high occupancy rates and I wanted to just note a couple of corrections.

She noted that there is no ice machine on the premises. I can assure you that there is and has been for many years. The comment regarding the CD player in the suite also appears to be incorrect. The Sunflower Hacienda has always had a CD player as do all of our suites and has not been removed from the room since it was first put in there. The new plasma TV is also in perfect working order. I have discussed these comments with my on-site managers and we did not receive any requests for a CD player, nor any comments regarding the TV. This suite is approximately 650 square feet with a kitchenette and dining area and table for 6 people. I have never heard anyone comment that it is "small" by any standards.

There was also a comment in regards to the condo project next door, by another guest. The plans call for a phase 3 development some time in the future. This is still in question at this point. Even though when built, the building will NOT block views of the mountains from any of our suites. I have personally seen the plans and worked with the developers on this and other issues to ensure that our property maintain the ammenities that it now enjoys.

In regards to the locks on our gates. We are currently working on solving situations where a guest forgets their code or is having trouble late at night.

I would welcome "picky anne" or anyone else to contact me directly to discuss their stay.

Thank you for your time and have a great day!

Marina Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2007

My cat and I stayed in the Velvet Hacienda pet-friendly room at this charming, quiet, immaculately landscaped Hotel San Giuliano (they also allow dogs of course). The feather bed and pillows were like sleeping on clouds especially after a bedtime soak in the room's jacuzzi in the totally private walled patio beyond the kitchenette/dining area. Aside from having my own patio, with two lounge chairs and table, there is a long, lap swimming pool in the property's garden area decorated with pottery and a dolphin sculpture. The entire property is walled and guests are issued security codes for both the garden and their rooms so safety and privacy were never an issue. The hotel's website offered call-in spa, massage, and food delivery services, although all of these are two blocks away. The entire suite and bathroom had gorgeous antiqued tiles and the bathroom was one of the largest I've seen in a hotel with a brand new bath with seating area and lots of hot water from a massage shower head. Lastly, two cotton robes, TV, DVD/VCR, room safe, ironing board/iron, plates, glasses, silverware, blender, stereo, microwave, stove, etc. provided all I needed for peace and comfort at this oasis. I'm glad to be the one to let this well-kept secret out. Note for high-maintenance travelers: staff is only onsite during the morning, but within phone contact till 3am per the owner, Marina. Note: Best rates are thru the palmbeach.com website for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ItinerantCatWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

I found the historic San Giuliano on the Palm Springs web site and then called the hotel to book - fantastic rates for all that you get! The owner, Marina, welcomed my husband and I personally, and was very warm and friendly. We stayed in the Fountain Hacienda and it was extremely private and spacious (and everything has been completely renovated - very clean and updated). Gorgeous private yard, private Jacuzzi - like having your own private luxurious getaway walking distance to everything in Palm Springs. In fact, we walked to dinner, and then walked to breakfast in the morning - Koffi has fabulous lattes and freshly made baked goods. We highly recommend the San Giuliano!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lagunatraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leelou_0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind toll
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Muxielein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,961 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rossi Hotel

Address: 375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307 (Formerly San Giuliano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: £144 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rossi Hotel (formerly known as The San Giuliano) was originally built as a hotel in the 1920's and was known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous movie stars. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All eight suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, this oasis is located just steps from the exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Giuliano Palm Springs
Hotel San Giuliano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing