We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Little Hotel Ever”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I stayed here in August of 2012 for only two nights, but it was by far the best hotel experience I have ever had. When we checked in we were immediately offered an ice cold beer (perfect since it was the middle of a heat wave!). Our room was the smallest one, but it was still amazing! It was beautifully decorated and included a full complimentary gift basket of goodies. The pool was the best part. It was very quiet and relaxing and we happily took advantage of the complimentary sunscreen. The pool was even more special at night where little candle-type lights were carefully placed everywhere. I could not find fault with this hotel if I wanted. The service was amazing, the staff were lovely, and the property looks like it is out of a magazine. The price is also extremely reasonable and I hope they continue to keep it that way so I can plan to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,331
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in PS hands down. It's a charming property with comfortable, immaculate rooms and a fabulous pool that's always the perfect temperature. The owners are amazing and do everything they can to make you feel like a welcome guest in their home. They provide so many complimentary extras for you like bikes, sunscreen, snacks, drinks, a grill to cook on, DVDs, books, etc. and all at a very reasonable price. The only caveat I would give is it's off of a main street so there can be a little bit of street noise. It doesn't bother me but I know some people can be sensitive to that. Even with that small issue, I walk away from my weekends there relaxed and dying to book my next stay. I occasionally try other hotels but this is the one I keep coming back to.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGS310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Dec 08, 2012 Had a great stay for one night in the VIP room off the lobby. Judy was a wonderful hostess. Loved that snacks, water, sodas were complimentary in the room. This is service the way it should be. Nice fire pit and candles around the pool at night made it so relaxing. Went to the Palm Springs Follies, it was a great show.
We'll certainly return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel really does live up to all the expectations we had after reading previous reviews.
The attention to detail is quite remarkable and Larry makes you most welcome on arrival. Judy is a star and so hospitable. Everything just works together to make this the ideal place for relaxing from the immaculate rooms and grounds to the lovely heated pool. It is all beautifully lit in the evening and the fire pit is a great setting for meeting other guests.
We adjusted our plans and stayed for an extra night and are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrights46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountlake Terr., WA
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

After spending 3 weeks at the Desert Riviera my husband and I highly recommend it. Everything was first class all the way. We will most definitely go back again, for hopefully a month.
The pool area including the fire pit were unbelievable.
Last but not least Judi, Patti, Larry, Jay and Traci couldn't have been better hosts.
Loved the new limo!!!
Mac and Helen, Seattle, WA

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I had a few hotels on my mind for my trip to Palm Springs but I'm glad i stayed here. Good vibe, friendly staff. Firepit and pool at night are nice. Rooms are very clean.
Lost my camera memory stick at the place and it was returned after a day or two, cool.
There's some traffic during the day but it didn't bother me, normally I'm very sensitive with noise. I extended my stay with two more days. There's a lot to see: beautiful mid-century houses, Indian Canyons, Aerial Tramway & Jacinto Mountains, Joshua Tree Parks,...
Good vegetarian restaurants too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay at the very unique Desert Riviera. The rooms are great - the welcome always wonderful and being dropped off and collected from restaurants in the very glitzy limo is pure indulgence. It's always great to meet new people around the fire pit but if you want time to yourself Desert Riviera is perfect for that too. Palm Springs seems to get better and better each time we visit and I am sure we will be back.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LouiseS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing