We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay Mid-Century Oasis Without the Torture...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Palm Springs
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gay Mid-Century Oasis Without the Torture...”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Once I discovered PS and it's crazy mid-century martini vibe - I was hooked. That big, black (when the sun passes) mountain, blue desert sky and waving palm trees coupled with avocado, orange, turquoise and yellow around town makes for a great blood pressure-lowering escape.

I discovered the nifty [naughty] Warm Sands area in my research and sought out lodging options. Having stayed at several resorts of varying quality and, well, seediness - I stumbled on this stylish spot and was thrilled. From the design to the experience - it's cocktail chill.

Charlton and his team keep the place in good order and are attentive and helpful. Love the groovy organ in the lobby - waiting for a cocktail-y, Mad Men singalong!!! Ready with recommendations, savings (sometimes they partner with folks) and my martini - in a real martini glass or towels - they offer a non-intrusive, clothing optional retreat that may have its moments - but isn't too sexually charged to be able to chill.

It is my home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    17
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
117
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A very pleasant stay at Century Palm Springs, a very relaxed atmosphere will excellent service. The staff are simply wonderful, helpful and always have a smile on their faces. The complex itself is truly amazing and generates a calm, warm and serene atmosphere. We stayed at the resort for 10 days and left very relaxed and rejuvenated. My partner is in wheelchair and the complex is fully disabled access compliant. Breakfast was vey tasteful and an excellent variety of drinks and snacks available throughout our stay. We would rate the Century a def 11 out of 10 and would highly recommend a stay. I dare anyone to go there and not have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhysMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goteed1
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My first visit to this hotel was a very unexpected surprise. I was looking for a gay hotel for a last minute trip and booked here based on reviews and I was truly not disappointed.

They really pay attention to detail here in service and in design of the resort. I had a basic King room and it was more than enough room for 1 person. Big comfortable bed, flat screen TV, small fridge a Kuerig coffee maker with all kinds of coffee pods as well as creamer in the fridge. (Not to mention, the safe, the shoe shine kit, the sewing kit, etc) And of course the fabulous mid century styled furniture.

The public area is a Mad Men inspired dream. A modern take on mid century and plenty of great detail for comfort. Clips on the loungers around the pool to hold your towel in place, candles lit at sunset, all in all, a very "zen" environment.

Every morning, you're handed a french press of fresh coffee and today's local paper with a continental breakfast. There is an open pantry all day long for snacks and drinks. You can also get a free pass to World Gym and The Palms Springs Art Museum.

Service was understated and friendly. I was left with the impression, that this place is working very hard to make your stay enjoyable.

At this level of service and amenities I could find little to complain about, however I will say that the bathroom in my room looked great, but design won over function here. It's a little cramped for 1 person (Not enough room on the sink for your shaving cream, razor etc) and the lighting is too dark (Lights only fit on one side of the mirror creating too much shadow, when trying to shave)

It's great to find a place that pays so much attention to detail and that seems to care about your stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This was our second visit, and we thought it couldn’t get better than the first, but it did! When we arrived we were greeted by Carlton and felt like we were welcomed home. The rooms are above average in cleanliness, the staff is very friendly and professional yet friendly. Attention to detail and customer service is tops. During cocktail hour Carlton gave us excellent referrals to restaurants, made reservations, and even printed out directions for us. He even offered to pick up lunch for us on his way out one day! During breakfast Greg offered suggestions of places to go and things to do as well. Even when laying out by the pool, when they would bring out fresh towels, they would ask if we needed bottled water or soda.

Our only problem now is how to figure out how to get back to luxury of Century more often!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having stayed at the Century several times in '08 and '09, I could not say enough good things about my stays-- clean, stylish mid-century modern furnishings, with a friendly staff.

A recent visit revealed none of this still exists. The lobby now contains an immense church organ along with it's oversized sub-woofer (think small refrigerator)--- still scratching my head as to how this improves the guest experience? Any interaction with the staff (during our stay, Carlton seemed to channel the energy of his namesake, from the old RHODA TV show) usually ended with a NO or I DON"T KNOW. He specifically was more concerned with chatting on Manhunt, which was clearly visible to anyone walking into the lobby, rather than addressing any guest's concern.

After a day and a half of rudeness and apathy, we checked out---

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NYCtreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phil pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

First thing i would like to say about this place is how well they have redone it. They put alot of money in making it very contemporary with the emphisis on CLEAN ie no carpeting. The poolside is very nice and they have alot of staff for only 9 rooms. No complaints except bike i got got a flat in town but i got the bike for free from them. Breakfast was good and they made the coffee as i could not figure out the one serve mr coffee machine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationer12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you are a dog owner and want to bring your pet this is the place for you. While I love dogs I do not want them on the pool furniture or on my hotel furniture etc. While we did not get any flea bites I wondered the whole time if we would.
I think they have 9 rooms on the property and they had five dogs visiting during our stay.
What was really unpleasant was the dogs barked especially when the owners left them in the room. I spoke to the desk person at checkout and he said he had spoken to the worst offenders about their two dogs. Problem is once the staff leaves at night there is nobody to monitor the noise. When a guest leaves a dog(s) unattended and it barks for hours it is never nice for the other guest.
The staff member I spoke to also said they are reconsidering the dog policy. If you are taking your dog consider what other dogs might greet yours.

The staff was great but I would not return nor would I recommend it unless you want a dog boarding environment

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank livesinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Palm Springs

Property: Century Palm Springs
Address: 598 S Grenfall Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Palm Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Century Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Century Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Century Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing